We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mandy G
Grottaglie, Italy

Spa and restaurant - amazing!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 29, 2020via mobile
I visited Monun for a spa day and also dined at the restaurant for dinner a separate time. I live in the area so have had a lot of experiences in local spas and restaurants and I have to say Monun is one of the best! The restaurant serves innovative and tasty dishes with their roots in the local cuisine but with a fun twist. We tried many different dishes and there were two that were just so so, but the rest were fantastic! I also visited ths spa for the percorso and a massage both of which were wonderful. The spa area itself is cosy and perfect to get away. Both in the spa and restaurant the service was top notch, the staff are always friendly and available. The hotel is in an old monestary and beautifully renovated. Drinks on the terrace before dinner are a must to enjoy the view over the old town! I will definitely be back.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Monun Hotel Spa & Restaurant
Free parking
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Monun Hotel Spa & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Monun Hotel Spa & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • BBIT
    C$78
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Monun Hotel Spa & Restaurant
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.5 km from Monun Hotel Spa & Restaurant
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.2 km from Monun Hotel Spa & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Monun Hotel Spa & Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Monun Hotel Spa & Restaurant
Restaurant
    661.4 km from Monun Hotel Spa & Restaurant
    Free Wifi
    getlstd_property_photo
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    4.5 km from Monun Hotel Spa & Restaurant
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Grottaglie
    Reviews (59)
    Filter reviews
    59 results
    Traveller rating
    52
    4
    2
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    52
    4
    2
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 59 reviews
    Reviewed October 10, 2019

    Just make a detour and go !
    The restaurant deserves a Michelin star but is so reasonably priced.
    They can't do enough for you to make your stay relaxing and comfortable.
    It was friendly, caring, comfortable, functional and supreme quality without the high price.
    It is a style oasis. I cannot praise the staff enough.
    It shows that it is a family owned and dedicated beautiful business.
    Unbelievable and memorable.

    Room tip: All rooms are good. Have a drink on the upstairs out door roof.
    Date of stay: September 2019
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SophieLouis
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed September 17, 2019 via mobile

    Here as part of a wedding group. Comfortable rooms, though no full
    length mirrors, they seem to have thought of most things. One aspect though is that the website and advertising says swimming pool. This is not free access and is only part of payment for use of spa facilities which are run by a separate business. That's ok, but it is not clear from website. Disappointing, and fellow guests felt the same.
    Food beautifully presented. Breakfast good.
    Wonderful service from staff.

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank janec936
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 20, 2019

    Open just under a year now, the Monun hotel is built into a historic building and has stylish, spacious and very modern bedrooms (just 11 of them in total) over two floors. WiFi is free and quite fast, and all appliances like aircon and light switches are operated via touch screen. The whole hotel is kept in white. Check-in and check-out was easy and quick. The hotel seems almost over-staffed, as everyone takes their time for you. There’s a spa for wellness downstairs in the basement.
    Now comes the fun part: Its restaurant is outstanding. The food that comes out of the kitchen is creative and of pretty high standards. A lot of things are made in-house. Even if you’re in town and not staying at Monun, you should go and pay it a visit for lunch or dinner.
    Taranto is 20min by car, airports are 1.5h (BRI) or about an hour (BDS) away.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Superdupertravel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed November 20, 2018

    My husband and I recently stayed at Monun's hotel for four nights during a business trip. Since it was a work trip, we were not expecting a lot from the accommodations, so we were blown away by how beautiful and serene our stay at Monun was. The interior and fixtures are very well designed to reflect the landscape and architecture of the area (as well as highlight a local ceramic artist in the amazing lamps and sconces!) but are also marvelously up-to-date and convenient.

    All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Eleonora at the front desk helped me track down a rustic/farm restaurant that would serve typical local food and happened to be open on a random Tuesday in November (not an easy task!). They also speak and understand English quite well, which is not common in this part of Italy - something I've learned over two years experience traveling in the area.

    The restaurant takes the same approach as the overall business: take the traditional and give it an elegant, modern twist. The food was a great value for the price and our table of eight colleagues were served fun amuse-bouche appetizers and desserts in addition to what we ordered so that we got an even broader taste of the chef's creativity.

    The overall history and location of Monun is also really fun. It is set at the edge of Grottaglie's historic center, which the rooms' balconies look out over. From the beautiful rooftop terrace, you can look down into the courtyard of the centuries-old castle and also see the skyline of Taranto (30-minutes drive down the road). The building used to be a monastery occupied by Franciscan nuns who ran an orphanage and school for children: the children lived in the castle and the school was in a church across the street from the monastery (it is now a regular school); all three of the buildings were connected by sky bridges.

    Neither my husband nor I had time to make use of the spa, but I got a tour of the facility and, especially considering the size of space they had to work with, they have done a beautiful job of creating many different peaceful spaces for soaking, sauna, massage, etc. There is also a cute little room for wine-tasting that was built into the former cistern under the building that in the past caught much-needed rain water. Just another example of how creatively and seamlessly Monun has blended the old and the new. I can't wait to go back and make use of the amenities that we missed!

    Room tip: all the rooms have great views - you can't go wrong!
    Date of stay: November 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Lauren S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed November 10, 2018

    Looking for a small lunch in a restaurant we, five friends from Holland, were guided to this brand new hotel. We were the first foreign guests in the restaurant of Monun, which was in in the early days a monastry where MOnks and NUNs lived. The small lunch became a big suprise and was really excellent! The cook Alessandro, just 30 years old, gave us a Michelin feeling. The food, olive oil and wine (Motolese), all local produced or handmade in the kitchen were briljant. The staff was very friendly and showd us after the lunch the beautiful rooms, Spa and rooftop. When you ever visit Grottaglie for its ceramics go to Monun because it’s really worth it! Thanks all the staff of Monun.
    We surely be back ! Frederik, Erna, Erik, Petra and Amarens.

    Room tip: There are rooms and suites which are more spacious. Don’t forget the Spa.
    Date of stay: November 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank freek v
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews