We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$659
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$147
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,650)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveller rating
525
589
304
125
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
589
304
125
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmimi's dockrum pointdock barinfinity pooltime shareeast end of the islandfishpremier poolthrough rcidavid's restaurantseven mile beachgrand caymanitalian kitchengrocery storewelcome partyquiet sideocean view
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

I want start by saying that the manager of this hotel “ Jose kirchman “ is so unfriendly ... I stayed in this location for 5 days and it was HORRIBLE; when me and my family got there the room wasn’t ready and we had to wait one hour until it was all ready and set up. When we finally got to go to our rooms to relax and rest ( which was one of the purpose of going there) the room was nasty, smelled really bad and in the middle of the night me and my family saw cockroaches in the kitchen; next morning when we went to have breakfast the food was so disgusting and expensive we only had some scrambled eggs with some toast and some orange juice and it came up to $280 CI... the staff of this hotel is so unfriendly, unprofessional specially the manager which I required talking to him about the issue of the cockroaches in the kitchen so they can change the rooms and he didn’t reply or at least respond me through e-mail. Is just so upsetting that I spent so much money for this vacation and this hotel instead of giving a good welcoming to their guests do all the opposite... apart from all one pair of gold earrings went missing and again a required the manager and he didn’t solve the problem “ Jose Kirchman” is not a good manager or he just running from the problems... On the other site me and my family move to the hotel that is besides this one and the beach was more than amazing clean, and comfortable, the food was amazing the service and the staff ❤️

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
11  Thank kathyaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Please accept our deepest apologies for anything that made your stay with us an unpleasant experience. We appreciate all comments, good, bad and indifferent as all of them help us to ensure a great guest experience and to improve, where we can. The management team will use your review to improve the experience for all future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017

We stayed in 7313 for two weeks and our first couple days in poolside 101 (I don't remember the number now). The two bedroom ocean view was wonderful! Very spacious and awesome view. Loved all the other folks staying there - everyone super friendly and inclusive. Eating out was a bit expensive and alcohol was very expensive. HINT for anyone traveling there -- buy all the alcohol you can or need at duty free before you leave the states. We found that out too late. It is on the east side but not too far to drive to 7 Mile beach for the day. Tukka's is awesome. We really enjoyed just staying at the resort, lounging and hanging out with everyone. The electrical at the resort cost us $80 a week and we didn't have our air conditioning on! We would go there again -- other than it was a bit expensive. We stayed for three weeks!

Room Tip: all ocean views are great! The entire resort seemed quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Hello Paula C,

Thank you for choosing the Morritt’s for your recent vacation to Grand Cayman and for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017

This is a disaster - Reservations were for 12-22-17 through 12-29-17 (yes we are already home today is 12/27) this place is a "toilet". Very Very expensive, the nearest anything is at a minimum 50 min away. No entertainment, No beach service, the service at the pool bar was RUDE. Then the rooms, we were in room 5213, the floor was so nasty your feet were dirty sticky by the time you walked from the door to the patio. They swore they were completely booked solid- we asked several times for a different room, we saw maybe 40 people at the resort. No shuttle service to any attractions, No shuttle service from the airport. We were given a token for each of us for pool/beach towels- these towels had to be at least 10 years old as they were so thin you could almost see through them, when we picked up our towels the attendant was extremely "stern" that we could only get fresh towels once a day and that we would be charged for them if we did not turn in our tokens at checkout- we were sure to get those little blue chips back. Oh and please be prepared to pay $13 per day to connect to wifi. Also they have lobster dinner at the onsite restaurant, for 3 people 3 bottles of water you will pay $275. I can't believe we planned all year for this trip, and my 18 year old was willing to pay out of her own pocket the fees to leave. We left the next day Christmas day! this was probably the worst christmas vacation we have ever done, and we travel every year to various locations each Christmas. This was a extreme let down. Never ever going back. (I am sure there are more details I could share to warn others) most that we talked to of the 40 or so people we did see.. were feeling the same way. I wish I would have checked TripAdvisor BEFORE booking this trip. Will be informing our travel service to the entire details so that others are warned. - We did find a great place called Rum Point I will be posting a review of this on their page.

Room Tip: no elevators, beds are on the same side as the walkway. AC didn't cool the entire room
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
18  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Hello Jackie,

We are very sorry that your accommodations did not meet your expectations and you felt that you had to check out so quickly. Our goal is to provide all guests with a relaxing care free holiday experience and we are very sorry that you felt you could not stay with us. We are sorry that the resort and location was not a fit for you. The resort is located in East End, Grand Cayman, we in no way mislead guests or misrepresent our location – our location away from Seven Mile Beach is an attribute our guests generally prefer. Thank you for your comments. The management team will use your review to improve the experience for all future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2017

First, if you're thinking about visiting Grand Cayman and staying at Morritt's, don't. Its the most remote point away from anything (at least 45m-1hr if you rent a car) and the only grocery store and liquor store near by is in a mall owned by...you guessed it, Morritts.

We had a nicely appointed condo, apparently one of the new updates, however on the first night and throughout our 7 night stay, we battled cockroaches throughout our unit. Not just little cockroaches, but BIG cockroaches that chewed through packages of bread and pretzels, loud enough to wake someone out of a sound sleep. The handle to the entrance door was broken during our entire stay, as well. Upon entering our unit for the first time, we noticed an ashtray full of cigs and a lighter on the patio. Housekeeping never cleaned this up during our entire stay either.

The restaurants were decent food, but WAY overpriced. A group of 5 cost nearly $300 US dollars - and no one was eating (or drinking) extravagantly. Burgers and sandwiches for most of us.

They nickel and dime you for EVERYTHING. What timeshare charges its condo exchange owners for ELECTRICITY? Almost $200 for our stay. Wifi? 7.99 a day for service akin to 2G service. 12.99 for faster, and that wasnt THAT much faster.

Two of the pools were fairly basic. The "infinity" pool was the nicest on the property. The beaches are unswimmable - the coral is so sharp (please note, there is NO SANDY ocean floor, its all coral and rocks) you cant walk through it. There are two swim up floaty islands, but you encounter sharp coral all the way out to these, its not worth the swim out.

Overall, I can only sum up my experience by saying "stop trying to make Morritts happen, its not happening." East End is dead, you drive an hour to get anywhere close to four star, and thats an hour spent on tiny rural roads going through some of the island slums.

Room Tip: Stay on the West End, in a real hotel
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Infinitenigmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Please accept our deepest apologies for anything that made your stay with us an unpleasant experience. Our management team will use your comments to improve the resort for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 24, 2017 via mobile

The place was clean. Rooms nice bed was a brick. Outside air conditioners made noise at night but wasn't bad. The sea was warm but lots of reef material and very rocky to walk on beach and in water. Pools were on cool side but got used to it. Food was too expensive and not great. Don't order pizza from Ivans- worst I ever had. Everyone at resort and on island were very friendly and seems very safe. The resort recommends you take Leons transportation from airport to hotel it was 50 for one 60 for two and 80 for 3 US. The public buses are reliable and easy to use. Just grab one at airport and go to central bus depot ask anyone there which bus to go to West end and Morrits. The whole trip was only 8 dollars a person very easy to do. If you have a lot of luggage they just ask you to pay for two seats. The buses will get you everywhere you need to go on the island. Don't pay for taxis. Very very expensive. Morritts is about 45 min drive from airport. Buses stop running at 7 pm and by 9 pm the place is fairly dead. Not a place to party. The island has attractions such as turtle farm $(40) stingrays (80) swim dolphins ( $159 ) so much fun but can't take pictures and the pictures are outrageous. Crystal caves (40) was cool but had to ride a mile down a very bumpy road to get there. Verizon Travel pass worked for phone calls text and emails well. Internet was poor some places nonexistent and if did have it very very slow. If you have some money to spend, it was a great vacation overall.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank crljdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Hello Crljdl,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are very happy you were able to enjoy the local area. Your feedback is very much appreciated and hope you will continue to stay with us for many more years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews