We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, idyllic just wonderful. Need I say more.”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
163 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 163 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert S
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, idyllic just wonderful. Need I say more.”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed here as part of a large group celebrating my good friends 30th birthday. Upon arrival, Ruth very quickly met us and showed us round. The accommodation was just delightful with a roaring fire having been set in the wood burner in the main barn for our arrival which was just lovely and such a nice touch.
It felt like everything had been thought of, right down to little touches like milk in the fridges and hand soap etc in the bathrooms. I just couldn't fault the welcome, accommodation, the charming setting, attention to detail, cleanliness and in particular how Ruth and Ken were. We had a good old party and it was pretty noisy, but it wasn't even a concern to Ruth and Ken. So welcoming and so good to be able to have a great time and a good party in such a wonderful place. I will definitely return, only this time I'd want to stay longer. Only 90 miles from home but it felt like a million miles away. Can't recommend Dukes Farm enough. You won't regret staying in any of the accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie T
Kent, uk
1 review
“Peace on earth.”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 for a stay in October 2012

What can I say about this place?! It really is peace on earth.
You do not have to do anything other than relax. I stayed in the Granary with my husband, and my Mum and Dad, and of course my wonderful Dog. We all had a lovely time. There are plenty of places to walk, and it is great that dogs are so welcome. The locals are really friendly and if you want to know anything regarding the area, then Ruth and Ken know it all. They are such a lovely couple and have made the place so attractive with the unique buildings. We have been twice now and are definitely booking again this year. The log fires in the rooms are also a added bonus. The views are out of this world. When I think about going back my heart sinks as it is just so peaceful and relaxing.
I would and have recommended this to everyone. Great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique accommodation, and wonderful views.
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reg w
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A memorable stay in a clean, well-equipped barn with great character and charm”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The beautiful views, shown on the owners' website, are even more spectacular when you walk out on to the verandah and look over the valley. Beds are wonderfully comfortable and shower-toilet rooms clean and modern, with ample hot water. Downstairs, above the sitting area, is a high vaulted space with large oak beams - full of character. The wood-burning stove kept us very warm: it is easy to use, with free logs provided. A substantial, well equipped kitchen provides an ideal setting for large family meals. There are lots of useful extras, such as maps, guides and DVDs, and also a washing machine. The owners, Ruth and Ken are friendly and extremely helpful.
I can't imagine a better place for a family party!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: internal spaciousness and splendid views
Liked least: you have to travel a couple of miles to get to a shop
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location.
Liked least: It rained for two days!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KLM56
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique cottage in an idyllic location.”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Granary - we could not fault the excellent amenities and the extra welcoming touches, such as milk and biscuits and a roaring fire to greet us on our arrival. The owners, Ruth and Ken have thought of everything to make our stay at Dukes Farm such a memorable experience.The location is stunning and the views from the property are fantasic in any weather. The area is steeped in history and there is so much to explore - Ruth's booklet on the history of Craswall is particularly interesting and informative. Although we were unable to walk Cat's Back Ridge because of the weather, there are no lack of walking opportunites both on the farm and surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33Bunny
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect holiday”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This was our third stay at Dukes farm, we just love it more and more each time, each cottage is superbly equipped with everything you could need, Ruth and Ken ( the owners) are so lovely and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them. The surrounding area is just stunning, English countryside at it's best. There are loads of interesting places to visit, all within easy reach by car, and there are some fabulous pub/restaurants nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$399
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing