We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch on a wet day”
Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Onekaka
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Brewery/bar/cafe/music venue Closed late July til early September
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

We stopped for lunch on a very wet day and there was plenty of outdoor seating under cover. The food was great - beef and black beer pie and quiche with fantastic salads, large nachos with awesome (homemade??) sour cream. Lovely whale pale ale. Kids ran riot.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Anton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselinn, Manager at Mussel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

So glad you noticed, and enjoyed, the sour cream. It's made in Golden Bay, using local milk from biologically farmed cows. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 486 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2018

We love the Mussel Inn - such a gem in Golden Bay. Fab food - simple but fresh and delicious. Great music - amazing staff who remembered our names every time we went in. You can't go to Golden Bay without visiting the Mussel Inn! You'd be crazy!!!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KiwiChic2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

We were really excited to have local beer and good fresh mussels! We at least got the beer, and some good food along with it. We were bummed that they were out of mussels, but the food was had was very nice.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shawnl583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

Visited with two children and it was super welcoming for kids. Cool tyre swing. Not so many things that our bubs would eat, but our other kid was happy with cheesy corn chips. We had falafel and mussels. Both couldn't be faulted. Quick service, given it was pretty busy. Not great for parking I suppose. Staff were friendly.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

Family of four for dinner - great place no mussels that night though! Excellent food and great staff with live music starting at 8:30. Without kids probably would have stayed on and partied all night - watch out for the local cop waiting fir diners to leave - fair enough too but we did see him breath testing patrons - not hard to think why. You will need a designated driver. The salmon was first class and the nachos had an edge - great experience

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Seatheworldover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

 
Collingwood, Golden Bay
 
Collingwood, Golden Bay
Collingwood, Golden Bay
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing