We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most exquisite and delicious hotel experience ever...a true hidden gem”
Review of Hotel Mas Mariassa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mas Mariassa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pratdip
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most exquisite and delicious hotel experience ever...a true hidden gem”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I stayed at Mas Mariassa with my boyfriend for just two nights, and it was so hard to leave this beautiful hotel. We could have stayed there forever. Just about an hour and a half south of Barcelona, tucked away in the rolling hills off the coast, it's the perfect getaway. The building is a converted farmhouse surrounded by hazelnut and almond groves with no other houses in sight. The hotel is very elegant, blending natural wood and stone with subtle, clean, and modern touches, making it very cozy and stylish. Our room was big, open, and inviting. During the day it was filled with daylight and a nice breeze from the balcony (it was sunny everyday). If we weren't lounging around our room, we were reading or playing carro in the chill-out area, or exploring the surrounding area on foot or by bicycle. After trekking through the hills in the afternoon, there was nothing better than coming back to the hotel and relaxing our tired legs in the outdoor sauna and jacuzzi under the stars. The hotel owner and chef, Francesc, could not have been a better host. He was so friendly and welcoming. It was obvious that he cared about this hotel with all his heart and was happy to do anything to make the stay more enjoyable. The food was also incredible. Our 6 course dinner was unforgettable and possibly the best meal I have ever had. Our short stay at Mas Mariassa was nothing short of perfect. Whether you're looking for a tranquil and relaxing vacation, a gateway to the breathtaking outdoors (amazing hiking, mountain biking, and rock climbing) that's still close to the ocean, or a culinary journey, Mas Mariassa is just what you're looking for.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aybeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    30
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
139
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bath, england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed at Mas Mariassa for one night on our return to the UK from Portugal. It is set in a beautiful location (really only accessible by car). It is an very old farmhouse which has been lovingly restored into a small boutique-style hotel about three years' ago - not without problems I believe - there were a few problems with warped floorboards and cracked floors and one of the rooms was not available. The beds were huge and very comfortable and the bathrooms clean and ultra modern. The outdoor area was stunning with 'chilling out' areas with shady tables and cushions scattered around and guests had access to a Finnish sauna and hot tub (you had to book as they only offer exclusive use). The inside of the hotel has been very carefully designed and there are some really lovely touches, especially with the use of clever lighting. The best part of our stay however was the food - we opted for the Gastronomique menu and WOW it was fantastic! We had approximately 8 courses which started with some bread with the amazing Siurana olive oil which can be bought in the Cooperativa in Pratdip which also serves as the Tourist Office, served with flavoured salts. This was followed by a superb carpaccio of cod with black olives, a very tasty bacon and egg tortilla, carrot soup, baked hake with roasted garlic oil, duck confit and finally a gorgeous Tiramisu. A lovely, lovely meal but VERY filling!
The breakfast was again excellent although we were still full from the night before so only had fruit!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venetia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2010

A fantastic hideaway - great rooms, great service, fantastic food. Close enough to get there easily, far enough to get away from it all.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Delicious food, friendly staff, stylish room in stunning location. only 30 minutes from Reus airport.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaanalst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Me and my husband went to Mas Mariassa to celebrate our 8th aniversary and it was just outstanding. The hotel is very small and intimate, with a great location in the middle of the nature. There is a chill out and jacuzzi outdoors with an extraordinary view of Priorat. Also, food and wine were excellent. The service was also extraordinary, becuase the owners of the hotel are the ones running it and they give very personalised and of very high quality.
We strongly recommend this place for a romantic, relaxing and intimate stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demanding_traveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Modern, peaceful and cozy place. Great taste in design. We had the chance to visit the place with our host Francesc; every room has it's own personality!!
Unique location in the mountains although close to the sea surrounded by nature in a Mediterranean forest!
It was great opportunity to experience a very talented author cuisine. The staff was very helpful and involved, so nice to see that there is still people that really believe in what they are doing!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gipsymoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Wonderful location is about 20 minutes from the beach or wine country. Tranquil setting with hottub, suana and lovely view of the mountains. Food was excellent and great value for the excellent quality. The homemade olive oil is to 'die for', but they don't produce enough to sell it yet. Rooms are contemporary with the warm feeling of wood. Staff is personable and williing to assist you in any way. This small (7 rooms) family run hotel is a definite MUST for anyone traveling to southern Catalunya.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyJerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pratdip
14.8 km away
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resor...
#1 of 2 in Montbrio del Camp
755 reviews
4.2 km away
Figuerola Resort and Spa
Figuerola Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Vandellos
179 reviews
10.9 km away
Hotel Rural Cal Torner
Hotel Rural Cal Torner
#1 of 1 in Els Guiamets
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Mas Passamaner
Mas Passamaner
#1 of 2 in La Selva del Camp
261 reviews
17.8 km away
Cal Llop
Cal Llop
#1 of 2 in Gratallops
141 reviews
28.1 km away
Hotel Mas la Boella
Hotel Mas la Boella
#1 of 19 in Tarragona
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mas Mariassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mas Mariassa

Property: Hotel Mas Mariassa
Address: Carretera T-311, km 30, 43320 Pratdip, Spain (Formerly Hotel Gastronomico Mas Mariassa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Pratdip
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pratdip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mas Mariassa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruined houses are landscape sadness but when they return to life spread to the environment.Mas Mariassa was forgotten and the hotel that now living in it is a privilege involved in rain fed Garriga, amongst almond and fig trees, olive trees and rocky terraces, the southern Catalonia landscape. Mas Mariassa are good neighbours of Baix Camp and work hard at showing off their land. We see it through the windows and enjoy it through the dish and the cup, as we're in a hotel with gastronomic own vegetable garden. The farmhouse of the XVIII, has been restored with respect to its essence, its old fashioned charm and its materials, with quality furniture and noble textures, achieving sober and natural environments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mas Mariassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing