We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique cottage in an idyllic location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
186 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 186 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
KLM56
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique cottage in an idyllic location.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Granary - we could not fault the excellent amenities and the extra welcoming touches, such as milk and biscuits and a roaring fire to greet us on our arrival. The owners, Ruth and Ken have thought of everything to make our stay at Dukes Farm such a memorable experience.The location is stunning and the views from the property are fantasic in any weather. The area is steeped in history and there is so much to explore - Ruth's booklet on the history of Craswall is particularly interesting and informative. Although we were unable to walk Cat's Back Ridge because of the weather, there are no lack of walking opportunites both on the farm and surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33Bunny
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect holiday”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This was our third stay at Dukes farm, we just love it more and more each time, each cottage is superbly equipped with everything you could need, Ruth and Ken ( the owners) are so lovely and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them. The surrounding area is just stunning, English countryside at it's best. There are loads of interesting places to visit, all within easy reach by car, and there are some fabulous pub/restaurants nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Reviewed February 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole family enjoyed it because it was so lovely.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bishops Waltham, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 26, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Devon
Reviewed December 4, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ruth & Ken
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
johnsaltw...
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful celebration in a wonderful place”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Last week we celebrated our birthdays with 26 others (family and then friends) over a delightful week in this special place. I have not read the other reviews but my guess would be that they were all as bowled over by Dukes Farm as we all were. Alex walked the Cat’s Back four times though I only managed it three times (trifle and pavlova making being a priority) – so keen were we to show others the wonders of the surrounding countryside.

The conversions are really high quality creating lovely, comfortable spaces. They are very well equipped and the wood-burners are very efficient (as is the heat pump for the hot water and the under floor heating). The beds are great -and I normally have a problem with any but my own- and the bedding sumptuous. Swallow takes 8 (3 doubles and a twin) and Granary sleeps 5 (a double and double with an extra single bed). Both of these open onto the terrace with the fabulous view (and the BBQ). Across the yard is Goose – a charming downstairs room with the double bed on a mezzanine. All the properties have their own sitting area and kitchen. We took all three and the great news for a big party is that we comfortably got 15 around the table in Swallow and you could get more. The double oven range and too many pots and pans to count help make catering for the 15 a breeze.

We really enjoyed the Bridge Inn at Michaelchurch, walking the Cats Back and our visit to the Arts Centre/ Sculpture Park in Pandy. Trips to Hay and Ludlow and (on the way home) Goodrich Castle were received well too. Most of all we enjoyed the feeling of peace that pervaded the place and the simply stunning view that greets you from the living room before you even get to the terrace. We arrived in deep blue sunshine but even when it was cloudy we loved that view. And did I mention the trampoline and the Wendy House?

Anyone who is worried about taking a property where the owners are close need not fear. Ruth and Ken are both delightful people with a friendly energy and cheerfulness that spills over and nothing is too much trouble for them. We never felt overlooked: we only felt welcomed and helped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, quality of the space, warm welcome, ambiance
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick C
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning landscape, fabulous cottage, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The countryside in this area is just outrageously beautiful ,and the farm sits right in the lee of the Black Hill. The view looking towards it from the biggest of the three holiday houses is just breathtaking, but the view outwards from the hill itself almost defies description. Walkers and cyclists will be in 7th heaven. Out walking on a weekday in mid-September, it was as though I had this whole part of the Black mountains to myself (the wonderfully-named 'Earl of Hereford's Knob', is a must!). I had the smallest cottage, Goose Cott, and it was just faultless, everything provided, including a washing machine and dishwasher! There's a free supply of wood for the fantastic wood burning stove, as much as you need. Hosts Ken and Ruth were the epitome of discreet kindness, helpfulness and warmth, and the farm itself is an amazing building in its own right. A week here is balm for the soul in a troubled world. Should be available on the NHS, cannot recommend it highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surrounding landscape, walking, cycling, 32
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing