We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tundra Rose Guest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We stayed one night and everything was wonderful. Great location. Great accommodations. Great views.

Well equipped cabin. Private deck with a view of the glacier. Private. Gas fireplace. Extremely well presented.

Room Tip: Check the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Great place. We were in the glacier overlook cabin and the view was to die for. Very roomy and clean. Enjoyed sitting out on the deck overlooking the Matanusca Glacier which we walked that day for 3 hours. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mse2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stayed here on our last night in Alaska, on our way back to Anchorage. And it was the best accommodation we had in the state: two couples in a roomy two-bedroom log cabin with a fine view of the Matanuska Glacier and surrounding mountains. True, the TV was small and only had 8 channels with dodgy reception, but everything else was perfect. There were even coffee beans and a grinder for a fresh morning brew. It's quiet, set back from the Glenn Highway, and there is a wilderness trail leading from the property if you want to get away from things. You check in at the Grand View Cafe next door, and this is a very convenient place to eat--there's a short trail that connects the two properties. If you plan to spend any time in the Glacier View area, this is where to make your base.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom cabin is reached by stairs so is not wheelchair-accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugh-lomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

My husband, adult son and I spent one night here the night before our Matanusca Glacier walk. We were in the upper level of a cabin. It has two separate bedrooms. Okay, I'm impressed with little things and the fact that they had bean coffee and a coffee grinder, yep, it wins points. Nice selection of teas and other warm drinks, too.

The view from the entry area/living room was amazing. See picture. It was a cloudy/drizzling evening. Looked out at around 10:00PM (daylight remember?) and there is a moose.

It was quiet, it was quaint, it was peaceful, it was charming. There is a trail behind the Grandview RV Lodge and restaurant next to this property and it is worth the short climb. You can continue up higher it you wish and that offers another lovely view.

I go back anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

This was the best place we stayed in Alaska, and were disappointed we only booked one night. We rented the glacier overlook cabin, and the view was awesome. The cabin itself was so comfy and homy feeling- perfect for a couple. Maybe a little small for more, but you could decide. I was so inspired here, that I proposed to my girlfriend and now we are engaged,

But seriously, this place is great. The owners are so personable and willing to go the extra mile for you.

THANK YOU!!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BrianLerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

I stayed in the Tundra Rose cabin on the way to Valdez and in the Glacier View cabin on the way back from Valdez. Both cabins had excellent views and nice decks to sit outside on and enjoy a beverage. The cabins are comfortable, clean, and reasonably priced for what you get. There is beautiful scenery in the area and highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Tundra Rose was the smaller cabin, but for some reason I liked it better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank debra957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Travelled May 2015.

What a beautiful place overlooking the Matanushka glacier (although from a little far away).
We were en route to Macarthy and reached the place around 11 pm and it was fortunately still not so dark. The place in itself is so amazing and we had two cottages at the place and one of them had a direct view of the glacier. We left early the next day for Macarthy (definitely must visit) but wish we could had spent some more time there.

Room Tip: Best views, Awesome location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolsap2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tundra Rose Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tundra Rose Guest Cottages

Address: 22518 W Glenn Hwy, Milepost 109.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674-8111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glacier View
Price Range: $184 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality log cottages located on the scenic Glenn Highway between the cities of Palmer and Glennallen- just 2 hours from Anchorage. Matanuska Glacier and mountain views from every cottage. Observe Dall Sheep on the mountain range to the north of our yard. Gas Fireplaces, kitchenettes, private baths, cable TV, private decks and patios. Internet can be unstable due to the rural location. Complimentary morning coffee & tea in your cottage. Perfect setting to unwind or have a romantic get a way! Guests repeatedly state they wish they had booked more than one night. Come see why! If you enjoy quiet spaces and nature, you will enjoy Tundra Rose Guest Cottages. Grand View Cafe is 1/8 mile away and easily walked to for meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tundra Rose Guest Cottages Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing