We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Casa de Marita(Puerto Villamil)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Galapagos(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Casita de la Playa(Puerto Villamil)
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Coral Blanco(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Drake Inn(Puerto Villamil)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Los Delfines(Puerto Villamil)
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hospedaje Janet(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Posada del Caminante(Puerto Villamil)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Albemarle(Puerto Villamil)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
459
124
36
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
124
36
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolhot tubtortoise breeding centerwater conservationisabela islandwater savingbeautiful hotelmarine iguanasahead of timefew secondspink flamingoscrossing the roadjunior suitebest hotel on the islandcevichepush the buttonhotel management
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 648 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We really enjoyed our time at Puerto Villamil. Our room was a nice-sized double queen, ocean-facing. There is a nice public beach there. From our balcony, we could watch the marine iguanas waddle from the ocean to spots all along the beach to lay eggs. We rented bikes from our island guide ( we were on a land-based tour and so all these little details were taken care of for us) and took some wonderful bike rides from the hotel. The shower that everyone complains about is not that difficult to operate. It does automatically shut off every few seconds, but we managed. Many Westerners take unlimited amounts of water for granted, it seems. Adjacent to the property is a wooden walk-way which leads through a flamingo habitat and a tortoise breeding center. There is no cost to either. The staff are fine, I found that they spoke little English, which could account for some individual's complaints. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for it's location and ambiance.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rtvanness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio1959, General Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment, we appreciate your observations, we will consider them.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your time in Isabela Island and we hope you come back.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

We were upgraded to the best room in the hotel overlooking the ocean and pool. Huge room with very comfortable King bed and you could see and hear the ocean from bed. I saw 3 pink flamingos flying by from bed. The food was also very good although breakfast did not start until 7 am and that didn't work well for early risers like us or for tours that start early. Although they did provide us with some breakfast on the morning we had to leave early to catch our ferry. Just make sure you talk to the staff the day before to arrange. My biggest complaint would be that the maids would turn on our air conditioning during the day and our room would be freezing when we would get back. We found this strange as the staff at the front desk warned us not to turn on the air conditioning when we weren't in the room to save energy. Also the showers were annoying in that they only stayed on for a few seconds and you had to press the button each time you wanted more water. My only other warning is that our friends were charged for some drinks they did not order so be careful to ask for a signed bill for everything you order by the pool.

Room Tip: Ocean view was gorgeous
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio1959, General Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Guest

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time at Iguana Crossing, as you have noticed we are always iproving our service in order to fulfill our guests requests.

We will trully appreciate you to recommend us with your family and friends. Once again thank you so much.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

This hotel is not cheap. In fact, it is very expensive, despite the fact that we had chosen the cheaper room (Mountain View) instead of a Sea View one. However, we do accept the fact that prices on this enchanted island are expected to be higher due to its remote location, but for the price we paid, we had expected a certain kind of standard and quality to justify the rate. I am sad to say that the hotel has disappointed us in these aspects.

We stayed for 4 nights at a Standard Twin Room (Mountain View) as we felt that the rates for the Sea View were just too exorbitant. When we checked in, we were briefed by the Manager about meal times and the hotel’s effort to save water (the taps and shower stop every 8 seconds!!). We only found out there was a roof terrace and hot tub after leaving the hotel. Why were we no told about these at check-in?

The room’s cleanliness was only sub-standard – sand on the floor was still visible after the room was cleaned. Bathroom light was very dim, and worst of all, there were little cockroaches all over the place (in the wardrobe and bathroom, particularly). We were careful to close the door immediately after we let ourselves out because there were a lot of mosquitoes, but every time we returned from our day trips, we were still “attacked” by mosquitoes, probably let in when the room was cleaned.

We had dinner once at its restaurant. Although the food was alright, the price was again, very expensive. The hotel looked very impressive from the outside, with its location at the far-end of a strip and an imposing swimming pool up front, but the room that we stayed in was really dated. Wifi was non-existent even from the restaurant and lobby area.

Be that as it may, I have to say that the staff were friendly, but for the price that the hotel is charging, they will have to do some serious upgrading to the rooms – clear the cockroaches and provide electronic mosquito repellent in every room.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hannisze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio1959, General Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Guest

We are sorry for you to have experienced this problem. Bugs are a problem of the hottest season here, nut we are going to consider your observations. Thank you.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

This hotel is located just out of the center of Puerto Villamil (which given how small it is, isn't far at all). We were gringoed by the taxi driver that brought us here from the dock. On our way he said the cost was $1 per person. When we arrived I offered him a $5 bill and he rudely said it was $2 per person. When I checked with the hotel they said it should only have cost $2-3 to that put us off using taxis on the island. The good news is that everything really is in walking distance (even the dock and Concha de Perla). We did use a taxi again to get our suitcases at the end of our trip and the driver the hotel called for us was honest about the price. When we arrived we warmly greeted and offered a delicious drink. This hotel is on the costly side but we made our reservation we were able to negotiate a little bit which was helpful. Our room faced the lagoon with the flamingoes and it was clear that regardless where your room was located (front had ocean view, back and lagoon view), the views were spectacular. We did find the room to be on the small side and it would have been helpful to have a plug in the bathroom but we were able to work around these things. There was a spot for a fridge in the room but there was no fridge (perhaps you can request one?). The breakfast which was included was great and custom omelets were always an option. We did the Tuneles trip one day which required an early departure and the hotel accommodated us for the early breakfast. On our last day, we needed to catch the 5:30am ferry and again they were kind enough to put out some food for us so that we could have something to eat before we left (something we really appreciated).
There was coffee and filtered water available all day which was great (you do have to ask for milk which was in the fridge but were never made to feel like this was inconvenience). The pool was very refreshing and a good size. It is deep but there are a few ledges for people to just stand or relax on (or for kids). This isn't a pool where we want to leave kids unattended who cannot swim. Right behind the hotel is the path to the Tortoise centre which is a beautiful walk past lagoons with ducks and flamingos. The path to the Wall of Tears starts here as well so it's really easy to find. There is a beach right across the road which isn't ideal for real swimming but it's great to play in the sand or wet your feet. What stood out for us here was the service. There was always someone available to help and they did it with a great attitude. I'm really happy we chose to stay here and would absolutely stay here again. We found the hottub on the roof on the last day but probably wouldn't have used it anyway given the heat. The view on the roof is really nice, so it's worth making your way up there to see it.

Room Tip: If you want to see flamingoes, go for a room with a "mountain view". If you want a balcony pick an ocean view room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ErieSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio1959, General Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time at Iguana Crossing, as you have noticed we are always iproving our service in order to fulfill our guests requests.

We will trully appreciate you to recommend us with your family and friends. Once again thank you so much.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018

We stayed in an ocean view suite for 5 wonderful nights. There are tons of excellent activities on Isabela including: Los Tuneles, Tintereros, biking to Wall of Tears, Turtle sanctuary walk, Concha Perla snorkeling with seals etc. This lovely boutique hotel is spotless, beautifully maintained and located at the end of the "strip" which offers a quieter setting. Bed is super comfortable, linens nice and air con excellent. The 2nd floor wrap-around porch of the junior suite lets you enjoy full view of the beach, ocean, gorgeous sunsets and the flamingos hanging out in the lagoon behind the hotel. The breakfasts offered both hot and cold options with eggs being cooked to order. We ate most meals at the hotel as their menu offered a good selection for a boutique hotel. The local dishes, pastas and desserts were particularly good. The infinity pool is lovely and the rooftop deck offers a huge shaded area with a great view. Don't let the comments about the 8 second water flow situation put you off. Yes, it's a bit annoying but you are on a remote island and it's an excellent water conservation initiative. Not a big deal. Service was excellent with all staff super friendly (particularly Cecilia) and they were all happy to assist you in any way. Any questions or requests we had were always handled efficiently. It is indeed pricey, even for the Galapagos, but it is the top luxury option for Isabela and likely all of Galapagos (for sure a nicer setting than Finch Bay on Santa Cruz). Would definitely recommend if you are looking to splurge.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fang4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio1959, General Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Dear Guest

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Isabela, specially at Iguana Crossing. We are proud to know we are consider as the best option in the island, that is why we constantly train our staff in order to mantain our position.

We appreciate your comment, and we really hope you to come back and recommend us with your family and friends.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews