We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our land based tour with Nature Galapagos. The hotel was a 10 minute walk to the beach and restaurants which wasn't too bad and the hotel itself was conveniently located close by to a supermarket for picking up snacks and drinks. A word of warning when visiting Isabela Island - there are no ATM machines so ensure that you bring cash with you if you are staying for a longer period of time. To add to this, most restaurants only accept cash and not cards.

We had the front room upstairs which had 3 beds in total so it felt a bit crowded and as our room overlooked the road, similar to someone else's review we could hear people talking as they walked by and were awakened every morning at 5am by a rooster. A dog also constantly barked in one of the houses behind the hotel during the day which was a bit of a nuisance but if you are out partaking in activities then this shouldn't be an issue.

In terms of the beds, they were reasonably comfortable and we had air conditioning which was effective and much needed in the intense heat.

We were told that the hotel had wifi but we really struggled to get a connection because the signal was so poor. However the staff were very sweet and offered for us to use their laptop.

There were lots of insects, mostly mosquitos on Isabela and whilst they weren't an issue in the room, there were lots outside on the balcony and in the communal areas so ensure you bring lots of insect repellent.

The food was very basic and was served buffet-style and we felt that there was not enough food for all the guests and the plates were not always replenished.

In reception there was a water cooler where we could fill up our water bottles for free which was very convenient.

We found the staff lovely and so friendly and helpful despite our basic Spanish.

Overall the hotel was very basic and good value for money if you are on a budget but there are other options for the same price overlooking the beach which are worth looking in to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights in March. Our airconditioning did not work for the duration of our stay making it uncomfortable to sleep. Staff were not interested in fixing it or in giving us a different room. The hotel caters to tour groups and serves buffet style meals. There is insufficient food for all the guests and the staff are not able/willing to cater for vegetarians. The prices of beverages changed daily and the cost of laundry varied from $1-$2 per kilo depending on which staff member you asked.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I was for job again on Isabela Island and my company reserve for me the San Vicente Galapagos Hot, I think was the best descition, the room was very comfortable, the people was very kindly with me, the restaurant was nice, every day the people goes to different tour organized by the hotel and many people comes from the other hotels. The San Vicente has a Internet service that is very important for my job, I am always in contact with my family and work. If you go to Isabele it is the place

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at the Hotel San Vicente for three nights in late August as part of our land based tour with Nature Galapagos and Ecuador. Overall, we found the accommodation decent for the amount of time we spent there (minimal) and the price we paid (also minimal).

LOCATION
Not the greatest - it was down a quieter street, and one night we were dropped off at the beach and given vague directions on how to get back to the hotel. After wandering around for about half an hour, we were finally given directions by a police officer. It probably is about a 10 minute walk from the beach, but if you've had a few too many drinks at Bar de Beto (great place!) you might find it takes a little longer...

HOTEL / ROOMS
We were first given a room upstairs, with a huge king bed and two twins. Very spacious and comfortable... and then were told that this was an error and our room was actually downstairs. This room had three twin beds and was so cramped, with our bags on the floor there was practically any space to walk around. If you're willing to pay more, there are some decent rooms. For our purposes, we only used the rooms to sleep in, so it didn't bother us too much. From our room, we could hear all of our neighbours talking / laughing quite loudly into the night, and had a lovely wake-up call from the oft-mentioned rooster at approximately 5am every morning. If you're like me and can sleep through anything, this shouldn't be a problem, but my travel companions found it incredibly annoying.

The beds were comfortable, if not somewhat sketchy looking (the sheet covering the sketchy looking mattress was really thin and see-through, so I layered a towel on top). I'm sure everything was clean enough but if you're squeamish towards this kind of thing I wouldn't stay at this hotel. We also had a resident gecko in our shower the duration of our stay, and had to be very careful not to accidentally soap him while using the shower. If that is something you can't live with, I'm not sure I would suggest visiting the Galapagos!

The internet at the hotel was extremely difficult to get, even at our room right next to the lobby. If you really want internet (which you shouldn't - you're on vacation in the Galapagos!) I would suggest going and sitting out in the garden area with bug spray at night - and lots of it.

There is no in room safe, but there is a safe in the lobby (which we never used.) We didn't have any issues with security at all. There is also a water cooler in the lobby with filtered water, so you can leave your kettles at home.

STAFF
The staff is very friendly!! Always willing to help out, always had smiles on their faces, and were relatively quick to respond to any issues we had. There was a bit of a language barrier here if you don't speak Spanish, but a Spanish-English dictionary went a long way.

FOOD
Like a lot of the reviews mentioned, the meals are served buffet style in the lobby, with one long dining table, another big dining table outside, and a few smaller outdoor tables. This really gives you a chance to get to know the other people at the hotel, and everyone is pretty friendly.

We actually found the food to be pretty decent, despite the complaints on tripadvisor. There was always some sort of vegetable soup, chicken/fish, potato/rice, and vegetable for dinner. At breakfast we were always provided with those amazing buns (I would intend on eating half of one, and end up eating 2!) , fresh fruit, delicious juices, and eggs. Same grilled fish/chicken for lunch.

Like I mentioned, if you're just looking for a basic place to sleep while you're on vacation, you can't go wrong with San Vicente. It is very budget friendly with very few inconveniences (language, location, roosters). If things like being woken up early, monotonous meals, and sketchy looking beds aren't your thing, I would suggest looking at some of the higher end hotels available on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daphh_Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Situated on remote Isabela Island, this should be a castaway island getaway but instead is a fairly commercial, tour group centric hotel that lacks much charm. The staff are welcoming and friendly, but it just lacks the character that you would expect having travelled 6-7 hours from the Ecuadorian coast into the middle of the Pacific Ocean. The food is served canteen style and with no choice at all. Although good hosts, the staff are mainly focused on getting tour groups in and out on their various excursions. On the plus side (and the reason why it got 3 stars) the rooms are adequate and clean and the surrounding beaches and national park great to experience while travelling through Galapagos.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank KH401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed at the Hotel San Vicente in January as part of a island hopping tour booked through the company Nature Galapagos & Ecuador. While I´m sure there are more luxurious hotels in Isabela, for the price we paid we were very happy with our accommodations. The staff was nothing but friendly, (but true they don´t speak much english), and the rooms were quite comfortable - spacious, clean, air conditioned, with large comfortable beds. The guides that work at the hotel (who DO speak english) even invited us to a local bar, and getting to know them and interact other natives of the islands was one of the highlights of our stay in Isabela (along with the wildlife, volcanos, beaches, and everything else about the galapagos!).

We had a really good experience with the hotel san vicente, and i think a lot of that was due to our mindset going into Galapagos. We did not come to Galapagos thinking "wow, i really can´t wait to see how fancy our hotel is", we came hoping to see the wildlife and experience the islands OUTSIDE of our hotel. The fact that the San Vicente was clean and comfortable was pleasantly surprising, but truthfully we spent as little time in our rooms as possible. We viewed our hotels as places to eat, shower, and sleep in between our experiences in the islands, and in that regard the quality of the san vicente actually surpassed our expectations. I mean if you think about the price, paying $35 per person for a spacious private room with air conditioning, hot water, and private bathrooms is quite good. It sure beats what i paid for in hostels and hotels traveling around europe!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank will_lax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We just return from Galapagos, Hotel San Vicente is the worst place where we stayed. The owners are not welcoming at all and they just forgot about being polite and nice, we are wondering why they are in this business. This hotel is like a tourist factory where a lot of persons are coming for one or 2 nights and they just do not care about you The only thing they want to get from you are your us$.
DO NOT GO THERE!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank dcartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0 km away
Hostal Galapagos
Hostal Galapagos
#5 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
34 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
0 km away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
42 reviews
0 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
70 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Vicente Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Vicente Galapagos

Address: Av. Cormorant and Puerto Villamil 1204, Puerto Villamil 52172, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range: $123 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Vicente Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos is dedicated to provide the highest quality of service and comfort to each and every of its guests. We like to complement your visit to the Galapagos as perfect as possible. We are proud to say that Hotel San Vicente has become one of the most popular of the Galapagos hotels on Isabela Island, which we believe is due to our standard of excellence and personal commitment to our guests. From our Galapagos hotel you can arrange a variety of land tours that are sure to leave you breathless. The natural beauty of the islands will amaze you while you enjoy a comfortable and superior service from the friendly staff of our Hotel San Vicente Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel San Vicente Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing