We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, cosy and welcoming, we loved every...”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
192 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 192 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jill D
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, cosy and welcoming, we loved every minute of our stay.”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Ruth and Ken were most welcoming and the Swallow Barn was equipped with everything we needed for our long weekend stay, catering for a large number of people. The setting is exquisite and the we enjoyed walks around the farm, up the mountain, the games room and relaxing by the fire. We are already planning a trip for 2015. Many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Rural Retreat”
Reviewed November 21, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband and I along with our three dogs had a fabulous stay a The Goose Cotts, Dukes Farm. The accommodation was a home from home and had everything we needed. The log burner was fabulous and at this time of the year where dogs get a bit wet and muddy, after a towel down they appreciated the burner very much!! The views from Dukes Farm are fabulous, we explored most of the farm over our week stay but there are some wonderful places very close by to visit too. The dogs had a wonderful time, there are so many places to walk with your dogs and you have a whole 120 acres of farm to explore with them too. Ruth and Ken are wonderful hosts, extremely friendly and always there if we needed anything. Our neighbour recommended Dukes Farm as they regularly visit, so I am also making that recommendation to anyone reading this. We will definitely be returning in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, tranquility and the amazing views and walks.
Liked least: There is nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stimpsom
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Happy Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We chose Dukes Farm, on a personal recommendation, as the venue for an extended family birthday celebration. The Farm nestles into a hillside facing the Black Mountains, which looked stunning in their autumnal colours. We had spread ourselves across the Granary and the Swallow Barn, both of which were well equipped and full of rural charm.

The Swallow Barn has a large, open-plan kitchen/diner/living room - ideal for a big dinner party - while the Granary is more cosy.

We arrived on Friday evening following journey that was simpler than it looks on the map. Hosts Ruth and Ken were welcoming and ready with useful advice. They live on-site and were insistent that we knock on their door any time we needed their assistance. When we did, they were happy to help.

Three things that I recommend:
Walking from Duke's Farm up to the "Cat's Back" and back takes about 3 hours (depending how long you spend at the top) and is well worth the effort. The views are fantastic.
Although the cooking facilities are sophisticated, we hired local caterers Jan and Lin to prepare our celebration meal. They did us proud.
Ruth has written a fascinating history of the local area that is well worth reading while you are there (there is a copy in each of the barns) as its insights provide useful context for your visit.

There were a couple of breaks to our internet access, but once reported, they were dealt with promptly.

Everyone, young and old, in our party had a good time even though the weather was not great. When the sun shines, it must be difficult to find a better self-catering venue in the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - fantastic views from most windows
Liked least: No pub within walking distance
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolabean2...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tremendous Stay at Duke's Farm, We Never wanted to leave!”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My partner and our rumbustious collie Lola had a fantastic time exploring the Dukes Farm. The property is vast and beautiful it takes at least a day to explore.
If it's relaxing holiday you're looking for the cottages are so roomy and fully equipped with everything you could imagine right down to T.V trays for lazy days. The shower is huge and has awesome water pressure., I still miss it today! The bed is very comfy & a good size, the living room has a flat screen TV & wood burning stove with stacks of pre-cut wood. The kitchen area has Lot's of space especially since we booked the goose cottage for 2-3 people, we weren't expecting so much space and a kitchen with all the appliances plus olive oil and cooking oil. The weather was perfect for the first 3 days so we went climbing up the Cats Back which was beautiful and heavenly at the top! We also spent one day in Hay in Wye which is a really Kitch little town with lovely antique, charity, pubs and bookstores galore!! The town also had great organic foods, meats and cheese.
The times when weren't being active we could choose from there extensive video library in the Boot room or have a game on the full pool or ping pong tables in the Games room.
The owners Ruth and Ken are very helpful and charming and hugely accommodating, They have really put a lot of thought into people's stay with maps of walks available and the property has a lot of interesting history. I would highly recommend Families, Couples, Friends and definitely well behaved doggies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the cottage and hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W
Clifton, United Kingdom
1 review
“\perfect location”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Full family of 15 - grandparents, adult children and grandchildren - enjoyed memorable week. High quality fixtures and fittings,very comfortable beds and large playroom with pool,Table Tennis,table football and darts all contributing to easy ,relaxed week. Scooters available for youngsters. Hosts most helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend a visit.
Local supermarkets deliver so distance from shops not a problem. Wifi most useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 3 families were comfortable accomodated
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamCole8...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect accommodation, incredible location!”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

It’s impossible to say anything negative about Dukes Farm. The attention to detail, character, warm reception, delightful hosts and views are a must. It really is the perfect package! Cannot recommend highly enough, will be back!

Thank you Ruth and Ken

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nidanddub
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

just returned from another fabulous time at Dukes Farm Had a very special birthday to celebrate with family and friends and could think of nowhere more special than here.Ruth and Ken make you so welcome and the cottages are like home from home but with the touches of luxury you need. the barn is great for a large gathering with the marvellous views of the cats back ridge WE WILL RETURN

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about dukes farm is perfect for what we wanted
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing