We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Christmas Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cley Next the Sea, Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jude1970L...
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy Christmas Cottage”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 stayed for the week between Christmas and New Year - very cosy and the owners had kindly arranged a Christmas tree which was a lovely touch. Cottage was very clean and tidy with a small but well equipped kitchen. Very quiet location and great to be in located in Cley within walking distance of the beach and all amenities. The cottage has quite a steep staircase which may be a problem for younger children or older less mobile adults but was fine for us. Would recommend and would definitely return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful week wandering the marshes.”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We arrived to a warm, tidy and clean cottage; tea, coffee, milk and sugar plus crisps,biscuits and wine! A lovely welcome. We chose this cottage as it appeared to be so close to the Cley Marshes. And it really was-Just a walk up the path, through the entrance archway, over the High Street, 100 paces up the road and we were there. We were out all day every day exploring Cley Marshes, Salthouse, Blakeney, Wells, Stiffkey and Holkham and this was a very cosy cottage to return to at dusk. It is well equipped, comfortably furnished and had everything we needed. We are now impressed with Induction Hobs having learned quickly from the owner's written instructions. The showers were lovely and warm and hot water was plentiful. It's central location was perfect for us. The George Hotel-good food and beer-just a few doors down the road. The NNWT Centre is only a ten minute walk by the marshes away.The pottery, bookshop, smokery,gallery and deli are all only short walks away. Sunday newspapers can be bought from the window of the house down the road! Local people and tradesmen are very friendly. We had a fantastic time and really enjoyed the big skies especially when they were blue and full of returning geese.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

First, I will say that the comments in the guest book were mainly favorable. Our experience was not. We traveled in the UK for 6 weeks staying at self-catering holiday lets and this was the only one we found unsuitable. It was dirty; the area rugs in the bedrooms and living room hadn't been vacuumed in some time. There were cobwebs in all the rooms. The couch was badly stained. The sitting room is small, full of furniture and books, and quite dusty. There was tremendous clutter in the small laundry area; we had to move things out into the hall to get to the washer. In the tiny kitchen there was very little cupboard space for food, as it was stocked with a lot of crockery, appliances, utensils and serving dishes. Ms. Moss gave us a refund because we found dog hairs on the living room rug. A previous guest evidently had had a dog there without her permission. She doesn't live nearby, and there is no property manager. She offered to have the cottage cleaned for 2 hrs, but that would not have been enough time, in our opinion, to clean it thoroughly. Further, there is no cross-ventilation to properly air it out, having windows on only one wall in every room and I was already having sinus issues from the amount of dog dander in the air. The small patio is not attractive, and the courtyard garden is not maintained. We loved the village and environs. We loved the property that we found around the corner for the remainder of our stay. I cannot recommend this cottage in its current condition.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
We were very sorry that the guest did not find the cottage up to scratch. We offered a to go in and clean again to bring it up to the required standard for as long as it took, but due to the nature of the clients health issues she declined this offer so we refunded her which was the best for her and we responded quickly to her issues, although we deeply regret they happened (as they havent before). We completed an end of season clean after her stay to rememedy any issues and I have instructed the cleaner to complete this on a more regular basis so these issues do not occur again. The utility was also tidied, but with a fairly compact cottage this small room is the place we store cushions for the garden, the cleaning equipment in case guests need it and the highchair so they are out the way as we make the best of all space.

The cottage is furnished to a high standard and decorated well. We do check the cottage regularly but like many owners of 1 or 2 cottages in the UK we do not live that close, however a few weeks before it was graded again at 4 star by visit England. The cleaner cleans many local holiday cottages and manages the property for us, she lives in a local town, not on site and is very responsive and helpful. We have put new windows in the cottage this year to help with ventilation problems and to make the best of the building.

We felt we dealt with her issues as quickly as possible, refunded her straight away and have dealt with the issues in the cottage to bring it back up to standard. We do pride ourselves in people having good holidays as other people in reviews have said. We are sorry this even happened as we have not had complaints before but felt we dealt with it well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran D
Kokubunji, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A quiet and elegant cottage facing a garden courtyard. Very cosy. Well equipped. A perfect quiet getaway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurnerT
northants
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We truly enjoyed our stay at Lavender Cottage.
This was our first self catering holiday in North Norfolk and everything was perfect. It is set back from the road and is very quiet and peaceful. The beds are so comfortable, you are guaranteed a good nights sleep. This cottage is ideal for a small family and is in such a lovely village, everyone is so friendly. We particularly enjoyed visiting 'Picnic Fayre', which is a short stroll from the cottage and sells everything from fresh fruit and veg to gorgeous pies and pasties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was ideal
Liked least: Could provide a few more towels
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulC2816
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Firstly, booking through Trip Advisor is a very efficient process. Cottage is great value and very well appointed. The only warning is I am not sure that it is for four adults. It is small, and for a couple is absolutely ideal. Very quiet location, set back off the street. Great walks in the area and would have no hesitation in booking again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little cottage in a quaint Loke”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful part of the UK. We were looking for a traditional cottage with a wood burner stove which was cosy and comfortable.

The cottage is good for two and would also suit a small family. It has lovely comfy beds, a kingsize in the double and full size singles. It has adequate storage in handmade cupboards and drawers. The living room has seating for four and is spacious for the size of the cottage. It has a wing back chair which is a lovely touch. The wood burning stove was great and the cottage had good eletric heating. There was a good stock of dvd's, books and unlimted wifi. The tv is large and has freesat.

The kitchen was compact - but well designed. The most spacious fridge freezer and really well equipped cupboards including a rolling pin and scales. It had a great induction hob which is a treat for cooking. It is also the thoroughfare but for a holiday you can get around that. It had a dishwasher which was useful. It also had thermos flasks for taking out hot chocolate onto the marshes which would be great for birders or those with kids.

There is not much outside space but they have made the best of it. There is a bbq and table and chairs for outside eating. The yard is enclosed with willow shading for privacy and would imagine the gardens it looks out on are nice in summer. The loke is shared with 4 other cottages - with a nice path down the middle. As there is a house in front you hear nothing from the road. It was good the cottage is pet free for those that are allergic.

The road leads staright to a path which takes you to the stoney beach which was great for early evening walks and we even saw some seals. We hope the storms in December did not harm it too much.

We had a great time in this cosy and comfortable cottage and hope to be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wifi and comfy sofas
Liked least: The small kitchen but it was only for a week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing