We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A brilliant cottage, location and host”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brockieside

Brockieside. (Perhaps from the Gaelic Broc which means Badger)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brockieside. (Perhaps from the Gaelic Broc which means Badger)
Brockieside from across the valley at Dullatur showing Tomtain above. Solid Beech Worktop, Sink and Utensils
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Brockieside. (Perhaps from the Gaelic Broc which means Badger)
Brockieside from across the valley at Dullatur showing Tomtain above.
Solid Beech Worktop, Sink and Utensils
Livingroom/Bedroom.
Living Room/Bedroom Showing fold down settee.
Antique Cast Iron Stove
Wee Waterfall in Colzium Estate.
Tak Ma Doon Road from Brockieside in Winter.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sally A
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant cottage, location and host”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was the perfect base for our attending the Commonwealth Games and we feel very privileged to have stayed there. The cottage was like a home from home and we had everything we could possibly need and more including fantastic views. Peter was the perfect host and nothing was too much trouble for him. Heeruh also gave a warm welcome on our arrival and came to say 'hello' every day. We hope to return again to enable us to explore the area more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton7...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to keep for yourself”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage satisfies your every need for a relaxing stay and to find the real Scotland. It is spotless, comfortable and very thoughtfully appointed with a well stocked cupboard to suit all your cooking needs. It is amazing as to what you don,t need to bring because it is there.
The location is everything, so near to Glasgow but all you see is rolling hills and all you hear is the owls.
Peter is perfect, very unobtrusively helpful. I have tried to think of a constructive criticism - I can,t nor will you, I promise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timbara
Brno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As owner as the cottage - both are pretty very scottish.”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing nature, lovely cottage, nice short distance to all famous sightseeings in Glasgow and Edinbourgh area. Nice warm welcome, all accomodation equipment you need and some more. Dog friendly place. The only sad thing - when you have to leave one day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie F
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 star!! Would reccomend!”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just home from our 3 day stay at Brockieside and have to say i had an excellent time! The cottage was kept clean and tidy to a high standard, and it had everything we needed! I have to say the speaker for some music was an extra bonus!! Peter was lovely and made sure that both me and my boyfriend were comfortable and had everything we needed. The views were stunning! I will definitely be back, had an amazing time and would definitely recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patto41
Denmark, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well located and comfortable.”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a fortnight and thoroughly enjoyed the cottage and surrounds. As long term travellers, we look for a comfortable bed, hot water and well equipped kitchen, we found them, and more. Peter was very helpful answering questions before we arrived and was on hand during our stay if needed. Heerah was a delight, greeting us as we returned home each day. We found Edinburgh and Glasgow a pleasant train trip, while Stirling and Loch Lomond were an easy drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A lot of thought has gone into providing guests needs
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina I
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This place nurtures the soul!”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

From the moment we enquired about the cottage availability to the morning when we sadly had to leave, our expectations were exceeded on all regards.
After booking the cottage Peter responded all my questions and offered generous advice on clothing, local means of locomotion, weather conditions, etc. A couple of days prior to our departure he e-mailed us a Happy Journey note. In retrospect, I believe this msg was the real beginning of an exceptional vacation because we felt appreciated as guests even before leaving home and reaching our destination.
When we arrived, Peter and Herruh welcomed us with such warmth and friendliness, that we never felt we were outcomers. We loved Heeruh from the very first moment and she made us feel as thought we were coming back to old friends. There were sweets and chocolate on the kitchen counter and fresh flowers in the next room, which topped off such jovial and kind welcome greetings.
The cottage was spic and span, inside and out. Everything was clean and bright. Peter demonstrates impeccable taste and creative space management talent. The cottage is intended for guests' utmost enjoyment and comfort. You will notice large spaces designed for storing suitcases and guests' belongings, besides the large closets in both rooms. The kitchen is equipped with everything one might need for cooking a real meal. And everything is spotless: oven, fridge, dishwasher, washer/dryer, pots and pans, mirrors, outside and inside windows. This is the cleanest cottage for rent we have ever slept in. At the entrance door you can find an umbrella and a flashlight, and there is a first aid essentials bag in the kitchen cabinet; we have never used any of these but their simple presence is so relevant to the owner's thoughtfulness. The bathroom upstairs is large and has an outside window towards the hill, same as the bedroom. Bath tub looks impeccable besides the fact that it is large, and there is a lot of storing space for bathroom accessories. Hot / cold water is available at all times, night and day. There is also a bathtub caddy for your convenience and a laundry basket to help you keep the bathroom and personal belongings organized. All these details show a sincere intention to accommodate guests' needs and help you feel at ease, unwind and enjoy the natural beauty of this place. Towels are impeccably white, the sheets are immaculate, fresh and high quality, and same thing I should say about the mattress. Sometimes vacation rentals owners decide to cut down the expenses by purchasing cheap mattresses, and you only find out when you get there and it's too late. This is NOT the case at Brockieside. The mattress is high quality for a comfortable night rest - the prerequisite for the next joyful day of discoveries. There is even an electric blanket for cold wintery nights. Water is filtered and tastes absolutely great, so you don't need to buy bottles. Actually you don't have to buy anything except for your food. For the rest, just bring with you zest for exploring, joy, love for nature and interest for history and Scottish spirit, and be prepared to be amazed.
The cottage is almost 2 miles up hill from Kilsyth downtown. It is comfortably close to markets and stores, but distant enough to give you the feeling of being far and away. It is advisable, first and foremost, to have a car at your convenience when staying there. Having chosen this cottage as your vacation rental, you would be rewarded with exceptional views toward both Edinburgh, Glasgow and everything in between. Sip your coffee or tea on a glorious morning in front of your door, or have a drink on a calm and clear evening, dive into this remarkable vista, and you will feel both lucky and lavishly inspired to explore. A short and easy hike on the hill will unveil a breathtaking 360* panorama that you might never forget. Don't miss your binoculars!
By its strategic location, Brockieside unfolds a long list of alternatives and choices for every taste and vacation style: it is close to Glasgow, Edinburgh, Stirling, to name just the most obvious ones. If you like old and beautiful towns, be it for lunch or a walk, you might want to consider Callander. Stirling is a beautiful place, few miles North from the cottage. While there don't forget to visit Stirling Castle - a 15th century marvel, and also Wallace Monument - standing bold and enduring time facing the castle. On coming back, you could pass by Battle of Bannockburn site and see the monument. Then, there is the natural beauty of Loch Lomond (remember the song?!) and dozens of other smaller accessible lochs, then Balmaha, Aberfeldey, Glencoe, the beach in Portencross area, and the list may further continue with places of fascinating beauty.
We were amazed by people's display of friendliness and kindness. There are numerous instances I could cite here as evidence, from the reactions we got from people on the street and in stores to the unreserved support that we received when we experienced a flat tire and had to enter the first front yard that we encountered. It is the Scottish nature and spirit that we affectionately respect and we feel connected to for life.
Peter, our host, is a genuinely welcoming, well intended and gracious human being. Always supportive, willing to help and very effective every time we faced issues that required us to call home or when we needed guidance. It would be impossible to imagine a more gifted, tactful, courteous, considerate and knowledgeable host. We arrived to Brockieside as guests and we left as friends and fans for life.
Peter, it's been our privilege to have met you. Thank you for your hospitality and companionship. The time we spent together, with you, Kim and Heeruh will always be regarded as a beautiful gift. Thank you for all your support and for making our vacation an unforgettable, rich and unique experience to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing that we disliked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eliane l
Le Havre, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a remote and peaceful cottage”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is ideally located at the top of a hill with beautiful vistas over 180 degrees. The cottage is spick and span, fully equipped. (We found there more than we expected and everything was well organised and laid out: It felt like home with internet connection, washing and drying machine, dishwasher, television set ....).
Peter, the owner, is a fantastic host , helpful but also respectful of our privacy . We recommend him to future visitors and wish them as much happiness as we had last July.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness of the place
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing