We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for getting back to nature!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2009

We took advantage of the great value 4 day/3 night package which included our accommodation, all our meals and 4 different tours. The lodge was in a lovely jungle setting. We were provided with mosquito nets and fans, it was still quite hot though. The meals were all lovely and we were given a choice of about 4 different dishes at each sitting. It may be best to take big bottles of water with you as you have to buy small bottles of water from the bar and there are no shops near to the resort. All the tours were great and very personal as it was just us on the tours with the guide. The scenery in Khao Sok is unforgettable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarknBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2009

Very friendly people, we had a wonderful time. We stayed here in December / January 2009. The cottages were spacious and clean, they are quite basic with a fan but are quite confortable. The location is great, just a few minutes from Khao Sok Park. The staff are great and super helpful, they helped us with all the information and activities we needed, they can arrange transportation to any place you would like to go. The place is great but I have to say the best part of it was all the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesus_vazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Do not go here in the summer. There is no AC at all. A ceiling fan and that's it. It is as hot outside as it is inside. Also, the sound of large nuts dropping from the trees and hitting the roof resembled gun shots in the middle of the night.

I thought we would be able to stand the heat at night and deal with the conditions. Thankfully it was only one night stay and onward to Krabi. The heat isn't the fault of the cottages though, but it made our overall experience terrible.

The staff are wonderful, the food delicious, the location is right by a river, and the forest is teeming with life. I'm sure this place is perfect for winter travelers from the rest of the world. However, since we are only able to travel in summer due to scheduling, our stay was way to hot. Be prepared for the "Taiwan" style shower where the shower head pours from above and the toilet and sink are in the shower.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyinsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We were a group of six people including two kids who travelled to Khao Sok National Park in early January 2008. I booked through the website directly with Frankie, the manager, whose family built the resort several years ago. Frankie is originally from Hong Kong and speaks good English. This property is a rustic riverfront resort. A rough-hewn boardwalk connects the rustic cabins with the open air restaurant overlooking the river. We loved this place! It is simple and very quiet and close to nature so if that is what you are looking for, you came to the right place. If you want a swinging bar or night life, go elsewhere. When you arrive, you hear a loud humming that at first I thought was the generator, then I realized it was cicadas from the rainforest all around us! Our room had beds with mosquito nets, an overhead fan, bench, mirror and bathroom. Nothing else. The bathroom was kind of annoying because there was a cracked pipe and the water from the sink drained onto the floor, which was gross. I told Frankie they needed to fix that. Otherwise we loved the place. The shower had decent hot water. We had front porches with chairs where you can look over the river, which was just a wide stream when we were there in the dry season. My kids had fun playing in the mud. You definitely want to bring mosquito repellent because, hey, it's the rainforest. The landscaping was very attractive. We did the all inclusive plan and the food was excellent. The Western style breakfasts were the weakest link, but there was always lots of fresh fruit and not very good omelets, but the Thai food for lunch and dinner was deliicious. They made it bland for Western tastes but you can ask them to spice it up. The coffee was Nescafe instant (ugh) but otherwise we enjoyed our meals. Apparently we just missed a big German tour group that came over Christmas, we were happy to be there with only a few other families. We adored our tour guide, Gee (sic?) he was a lot of fun and very sweet to our kids. The elephant trekking, lake tour and canoes were all enjoyable adventures. We saw longtailed gibbons on the lake and the kids had fun swimming and kayaking. We stopped in the little town at Khao Sok and I saw some of the other lodging, I greatly preferred our spot away from eveyrthing else. A warning, this place would be hot and sweaty in the summer I think. I would like to think we can go back some day! Thanks to the crew for making our visit memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marlajfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

Friendly, memorable and good value for money are the impressions you'll be left with when checking out of the Riverside Cottages.

I went with a party of 10 adults and 2 children, we were picked up by Riverside Cottage drivers at Phuket airport - it's about a two and a half hour drive.

When we arrived at the cottages, it was pitch dark, and the plentiful and rather large insects were gathered around each of the neon lights lighting up the pathways of the 'resort'. Some in our party wanted to leave immediately as they were not comfortable with insects, lizards and monkeys (there are 2 in the hotel).

However, having had a very nice dinner (the food is surprisingly satisfactory), they were more at ease. We had booked all the activities via the hotel in advance (i.e. opted for a complete inclusive package, which I strongly recommend) and Paknee and Wot were very friendly and efficient at organizing all the activities.

After one day of elephant riding and the river cruise (which I specially recommend), almost everyone was now happy to stay. We also of course went to the lake at Khao Sok which is very beautiful. Reminds you of the Phi Phi islands but in a lake rather than a sea!

The cottages are clean and tidy. Although this is a 'comfortable' way of staying in a jungle, I would still caution those who want all the fun of a jungle stay but who expect urban treatment. This is not your typical city hotel, and the facilities are limited. You must go with the right attitude to the Riverside Cottages and if you do, you will have a really memorable stay.

PS. Each cottage has a bathroom with a nice warm shower

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BahramTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2007

This is a perfect place to stay if you're visiting Khao Sok. When we checked in, they knew exactly who we were and were very welcoming. One of the cottages' managers cares for two pet gibbons that he has raised since they were little (and orphaned by their mothers). These two monkeys run around and the guests get to play with them if they want to. They are wonderful, friendly little creatures. They serve great, cheap food and beer. The rooms were clean and minimal but attractive. They can also book any excursion you have probably read about (elephant trekking, hiking, canoeing) and there is no need to book in advance...just show up and they will hand you a folder with all info. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: January 2007
7  Thank Little_e74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

28th Dec 2006 - 1st Jan 2007

This is an excellent remote resort just outside Khao Sok National Park. 30 wooden chalets set in a complex of walk ways in lush vegetation on the river bank. (The best ones seemed to be numbers 5 - 10 .) We booked a 4 day inclusive tour at 5750 THB each which was terrific value. It took about two hours from Krabi in a minivan which drops you at a tour office at the entrance to the park. They will ring the resort and arrange for you to be picked up. The highlights were the peaceful location, just the sounds of the river and the wildlife in the rain forest, the helpful and friendly staff like Frankie, Paknee, ( who always had a tiny gibbon draped round his neck) Jeed and the driver who carefully negotiated the rutted dusty 2.5 km track down to the resort, Max, an enchanting gibbon that makes himself at home around the place and uses the guests as human climbing frames, good Thai food, opportunities for a range of activities accompanied by guides who were accommodating and flexible - once they learned that we liked to swim they made sure that our canoe trip and excursion to the huge lake included plenty of opportunities to do so. We met some interesting people there too and would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Antodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Sok National Park
3 km away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
81 reviews
1.8 km away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#8 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
120 reviews
1.8 km away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#7 of 11 in Phanom
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#3 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
483 reviews
1.8 km away
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
20 reviews
4.2 km away
Khaosok Boutique Camps
Khaosok Boutique Camps
#2 of 20 in Khao Sok National Park
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Riverside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Riverside Cottages

Address: 230 Moo 6 Soi Natai,, Khao Sok National Park, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom > Khlong Sok > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range: $36 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khao Sok Riverside Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the ancient rainforest, Riverside Cottages is the perfect jungle lodge for relaxing and exploring Khao Sok National Park. You can swim in the river in front of the hotel, or simply relax with a beverage and enjoy our excellent Thai and Western cuisine. We love to help visitors explore the area, and can arrange activities including jungle safaris, tours to Cheow Lan Lake, elephant trekking and canoe trips. Riverside Cottages is a 2 kilometers east of Khao Sok's touristy town center, easily accessed with our free shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Khao Sok Riverside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Riverside Cottages Hotel Khao Sok National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing