We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness the recommended place was full”
Review of Frog Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frog Beach House
Ranked #3 of 8 Ko Phayam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We arrived a mess and in bad humor so late at night after finding a place we had been told to stay was fully booked, but Nop and gang showed us kindness we didn't deserve. Lovely, airy, clean bungalows, good food, footsteps from the ocean, no appointments to keep.... Our week there left us with memories that we will always treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

I loved Frog Beach House so much I went back again. Accommodation is clean, comfortable, great bathrooms and only about 100 metres to the ocean. The restaurant has delicious food and the friendly people who run Frog Beach House are delightful. I highly recommend Frog Beach House and I'm going back for my third visit as soon as I can.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Even though frog beach house was not as cheap as most of the other choices in the vicinity and the bungalows weren't directly on the beach (the distance to the beach was maybe 100 meters or 110 yards) we felt that the quality of the bungalows and the excellent service made our stay definitely worthwhile.

Our bungalow was sturdy and stylish with mosquito net, fan and a private bath. In my opinion it resembled a real house more than the usual simple huts on a beach. As a fun detail, the bathroom was situated in an outdoor-enclosure linked directly to the bungalow and made it possible for us to have a shower directly under the stars. The original price was 800B a night, but since we stayed a whole week, we got a 100B discount a night. The bungalow did get a bit hot during the day, but then Thailand was experiencing an all-round heat wave of temperatures over 40°C/104°F

The beach was also very nice and long (about 3 km or 2 miles) with enough waves to go boogieboarding on the edges of the beach or surfing on the middle of the beach. We were able to borrow the boogieboards free of charge from the reception. We did some ordinary swimming and floating in the water too, so the waves were not too big.

The thing that really made our trip to Koh Phayam, was the service and food. The service was very friendly (even among Thai-standards) and considerate and we felt truly welcome and the food in the small restaurant was probably among the best thaifood we've eaten during out two-month stay in Thailand. And it was fresh too, for example one day some sea gypsies came to offer the restaurant some clams they had just caught and we were asked if we'd like to have some for dinner that day. And they were delicious :-).

I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone, excluding those people who have a serious aversion to Bob Marley, since Frog beach house is situated near a bar called "Rasta baby bar". The bar didn't bother us, since the only the thing we heard from there was the music (which usually stopped before our bed-time), and we were in the bungalow situated nearest to the bar, so you could always ask for one in the back of the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fmluder135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laluciernaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Gli alloggi più vicini alla spiaggia sono più silenziosi in quanto lontani dal generatore comunque n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AntonioBacheca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 ist direkt vorne, ruhig gelegen und der kürzeste Weg zum Strand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Maxi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phayam hotels
1.1 km away
JJ Beach Resort
JJ Beach Resort
#4 of 42 in Ko Phayam
43 reviews
4.0 km away
The Blue Sky Resort Koh Payam
1.1 km away
Bamboo Bungalows
Bamboo Bungalows
#13 of 42 in Ko Phayam
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Aow Yai Bungalows
Aow Yai Bungalows
#24 of 42 in Ko Phayam
2 reviews
1.4 km away
No photo provided
Phayam Coconut Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Ko Phayam
1 reviews
4.1 km away
PP Land Beach
PP Land Beach
#1 of 3 in Ko Phayam
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Beach House

Address: 15/6 Moo 1 Aow Yai, Ko Phayam 85000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Ranong Province > Ko Phayam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phayam
Price Range: $29 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Frog Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Frog Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing