We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, Tired Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We spent a week at the Tortuga Club--the grounds are beautiful though the room itself could benefit from updating. We loved being on the first floor and able to walk out to the and and beach. Mostly what is going for the Tortuga is location--quite and well maintained grounds. We really liked the Park Pool because it was mostly empty and also provided some shade, which was not available at the other pools.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank gormlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Morritt's Tortuga Club. We are very happy you stayed with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2018

Morritts is a great place to get away from the crowds and spend time on lovely nearly deserted beaches. It is as far as you can get in GC away from the busy 7 mile beach scene. Excellent service and access to great diving and beach sports. Note however WiFi was extra as was electricity.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views not pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilymanDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for choosing the Morritt’s for your recent vacation to Grand Cayman and for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We were delighted to read that you found the service and diving to be excellent, as they work hard to make sure all guests have a great vacation experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We stayed here 3 weeks with a timeshare exchange, they were able to keep us in the same unit for all 3 weeks.We loved the location, after one visit to the craziness of 7 mile beach we were so glad to be on this side of the island.The pools were nice, we did not participate in many of the resort activities as we kept busy snorkeling and enjoying the beaches. I would recommend renting a car as this resort is about a 45 minute drive from the airport, but if you are only here a week, you could just enjoy rest and relaxation right at the resort.Grocery and liquor store within walking distance. All staff were very friendly. Jack was the concierge and he was a wealth of knowledge. Make sure to get the map of all the best places to snorkel. Rum point, starfish point, Kaibo yacht club, crystal caves and the botanical gardens are all on this side of the island. Make sure to go to Tukka to see the feeding of the frigates at 5 pm. The Cayman Islands are expensive, drinks and food are expensive, so be prepared. The cayman islands are not the place you want to spend all the time in your room, get out, enjoy and appreciate the beauty. If you are not politically correct, go check out the barefoot man at the Wyndam next door on Thursday night, he is hilarious and so entertaining, but if you are easily offended, don't go..Also, make sure to get up early and go to the beach to see the sunrise, it is beautiful. Sunsets are more difficult to view from this side of the island.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are very happy you were able to enjoy the local area. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it tells us what we need to work on or continue doing. We are very happy you stayed with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Not gonna lie, the reviews scared me. Stayed via Interval Exchange in ocean front building 4 ( beside lobby) and was pleasantly surprised with newness and cleanliness of room ... the view from our 3 floor balcony was wonderful. The resort is being renovated at different stages, housekeeping is always working and wait staff is very attentive and accommodating, we were a group of 16 and i can honestly say that every meal we had at the resort could be rated from good to very good. The resort is tucked away in the east side away from busy 7 mile beach , shopping and the airport, so keep in mind travel is required if you want to incorporate those into your vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank St0ney_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience at Morritt's Resort. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

The unit we were put in was the furthest from the beach and hadn't been updated since the 80's. The pools were nice and friendly staff. Was irritating that you had to pay to rent golf putters for 15 minutes of play. The food was fine on site, but there are some great restaurants not far from the resort, you just have look for them. Concierge was very helpful and the arranged excursions were fun. The workout room is unfortunately in the basement with limited room to do anything other than use the machines.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience at Morritt's Tortuga Club. We apologize for anything that may have made your stay with us unpleasant in any way. We appreciate your feedback and will use your comments to improve the experience for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

At check-in they didn't have our reservation even though we had a confirmation e-mail from them. This resort is on the far eastern tip of the island and is completely isolated from everything else on the island. So it's quiet if you want quiet. You will need a car to see the rest of the island and car rental is brutally expensive in the Caymans.

Everything here is about extra charges and fees. They have you sign a lengthy document agreeing to numerous fees , charges and penalties. They charge you for electricity and Wi-Fi because it is apparently 1720 not 2017 and electricity and wi-fi access are luxury items here. They add an automatic 15% "gratuity" to everything because the service is so bad they can't earn tips.

The beach is pretty, but because it is on the east side of the island the current is very strong and swimming is restricted to a small area around the dock. Our room was adequate, but everything need to be updated. The carpeting in the main building was worn and heavily soiled.

Would never exchange my timeshare for this resort again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, like the Wyndham next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank InfoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience at Morritt's Resort. We understand that the Cayman Islands can be a very expensive destination. The reality is that electricity is extremely expensive on the island so instead of charging exorbitant resort fees for everyone we simply charge guests only for their actual usage. We apologize if this was unexpected. The resort is located in East End, Grand Cayman, we in no way mislead guests or misrepresent our location – our location away from Seven Mile Beach is an attribute our guests generally prefer. The management team will use your review to improve the experience for all future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

I prefer a quieter stay when I go to the beach. The East end of the island sounded much better to me than 7 Mile Beach. This resort is a timeshare and one should expect that when staying there rather than a 5 star resort. Overall the resort is in good condition. There are several buildings that comprise the resort - some on the beach and some off the beach. We booked one of the last remaining rooms in the resort and had no say in what we got. We ended up with a room on the ground level in a building not on the beach. The space itself was nice and freshly renovated. They have been renovating a number of rooms. It was fresh and had a nice modern feel. Our room had a full kitchen, living room and an upstairs with two bedrooms. We are a family of 5 and we were all very comfortable. Check in isn't until 4pm but since we had a car full of groceries we checked to see if there was any early checkin. They said not till 4pm so we drove around and came back and 4. They said closer to 4:30 so we left the car running with AC on high to keep the groceries from spoiling. Finally, at 5:30 we were able to check in. I realize this is peak season so we just tried to roll with it. Alyssa at the front desk was absolutely great to work with. She was warm and sympathetic and always had a nice smile to greet us. We chose to eat in the entire time. There is a small grocery store within walking distance that you can shop at. We bought most of our groceries at Cost-U-Less on the other side of the island when we flew in but we made several more trips to the grocery store near the resort. If I had to stay in this building again I would definitely get the room above us. It felt like there was zero sound insulation between the two floors. We would go to bed early every night only to wake from the people above us walking around and utilizing their space. It didn't seem like they were being rude or overly loud - it just felt like all of the noise was amplified into our room. The rooms encompass the pool and the pool bar blasts music all day long until the evening. We were at the beach all day so it wasn't that big of a deal but when we came home from the beach we would wait to open the sliding door until the music was turned off. Also, if I were to stay there again, I would definitely get a room in a building on the ocean. It would make the stay much better to be able to look out on the beautiful water from the room or open the doors and let that sea breeze blow in each day. However, I was just happy to be able to get a room over the holiday season so I didn't expect too much. The resort was at full capacity during our stay and I was concerned the beach would be packed. However, to our surprise, the beach felt pretty quiet during our stay. Perhaps people were spread out across all of the various pools and activities. We didn't dine at any of the restaurants at the hotel. Each day we walked over to the beach area and stayed until evening. We snorkeled around the beach area. Around the dock area there are a lot of large fish that congregate there and you can snorkel around them. We snorkeled a little further out but saw a huge barracuda and quickly turned around. Jet skis were fairly inexpensive ($50/ 1/2 hour) but there isn't a real large area to use them in so we just rented one for a half hour and had some fun. The kids rented paddle boards for an hour ($22.50 each for 1 hour). There is a fishing boat (Capt Henry) that comes to the dock each day and you can reserve a spot with the hotel. It only takes up to 5 people and so our family went one morning. We went out fishing for 4 hours and caught a Jack Fish and 3 Barracudas. He will come back to your room and cook up the fish for you (you will need to go to the grocery store to buy the ingredients he needs). Being a timeshare, they really want you to go to a timeshare presentation. The way they get you there is by giving you discounts to different activities like Stingray City and Snorkeling cruise. That trip is normally $140 per person but only $70 if you go to the 45 minute presentation. We elected to pay full price and skip the presentation. The cruise includes 2 snorkeling spots, Stingray City (where you can swim and hold Stingrays), and then watch the sun set at Star Fish Point. The overall trip was fun but I was hoping the two snorkeling spots would have better coral and sea life to see. You will have to pay for your electricity when you check out so be mindful of how much you run the a/c etc. We only ran the AC at night while sleeping. We were there 6 nights and the total electric bill came to $130 when we checked out. Mark Cuban has a house up the road so don't be surprised if you bump into him eating at Tikka's. We dined there one evening and it's fairly popular there. We went early at 4pm (shuttle from the hotel) as we read that they have a great happy hour starting at 4pm. When we got there they informed us no happy hour on Sundays. The food was good - we ate Kangaroo, Green Iguana ("Tree Chicken"), Conch and Alligator, etc. At 5pm each day they feel the local birds and fish and you can participate by holding a fish head in your hand while the birds snatch it out.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank flightguy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TortugaMGR, Public Relations Manager at Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are very happy you were able to enjoy the local area. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it tells us what we need to work on or continue doing. We are very happy you stayed with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
31.2 km away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,407 reviews
4.5 km away
Compass Point Dive Resort
30.5 km away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,760 reviews
31.1 km away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,535 reviews
31.2 km away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Address: 2289 Queens Highway, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in East End
Price Range: $246 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morritt`s Tortuga Club And Resort
Morritt`s Tortuga Club Hotel East End
Morritt's Tortuga Club Resort Grand Cayman
Morritts Tortuga Club And Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing