We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb meat”
Review of Don Rosario

Don Rosario
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Souda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 5, 2018

On our last night in Crete, we fancied a change from local food, and ended up with probably the best meal of our holiday. As a starter, we shared a portion of bucitini. It was huge and perfectly cooked. For the mains, we had different beef dishes. Both were superb - the presentation, composition and, above all, the almost buttery meat.

It was a nice change to have good chairs and table ware, and the staff were delightful

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brollop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario S, Direttore generale at Don Rosario, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018
Google Translation

Grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 192 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2018

This was our favorite meal while in Crete! We found out about this restaurant from someone we were talking to while waiting to board our ferry from Santorini to Mykonos. We are so happy we ended up talking to that person because this was a meal we will never forget. The portions are huge and everything was delicious. The patio dining created a great atmosphere. I would recommend this to anyone!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly3349_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario S, Direttore generale at Don Rosario, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018
Google Translation

Grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

The food and staff were excellent, we really enjoyed our lunch. The menu is not particularly kids friendly. The location is not very appealing and there were too many annoying bees.

Thank Alexandros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario S, Direttore generale at Don Rosario, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018
Google Translation

Da Noi oltre che una cucina salutare e piatti rigorosamente italiani, potete trascorrere la vs. permanenza in mezzo alla natura incontaminata. Grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant for a year now and it never gets old. I love all the Sicilian dishes available and they are all great! I recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family who have visited and everyone loves it. They are always friendly and welcoming. One of the many reasons i continue to go here. The restaurant does get busy but they have always provided great service and managed to attend to everyones needs. I HIGHLY recommend Don Rosario's to everyone!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

Well it used to be a good place to enjoy, but the last two times they confirmed that they don't care anymore. Business just for the money. You need to ask more than 2 times for what you already order, even if it is just a glass. The staff is unfriendly and very slowwwww. Due to bees they use smoke to keep them away, but also they provide cancer to customers with that smoke and of course you can't eat. Menu, they have 10 different wines but always they can provide you only 2-3 specific, because they lying into the menu. This restaurant took the fame from pasta, but in fact you can find many better restaurants with pasta in Chania

1  Thank luckyman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Rosario also viewed

Souda, Chania Prefecture
Kounoupidiana, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Souda, Chania Prefecture
 
Souda, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Don Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing