We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We LOVED Hacienda Puerta del Cielo! We had spent 7 nights on the coast of Nicaragua and 3 nights at Hacienda. Within 15 minutes of arriving at Hacienda we wished we had flipped our trip and spent more time there than on the coast. Within 2 hours I had already inquired to what the weather would be like in November so that we could return for my birthday. It really is that nice.
It's a really small resort, I think accommodating a maximum of 12 guests. The view is breathtaking, overlooking a crater lake and a volcano in the distance. The service is outstanding. The food was absolutely delicious. It was so peaceful and quiet and very relaxing. The bar was great as well. All their drinks are made with fresh juices. The macua is a must and they make a mean mojito as well. The tours they offer were great and very affordable.
We had originally booked one of the smaller rooms, which was very nice, but we were able to upgrade to one of the cabins and it was spectacular. I would highly recommend renting one of the private cabins.
The grounds were beautiful and there was art everywhere. Just can't say enough good things. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: rent one of the private cabins, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithtdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    18
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
216
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The small, but luxurious property is simply stunning, as are the views of the lake, jungle, and Masaya Volcano that stretch out before you. The weather was also perfect when we visited (March) as it is hot enough during the day, but pleasantly cool at night. No humidity and no bugs at all. Its location also provides a useful base for exploring many, many other locations in the surrounding area, whether on your own or on tours organized by the resort.

The food, which is included in the price, was all very good. On our last night we had filet mignon, for example. While not included, wine, beer, and cocktails are all very reasonably priced.

In addition to the property itself, the staff were wonderful. The owners, Juan Carlos and Linda, happened to be there while we were there and were extremely friendly. We dined al fresco at one table with them and the other two guests and they regaled us with tales and advice for our trip. It was like being invited to a friend's private home for a special get together.

There was one minor issue while we were there and the staff immediately dealt with it and are all extremely friendly and attentive.

I would caution that the last 1.5km of the road is quite harrowing. If you are just traveling to this resort, I would highly recommend taking advantage of the transfers from MGA. It will save you a lot of stress. If you are driving here (or anywhere else really), I'd very much recommend getting an SUV. Our Toyota Corolla made it to the Hacienda and all around the country OK, but an SUV would have been better.

In short, I could not more highly recommend a visit to this property, It was really amazing and relaxing -- and a very good deal.

Room Tip: The two rooms are small, but there's no reason to be in them other than to sleep so we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshuaJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

You have found it: the peace and beauty of an unspoilt tropical destination and the perfect place to stay to enjoy it. Here is a magical land of water, forest and volcanos. You can gaze down into the Mouth of Hell, marvel at the giant ferns in the cloud forest, let the brilliant colors and shapes of Grenada dance before your eyes, and be back in time for cocktails. Hacienda Puerto Del Cielo really does lives up to its name. It's built into built into a hillside. The views are stunning, and we loved the natural materials and openness of the rooms and public spaces. Our comfortable and spacious casita (Bella) had a wall of screened french windows opening onto a private patio overlooking the valley and volcano. Whether you wanted to be private or sociable, in the sun or in the shade, there was always a hammock or lounge chair in just the right place, and someone offering you a cool drink.
The owners Juan Carlos and Linda are quite remarkable hosts. Warm, generous and enthusiastic, they really do make you feel like a guest in their home. And the young Nicaraguan staff clearly benefit from their genorosity and mentorship too.With the result that they, too, go out of their way to look after you and practice their English. The food was fresh, simple, using local recipes and ingredients. It was all delicious, from the first big cup of fabulous local coffee in the morning to the home made dessert under the stars at night.. Try and stay at least FOUR full days - and longer if you can. That way you can enjoy all the amazing excursions and still have time to relax at the Hacienda and enjoy a massage. Thank you KLinda and JC, for a truly a truly wonderful trip and a glimpse of sustainable tourism at its best. I can't stop thinking about it or talking about it. We'll be back.

.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at Hacienda Puerto Del Cielo for seven wonderful nights. I have to say it was one of my all time favorite vacation spots. The owners Juan Carlos and Linda were wonderful hosts, funny, generous with their time and knowledge and a pleasure to be around. We loved the staff and felt like we got to know some of them well. We also enjoyed getting to know the other guest who we shared meals with and went with on some trips.

The location is just spectacular, with views of the lagoon, volcano, mountains, flowers, birds and fruit tress. It is just cut off enough to feel like you’ve gotten away from everything, while being close enough to go on excursions with the staff. The star filled nights were another thing that we were able to enjoy every night because of the location.

The food and drink were far too good so go prepared to enjoy the wonderful Nicaraguan food prepared by the talented cooks there. I expressed an interested in learning to make tortillas and some Nicaraguan dishes, and voila, they made it happen and I learned to make several of the lunches.

I can’t speak highly enough of this wonderful little hidden jewel. I know that I will be returning again and bringing friends with me to share the experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisargold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

From the moment my friend and I arrived at Hacieda Puerta, we were treated like family. The owners Juan Carlos and Linda were incredibly kind and so much fun. They (along with their fantastic staff) went out of their way to ensure every guest had a fantastic time. JC and Linda even arranged a special Nicaraguan folk dance group to perform onsite with many of the guests and staff dancing late into the night. This hotel is nothing short of magical. The tours offered here are wonderful, although it's also great to relax by the pool or in one of the many hammocks surrounded by a wealth of natural beauty! I'm dreaming of returning here as soon as possible!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnslagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I wanted to vacation somewhere tropical but avoid tourists and commercial resorts. This place was perfect. From the moment we stepped out of the airport, Juan Carlos and Linda (owners) treated us like family. Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo is beautiful, both inside and out. The food was fresh (often grown on the property) and delicious, the staff were gracious and always available to help, and the tours were spectacular. We honestly don't have anything negative to say about our trip or stay here. We never had concerns about safety, we learned so much about the history and people of Nicaragua, and the diverse microclimates around the resort are amazing. We stayed five nights and highly recommend all of the tours; each gives you a unique view of the area. We spent the last day lounging around the pool, sleeping in hammocks, and sipping drinks - it doesn't get any better. Many thanks to Juan Carlos, Linda, and all the staff for a relaxing and wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfhuntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights after Granada and before San Juan del Sur. It's a great property - totally isolated and quiet retreat in the trees overlooking Lake Masaya and the volcano. The property is only 4 individual casitas and 2 guest rooms, so it's very intimate. Each casita is very well done with a private deck, nice bathroom, etc. The beds are very hard though.

The shared facilities are great - nice pool, plenty of different areas to relax. The owners were very helpful and friendly in discussing the area and in setting up and executing various activities.

The staff, like most staff in Nicaragua, is still kind of learning about how to serve tourists, but they were friendly and helpful and trying hard.

Overall a wonderful experience and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emailcurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masatepe
25.4 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 3 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
9.9 km away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
19.4 km away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 42 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 42 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel y Restaurante Hacienda San Pedro
25.2 km away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Property: Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Address: Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2 | Masaya, Masatepe, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masatepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green mountainside paradise in beautiful, sun-kissed Nicaragua. "Hacienda Puerta del Cielo Ecolodge & Spa" borders a protected national rainforest, teeming with colorful flora and fauna. Imagine yourself relaxing in a tropical pool overlooking a peaceful lagoon or meditating in a breezy hammock on your own private veranda. Explore the natural environment of our exclusive -adults only- boutique hotel and enjoy Ecotourism in luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Hotel Masatepe
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa Nicaragua/Masatepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing