We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I’d been there longer!”

Jalapeno Eatery & Market
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Playa Negra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Costa Rican
Description: Familiar, friendly, fun and casual restaurant with a variety of fresh, local and organic .We serve delicious, fresh and healthy food. Our tortillas are rolled by hand with no lard or Manteca added. Our home-made hot sauce has become famous for its great flavors and a secret recipe of mixed species for our meats
Restaurant details
Description: Familiar, friendly, fun and casual restaurant with a variety of fresh, local and organic .We serve delicious, fresh and healthy food. Our tortillas are rolled by hand with no lard or Manteca added. Our home-made hot sauce has become famous for its great flavors and a secret recipe of mixed species for our meats
Reviewed January 24, 2018

First meal we were starving and tired from driving. Food was excellent. I had a quesadilla (like I’ve never had before) my daughter had a burrito. Next morning I had the American breakfast...crispy bacon and great hash browns!
We had smoothies which were wonderful. Next meal I went with the salad Mike recommend and was not disappointed....I missed out on the nachos which I’m still regretting. Overall no meal was a miss. Wonderful fresh food and great service. A definite do not miss if you are in the area. Thank you Mike for overlooking my tipping disasters . You and Keilyn are the best hosts! I’ll be back one day!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BertaB132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2018

This is hands down the best food I've had in Costa Rica, and maybe anywhere else. All of the food is high quality, fresh, delicious and prepared with intention and love.

Great vegetarian options and with awesome local coffee and fresh juices as well. Worth the drive to beautiful Playa Negra even if you aren't staying here!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

Whether you’re a first time or return visitor to this beach and surf area, you will know that some days you’d like to just have something a little special. We enjoyed and appreciated the great food (Burritos! Smoothies) and friendly staff and managers at this cafe. The dishes had an elegance to them and the place was spotless. I also picked us a pineapple and some coffee beans for our vacation home - all great quality. See you next time!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank ST-in-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018 via mobile

This place is a must go to when you're visiting Playa Avellanas and Playa Negra. Ended up going three different days because we were so impressed with our first meal. Everything was so fresh and tasteful! Will be sure to stop here again on our next visit!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Karissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful little restaurant. Service can be a bit slow, but well worth the wait for food this good! Be sure to try the Roasted Garlic Habanero hot sauce!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jalapeno Eatery & Market also viewed

Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo
 
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Jalapeno Eatery & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing