We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tauranga

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ms Beth L...
1 review
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely clean and organised house with very thoughtful owners. It was perfect for our few days away, thanks for having us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
It was a pleasure to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aboobaker...
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was a grand weekend away and we had the weather for it! Tauranga was absolutely brilliant, location wise right near the beach in Camber, 10 minute drive to Rye. Just the little things in the garage - Beach umbrellas, charcoal for BBQ etc. Cottage was very clean and spacious and the complex is very quiet and serene.. Would not hesitate to book this again!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Thank you very much for the great review of your stay at Tauranga.
Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place in a very peaceful and quiet neighbourhood”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this house, was perfect with a little child too. Great kitchen, clean, very well equipt house. Just a short walk to the amazing beach at Camber along with pubs and restaurants nearby. Would definitely reccomend it, and we hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage in great location”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed here with my wife and parents in September.
We found the cottage to be immaculate and very well equipped
I can't think of anything that was missing
The location is great for Camber Sands and a good location for exploring the surrounding area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for the review, it is very much appreciated.
Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morden Surrey
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay. We moved down to Camber to be able to offer all our guests a personal service and to be on hand for any issues that may crop up. We look forward to you returning soon. Sophie & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ShellC198...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Tauranga for a couple of days in December to escape the pre Christmas madness, and it was just what we needed.

There was a lovely welcome pack of cakes and goodies when we arrived and the house was so homely, we started to relax from the moment we unpacked.

The beach at Camber is fantastic, even on a dull day in December, can only imagine how great it must be in the summer.

We have never stayed at a house with such a well equipped kitchen! every utensil we needed and more! It was clean, warm and extremely comfortable.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding areas and we will certainly be making a return visit during the warmer months to explore more thoroughly.

Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of Tauranga, we are glad you enjoyed your pre-Christmas escape.

We are glad you felt that the kitchen was well equipped, it is something we aim at as we know that guests want to feel as at home as possible when they come to stay.

The beach is glorious all year round but we do hope you come back to stay again in the Spring/Summer as you get a different perspective on the area in the sunshine, as stunning as it still is in the winter months.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bull20142...
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
“Superb location for families (and dogs)”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our second visit to Camber Sands and Tauranga. It proved to be another thoroughly enjoyable holiday, particularly as this holiday home also welcomes dogs.

Camber beach is within walking distance. Section B is open to dogs during the summer months. Some of the major attractions, such as Battle Abbey and Dover Castle, are also dog-friendly.

The house had everything we needed. Larger families (we are only three plus a Labrador) should probably opt for one of the larger properties within the portfolio of holiday homes. I think it is probably perfect for four people sharing.

If you need a larger supermarket, we would recommend the Sainsbury's Sedlescombe Road store north of Hastings (McDonald's is next door if you have to bribe the children before/after visiting some of the cultural attractions in the area).

Children: Lydd is approx. 20 minutes away by car for karting. Additionally, you might like to look up Action Watersports in Lydd for various activities (not cheap, but worth a visit).

Another point: the process of booking Tauranga online was very efficient, and the response time is excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: England is not cheap - but then you will probably be aware of that before you visit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing