We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded Mountain Escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Guest Room Front door Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Guest Room Front door Entrance
Main house, entrance to property walkway down stairs to Apartment - party lights on the railing glow at night to light the way
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Guest Room Front door Entrance
Main house, entrance to property
walkway down stairs to Apartment - party lights on the railing glow at night to light the way
Kitchen
Kitchen Lani seating area
Lani seating area made into the 3rd full size bed
Bed 1- Full size Bed
bedroom privacy divider
Bed 2, Full size Bed next to bathroom door
Bathroom, sink
Bathroom, sink
BBQ area on patio
evening BBQ,  with tiki torches, wood fire and propane burner
outdoor solar shower
private patio - enjoy the sunset and a tropical drink
portion of hiking trail to river
waterfall and pools, at base of property 5 minute walk down trail
jacuzzi pool along river
from Veranda,
view toward Ocean, daylight sunset view
looking south
Maui,
ah, the sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Katie S
New York City, New York
1 review
“Secluded Mountain Escape”
Reviewed May 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

POST-MARIA REVIEW!! We weren't sure what to expect on our visit to Puerto Rico 6 months after Hurricane Maria. While there is still evidence of it's impact on the island, we really did not encounter any significant problems. The island and its people are incredibly resilient and strong!
Here's our review of the 3Rs Guesthouse specifically: Four of us (three adults and a toddler) stayed at the 3R's Guesthouse this past April for three nights. We had a great experience! First off, Ann is very responsive throughout the whole process, which is really comforting. Once we arrived, we were in contact with the property manager, Heather, who lives in the house above the rental. Heather and her daughter Storie are the best! It's clear that the house and property are loved and that Ann and her family want to ensure a great experience for their guests. So, the place itself it gorgeous. The guesthouse is on the lower level. It's two rooms - the first is a kitchen with the lanai area that sticks out from the main house and the second room is a long narrow room with two beds which is right under the main house (and there's a bathroom, so....3 rooms total :-) My toddler and I slept out in the futon/conversion bed in the lanai area. We fell asleep to the sounds of monkeys! and woke up to the most gorgeous sun-kissed mornings. We roamed around the grounds, checked out the sunset from the ridge at the top of the driveway, tried to get a coconut, played on the swing, the hammock, and chased Maui the cat - all before 6am! I will warn you, if you're not a cat lover, you might find Maui quite annoying. My daughter loved her, so perhaps she hung around us so much because of all the toddler love bestowed upon her during our stay. Heather and Storie told us about a great beach nearby which we checked out and they were so gracious, offering us beach chairs and a noodle which was awesome since we didn't bring those big items with us! We took a hike down to the waterfalls. There's a map in the guestbook that was helpful to have and Heather gave us a machete to use (my husband had fun leading the way!) It was about a 10 minute hike, well marked, but steep. Nothing over the top, I did it with the kid in a carrier on my back. Just be warned, there is some barbed wire fencing down at the waterfalls that you'll have to climb over. We didn't take advantage of the outdoor grill, but that would be nice to give a go. The guesthouse is something of a "camp", particularly the kitchen room. And you're in the middle of the jungle, so expect that you might see a lizard or two. No big deal. The bedroom has a solid door that can also lock so if you're squeamish at that idea, you can just sleep in there, but if you want to wake up really feeling like you're in the jungle, sleep in the lanai!! We like to camp a lot, so it was an adventure right up our ally and pretty glamorous compared to a tent :-). The last thing I'd give a heads up about is the drive up to the house. The directions are great. We used google maps and entered the gps coordinates and that got us there with no problem. That said, the last 3 miles or so will take you 10 minutes on teeny curving mountain roads. It is super beautiful, and....an adventure! I would highly recommend getting there in daylight hours so you don't freak yourself out doing that drive at night for the first time (speaking from experience). We had a Toyota Camry, 4 cylinder. It was fine, but I could see where an SUV would be easier to use, we scraped the front end bottom a couple of times. Plan to build some time into your stay to enjoy this place, don't use it as just a place to sleep, it deserves your time to get some 3Rs as they say in the description.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
Thanks, Katie and family. pleased to know you had a good experience and achieved the goal of the 3 R's - the sound you heard in the evening and morning is not monkey's but the Coqui frog. They are tiny but make a beautiful sound.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hidalgo-P...
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secluded Mountain Home”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely retreat location that fit exactly what we were looking for in terms of privacy and peace. Ann was a wonderful communicator, she made an excellent recommendation to a vegan restaurant nearby (yum!), the inside was simple, clean and attractive, the outside is outstanding. We especially enjoyed the hike down to the waterhole; I almost couldn't believe we were in such a beautiful place in Puerto Rico and not a soul anywhere around besides us. Thank you Ann for sharing this little piece of heaven with us. If other travelers are interested in this property I would absolutely recommend it, but you must either love cats or ask if meowy might be relocated for the time you are there, he was a little too obtrusive for our liking. Blessings!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you! glad you had a good time. Sorry about the cats, we keep them around to help control the wildlife. There should only be one, as we are working to get a new home for the obnoxious one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordyn Y
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I would go back in a heart beat.”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Let me first just say---this was truly the most relaxing vacation I have ever had. We stayed here for 9 days, and it was very hard to leave.
The property was so gorgeous & tropical. We spent a lot of time on the property relaxing in the hammock, having a bbq on the outdoor grill, and enjoying a short hike to the waterfall.
One of the best things I have to say about this property, is the groundskeeper. His name is Dalton and he was such a pleasure to be around. He was extremely helpful and had an amazing attitude. I looked forward to asking him questions and hearing what he had to say!
Some fun things that we did that I would recommend are- Horseback Riding on the beach through Tropical Trail Rides, going to Guanica Beach (about 20 min drive from the house), and going to the farmers markets.
There is also a guest book in the room from previous guests writing about things that they have done while they were there, some of the birds in the area, and other fun tips if you plan on exploring the area.
Thank you for the fabulous stay!! Hope to come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the Kitchen & the privateness of the house.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thanks Jordyn, it was a pleasure to host you and we would welcome you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2015Arlen...
De Soto, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, serene and refreshing waterfall on property!”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the Three R's Guest Haven was a real treat! This apartment is clean, comfortable and serene! The view is breathtaking! The hike down to the waterfall is very beautiful with what look like colorful big aloe vera plants along the way that are gorgeous and the water was so refreshing once we got to the bottom. The hike back up was fine for us but could be a bit strenuous for some. Once we returned to the house, we tried out the outdoor solar bath house that the water was heated by the sun and thoroughly enjoyed it!

The owner was in constant contact with us prior to our stay and answered any an all questions. They also provided written directions but as with all roads in Puerto Rico, they were a challenge especially since we didn't time our arrival as well as we'd had hoped and arrived after dark but the house manager Dalton quickly came to our rescue and had us follow him to the house and no problems after that. Also, we had fresh fruit waiting upon arrival, as well as waters and eggs. The kitchen was sufficiently equipped with everything we needed to make any and all meals. We only used the two beds that are in the same room on opposite ends of the room from one another but they were very comfortable. The water in the shower was always hot. Dalton was a real delight and helped with any questions or recommendations we asked him. We also asked if we could pay to use the washing machine and he refused to accept any money and even provided the laundry detergent! We loved being able to hang our clothes in the fresh, sweet air to dry!! Thanks Dalton!

We really enjoyed the tranquility of this remote location! It is away from the main city and therefore no traffic noises which we loved! We were serenaded by the sounds of the frogs, birds, etc. every night .... amazing! Also, there is an outdoor cat that I believe her name was Meowy that was friendly to us but we were forewarned that she can be a bit feisty but we are animal lovers and we really enjoyed her company on the occasions she decided to grace us with her presence.

While we stayed here, we ventured to Cabo Rojo Lighthouse and then to Gilligan's Island (Playa de Guanica) the next day and it was very accessible to both of these locations. On Sundays they have a flea market in Sabana Grande that they have fresh fruits, vegetables, Puerto Rican food you can buy from vendors, and from 2 - 5 p.m. live music with lots of dancing...FUN! Also, please stop in to the local cantina (at the corner where you turn off to get to the house...it has a big Don Q sign on the outside) while staying here and ask for the owner Bienvenida or her daughter Francheli. I believe they're only open on weekends but if you get a chance to meet these ladies, they are such a delight and Rosa cooks and serves food free to those that are buying drinks. They had plantain and chicken soup and garlic bread the night we went and it was as spectacular as the people! It looks like a little hole in the wall and not a lot of chairs to sit in so don't just go by the looks....ask for either of these ladies and tell them the ladies from Kansas send big brazos (hugs)! :)

We only stayed 2 nights in this beautiful paradise but wished we had allotted more time for this location! We spent most of our time outdoors either on the property (two tables overlooking the breathtaking view over the valley while we ate; waterfall, enjoying the flowers and fruit trees, hammock, etc.) or hiking at Cabo Rojo Lighthouse & snorkeling at the Playa de Guanica. This location is good for anyone that wants to be active or also just hang out an relax indoors &/or outdoors! We would have loved to explore more of this area as there is so much to see but we had a limited amount of time! Definitely will stay here again when we visit PR again in the future!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waterfall, Dalton (house manager), location, beauty & tranquility
Liked least: Initial drive to house....perhaps a video can be provided to future guests once they've booked
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure hosting the three of you. Glad to know that you had such a wonderful time while visiting and exploring our home and the surrounding area. Come back and stay with us again anytime!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto04...
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2017
Gracias, fue un placer para recibir a todos, le daremos la bienvenida de vuelta en cualquier momento!

Thank you, it was our pleasure to host you all, we would welcome you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myrna862
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Gracias, Thank you, glad to have had you as our guest come back anytime!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing