We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lanes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Coker
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is a three star hotel which in my opinion should be four star, my room was in the annex and was very comfortable and felt the stress of my long journey fade away. The annexe was very secure so felt quite safe.
Nice toiletries and bath robe supplied, room has complimentary mini bar and i pod docking which are nice touches.My phone signal was very poor however this is offset by internet access and wifi provided so could keep in contact with home on Skype. There ia also a residents coffee lounge where you can use printer etc. I did not use spa facilities as I did not have time.
I ate in the restaurant and although very modern it had a lovely atmosphere, service was very good, I ordered a steak which arrived on a board with accompanients all in separate dishes so maybe not to everyone's eating style however the food was perfectly cooked and of high quality.I got oil and butter for my table but no bread so not sure what that was all about.
The bar area is open and very modern again nice atmosphere and if you want to sit quiet you can go to the other lounge area and sit is comfy chair.
Breakfast was good choice of home made produce plenty of choice and nice fresh coffee.
No complaints at all and would love to visit when i get more time so I can use the facilities. Suitable for families, business and could see nothing to prevent buggies and wheelchairs getting around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harrycrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    81
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
141
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Arriving through the main gate of Lanes Hotel in the beautiful village of West Coker I was expecting an amazing hotel that matched the excellent ratings on tripadvisor, I was slightly disappointed to see that the original part of the hotel had been extended and the first thing I saw was a modern block that was in no way in keeping with the style of the village or the main house. I was more impressed when I entered however and found a lovely bar area.

I was staying at Lanes the night before my wedding in Somerset and then again on my wedding night with my new bride so I was hoping that the hotel would be a kind of relaxing and beautiful place. On being shown my room - the bridal suite on the top floor of the old part of the hotel I noticed a slightly clinical smell but thought nothing of it.

A few minutes later I noticed that I had got wet paint all over the arm of my (not cheap) jumper and wondered in incredulity how on earth I had managed this. Surely there could be no way that Lanes could possibly have let me check in to a room that was wet with paint? I checked the room and indeed found at least two areas of wet white paint.

I asked about this at reception and was disappointed with the level of apology I received, if this had been my hotel and this had happened to a guest I would have been mortified, especially given the guest being on his wedding night. Despite offering to wash the jumper for me there was no heartfelt apology, no offer of recompense or change of room.

My room continued to smell of paint despite having all the windows open, and despite acknowledgement of the problem staff were unapologetic.

On balance, breakfast was delicious, the free computing/internet and printer was very useful, and the hotel was generally good. But for a hotel to fail to care about its guest's experience of staying there on their wedding night, to paint a room and leave it wet at check in and not offer any money off the bill is terrible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foolinthedeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have used this hotel on a number of occations and can highly recommend , attention to detail is second to non, the location is stunning, the hotel is stunning and the staff and hoteliers are warm and friendly , the rooms are beautifully decorated to a high standard and exceptionally clean.

The food is another experience not to be missed, beautifully cooked and presented and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.

Despite the high standards the hotel is exceptional value.

I will be booking again soon and always look forward to my stay!

Room Tip: I have had several different rooms and they are all of the same high standard, the location is beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jessie269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel and guest apartments are located in the village of West Coker, just outside Yeovil in Somerset. If you appreciate good contemporary accommodation then this hotel is perfect. We had a two bed apartment that had lovely rooms including a modern kitchen diner. The bathroom even had a television screen you could watch whilst soaking in the bath! The hotel has a rather nice restaurant serving a la carte for dinner and breakfast was included in our tariff. We would most definitely go back and next time use the lovely spa!

Room Tip: Book an apartment if you want extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smokeyrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Service is excellent and nothing too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed with some nice touches (like tea and coffee making facilities that you don't always get in a top class Hotel). However room rates at £130 for a night are comparable to London rates. Now West Coker is nice, but I would not expect central London prices for a Hotel in Somerset.

The decor and finish is a nice mix of old and modern (if you like that sort of thing) and the gardens are lovely even in the depths of winter.

Room Tip: If you can get a deal (watch their website for last minute deals or special rates), then it's we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin and Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stay at lots of hotels around the country with work and I can honestly say this is one of the best I have had the pleasure of staying at! I was there last night and very sad to leave this morning.

Firstly, if you are a smoker like myself then ask for one of the rooms with a balcony - it has a table and chairs and an ashtray so no need to keep leaving the room to trek outside for a cigarette!

The hotel itself is boutique style and of a very high standard. I was amazed when my boss told me it was three star rated as it should be at least a 4. The decor is modern and the rooms are lovely - again, very modern complete with a docking station, good selection of channels on the TV and a fridge with some complimentary drinks.

The bed was wonderfully comfy with big fluffy pillows and the bathroom was big and bright with soft towels and a great power shower. There's a nice comfy dressing gown, ironing board and hair dryer and the room was very clean and decorated stylishly.

I always eat in my room being a lone traveler so I was delighted to be told there was no room service tray charge which meant I could order something nice from the menu that was within my limited budget! The choice of food was excellent and all reasonably priced. The food arrived quickly and was gorgeous, restaurant quality and well presented.

The staff were excellent - they couldn't do enough for you and I was greeted with a smile at all times. There was a great menu selection for breakfast as well as a table full of continental choices and the service was quick.

Again, this is the best place I have stayed in a long time and if I'm ever back in Somerset I'll be rushing back. Well done to the owners and keep up the fantastic work!

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samkatelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Well, we only live a mile or so down the road and have never visited for one reason or another.

Upon arriving the place was "buzzing" and it was only 19.45!

We ordered our drinks and from that point the service was amazing.

We were very well attended too and everything was 100%.

One of the few places remaining where you can really dress up and feel special.

The food was amazing and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pau1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Coker
4.3 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
8.1 km away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Yeovil Court Hotel
Yeovil Court Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
7.5 km away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanes Hotel

Property: Lanes Hotel
Address: High Street, West Coker, Yeovil BA22 9AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > West Coker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Coker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary boutique hotel in a traditional hamstone building. Beautiful grounds with friendly goats on their own island. Modern Brasserie restaurant. A Somerset cider list complements a well chosen wine list. Spa & gym. Perfect location for the Royal Navy Fleet Air Arm Museum as well as stopovers to and from Devon & Cornwall. Book direct at our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, LateRooms, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Lanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanes Hotel West Coker
Lanes Hotel Yeovil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing