We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect for a family break by the sea”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Light House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect for a family break by the sea”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We booked the light house for a week in June for our first family holiday with our 10 month old son and his grandparents. My sister and her fiancée also joined us for the weekend.

The property is very spacious and tastefully decorated, it's very flexible with its sleeping arrangements in that it has a lovely master bedroom with en-suite, a "twin" room which has zip link beds so can be made up to another double, a room with bunk beds to sleep two (and could fit adults if needed) and also a double sofa bed in the living room. There's also a travel cot available.

The kitchen and beautifully decked patio offer the perfect set up for dinner and family meals and there's also a barbecue and a fire pit included.

If the weathers poor there's plenty to do inside with an excellent large flat screen tv with freeview and PlayStation 3 (including blu ray player) with a collection of films.

Wifi is also available which is great so bring your laptop or ipad,

Camber offers an amazing beach which we walked over to most days, it's very close and only a couple of minutes walk away.

All in all the Light House is perfect for a family break by the sea, it's also perfect for groups of friends or extended family breaks.

I can highly recommend the light house. The whole process is seamless, the keys are easy to collect, communication is excellent and it really is a perfect holiday home.

I hope we can visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space for entertaining
Liked least: Only parking spaces for two cars however plenty of parking around the area.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janikvo
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage in the perfect location. Highly recommended!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at The Light House. The cottage is delightful. Furnished and equipped to the highest standards and extremely spacious. Plenty of room for the six of us.Lovely comfortable lounge with a huge TV and games/dvd player .Super kitchen /dining room, which opens out onto the decked garden area, complete with fire pit. All very dog friendly , as completely and securely fenced all around. Lots of room for eating al fresco and BBQ's. South facing so a real sun trap.
Just a few minutes walk through the Link Way over the beach car park, up the most amazing dunes and you're on the glorious beach. Two miles long and so dog friendly. Kobi absolutely loved it, running up and down the dunes and then across the massive beach to have a paddle in the sea. Great sand for building Sand Castles too.
Rye is lovely and we visited regularly as great restaurants, Tea rooms and of course .... shops. It has a very quaint feel to it, with cobbled streets and castle towers. We hope to be heading back down for another stay at The Light House very soon. Thank you Richard for all your help and advice and info' and for making sure our stay was just perfect in every way.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

What a fantastic cottage,tastefully decorated and very well equipped.Fantastic location and only minuites from the most wonderful dog friendly beach.The cottage has a lovely modern decor and has been decorated to the highest standard with no expense spared.the lounge is comfortable with a fantastic tv.The kitchen/dinner has everything you need with a Hugh table and lots of seating.Bedrooms are lovely with crisp clean bedlinen.It has a beautiful decked garden which is fully enclosed so is great for dogs.I cannot fault this cottage and would highly recommend to anyone.I would also like to mention Richard Smith the owner of this property who has been so helpful.Richards customer service is outstanding.Emails are replied to promptly with any questions answered and extra information he thinks you might need.He is always available and always happy to help with any queries you may have.Thank you Richard.Cannot wait to return to your lovely cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinterWan...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home.”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This really was the perfect place to spend our weekend. Spacious, clean, warm. Though not looking onto the beach, it was less a mere 3 minute walk.

Tea, coffee and milk all supplied as well as complimentary wine, home made biscuits, cloudy apple juice and proper coffee. Wonderful. The beds were so comfortable and the rooms silent. So relaxing!

And finally a mention must go to Richard from Beside The Sea Holidays who went out of his way to make us a tailor made itinerary to ensure we made the most of our stay. Wonderful. Will definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J
Baldock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Property in Perfect Location”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

My partner took me to the light house to celebrate my birthday in November last year (2013). It was a wonderful weekend and we both wished we had of booked for longer.

The Light House is an amazing holiday home; it is suitable for adults and families and is especially suitable for those who wish to travel with a dog. When we arrived the accommodation was immaculately clean and tidy, it included all mod cons and was a very pleasurable base to enjoy the sights of Camber and nearby Rye.

The accommodation had a very useful information booklet which my partner and I enjoyed reading over breakfast before we set off to find some of the hidden gems mentioned in it in the centre of Rye.

All in all this accommodation was of the highest quality and made for a very enjoyable stay. We would certainly think about going back but would probably look to do this in the warmer months; saying that, the walk along the beach on the Sunday morning was the perfect way to refresh after the few wines enjoyed over dinner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Whole Weekend
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fantastic house”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the light house. The property had every gadget you could imagine, the iPod dock is amazing and we watched a few films on the huge tv. The fire is great, where did you get it from? We ate out most nights, thank you for the recommendations, loved the Tuscan kitchen. The beach is great and rye really lovely

Look forward to staying again, thank you for all your help

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and great location for the beach & nearby restaurant”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The standard of the Lighthouse was really excellent. Very modern and homely, kitted out with everything you need. Lovely decking area and small garden too.

We stayed as a group of 6 friends and it was perfect for a long weekend away.

Good location, only 10 mins stroll to the beautiful Camber Sands and only 10 mins walk to the nearest restaurant, pub and convenience store. Only 10-15 mins taxi ride into Rye (about £12).

Excellent value for money. I would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern and cleanliness of the accommodation
Liked least: Bunk beds in the 3rd bedroom. Fine for kids but would have preferred single beds for adults. Quality of bunk beds was fine though and no problem for weekend stay, and overall still good value for money.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing