We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,609 results
Traveller rating
791
528
173
71
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
791
528
173
71
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant with rooms camber sands deck room sand dunes beach hut english wines lamb dungeness wine list opposite the beach small room boutique hotel tea and cake local produce granola south coast cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 1,609 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Stayed in a Baby Hampton room which was tiny and rather shabby, especially the bathroom. The bathroom was only separated from the bedroom by an internal window so absolutely no privacy. Very noisy from the hotel corridor on one side and the car park on the other. Dogs in the expensive restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RogueRodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Had a fantastic Sunday lunch with friends and stayed the night just me and the dog ....

2 suggestions please:

Sort out your wine chilling (was presented twice with warm-ish white wine)
Sort out the manager who on Sunday evening told the waiter that it was OK to give me a bottle of warm wine - In front of me, while he was on his mobile phone - saying "That'll do."

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bexsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

I was completely blown away by my stay at The Gallivant. The accommodation, staff and overall service was exceptional! I can't recommend this place enough, the atmosphere, the quality of service and locally sourced food products was top notch. This is how it should be done. Keep up the good work, I know I'll definitely be back to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Loupavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017

You have to just cross the road from The Gallivant to enjoy the stunning Camber Sands. The rooms are on the small side but light and beautifully clean. The restaurant was superb for both breakfast and dinner. A highlight was the most amazingly extensive range of English wines.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017

This is a lovely hotel with small but comfortable rooms, very friendly/helpful staff and a great location for the beach. Food was generally good although wines a little expensive. The 4o/c tea and cake for residents is a nice touch.
This is a dog friendly hotel, however, we did not hear any barking during our stay. Be aware dogs are permitted in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L2719BUterryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews