We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harbour Lights

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Samantha...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I recently stayed at 'Harbour lights' with my parents, sister and dog - and was absolutely delighted with the cottage and location. The cottage is well equipped, spacious and clean and had everything we could've needed for our stay. The wine and cake on arrival was also a very nice touch. The location is fantastic, we were a short walk to the beach and went visited multiple times per day to take the dog on a walk across the dunes and for a paddle in the sea, which she absolutely loved. For pet owners it is an absolute treat and I think my pomchi will certainly miss her lovely beach walks.

Rye is also a short drive and we went for dinner a couple of times, the George Grill do an amazing steak and great wine, the Standard Inn was also a highlight for its delicious burger (my sister said it was the best she has tasted and at 18 she loves a burger!) and the fish and chips were also second to none. Im not sure I have tasted chips quite so good before!
We also found the Mermaid café a lovely spot for lunch - their homemade sausage rolls are to die for and the Ship Innoffers outdoor seating for food/drinks for a dog friendly venue.

Another highlight of our trip was the wine tasting and Vineyard tour at Chapel Down, which was a 20 minute drive to the cottage, again we had a great day, the sun was shining and the wine was certainly flowing!! We tried about 8/9 different wines and came away with a few bottles of their English Rose Sparkling Wine and Nectar wine.

All in all we had a great time and would highly recommend a visit! We will certainly be looking to book again next year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review, we are really pleased you had a lovely stay. Rye is certainly a foodie's heaven as you found out and its good to hear you managed to sample some of the fantastic wine produced in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you all back next year when your pomchi is ready for some more beach fun! Richard, Sophie, Arthur & Oscar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLM45
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

"Harbour Lights" is a lovely house in a lovely location. We had a perfect week. The property was beautifully coordinated, and had every luxury. The kitchen was particularly well appointed. It was great to have such a property which allowed our dog to come too. Gypsy enjoyed her holiday. The beach, dunes and Rye Nature Reserve were well trodden during our stay. We found The Green Owl in Camber, and Simply Italian in Rye most welcoming. Glorious weather just topped off a perfect week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well equipped, spacious house, close to the beach.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Harbour Lights. John was there to welcome us and give us lots of local info. The welcome basket of goodies was a lovely touch. The house is extremely well equipped and furnished and spotlessly clean upon arrival. The beach was fabulous and very dog friendly, our Hungarian Vizsla, Leo loved it and would happily wander off in the dunes, returning occasionally to check we were alright. He would endlessly chase seagulls and oyster catchers ensuring he was well and truly tired out at the end of the day. The beach is also brilliant for children, the soft sand , the undulating dunes provided endless fun and games. As mentioned by previous guests, Camber itself is a bit disappointing but don't let that put you off, near by Rye was lovely with lots of nice eateries. On a rainy morning we tried Ashford outlet village about 25 mins away, worth a visit if you like shopping. Bodiam Castle is also a nice day out, dogs allowed in the park but not the castle. Would love to return as there is still lots to see and do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped spacious house
Liked least: Mattress a little too firm for me
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William B
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Harbour Lights, seaside gem”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Harbour Lights is a comfortable, extraordinarily well appointed seaside getaway. The beds are comfortable and the linens crisp. It is well above standard for a vacation rental. It includes a generous welcome package of wine and coffee. It's even pet friendly. Harbor Lights provides easy access to the dunes and sandy beach at Camber Sands. It's the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
Brmingham
1 review
“Great House, Great Beach”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

House is really nice, everything you need to have a relaxing and comfortable stay. As previous reviews have mentioned much of the furniture and linen is John Lewis or Next so it is at a high standard. Beach is only 5mins walk away and this is one of the best beaches I have been on, perfect for children and dogs.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisacreag...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house! Perfect location!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent two weeks at Harbour Lights in August with lots of family coming and going. The house is roomy and bright with all beautiful John Lewis beds, sheets, towels, furniture. The beds - so comfortable!! In one of the two twin rooms, the beds seem bigger, making it more suitable for adults. The other room has smaller beds, more suitable for children. The travel cot has an ingenious higher level for smaller children that meant we didn't get the usual back ache and the high chair is, like everything else in the house, lovely quality. The Wii was a big thrill for the kids and kept a 5 and 10 yr old occupied when they weren't at the beach. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, so parent who like to cook will be very happy. The house has lots of nice thoughtful touches, such as beach chairs to take with you, night lights for sitting out, a wonderful bush full of butterflies outside and a great expresso maker! All in all it's pretty hard to fault. It's a little unusual to not have long written instructions and at times we missed them a bit but there's a concierge service which is excellent. We had three or four visits, sometimes within minutes of texting a question and the concierge was so incredibly helpful and nice it really made a difference to our stay - so no written instructions were needed after all!!
We had a brilliant time and are thinking hard about next year! I'd strongly recommend Harbour Lights to anyone looking for a house in Camber.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheets! So soft!!
Liked least: The lighting in the bathrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Harbour Lights”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a great time in Camber for the second year running. The house was absolutely perfect for us. The property was immaculate; nice kitchen breakfast room, great pressure in the shower which is a must, large living room with the DVD and Wii which kept the kids happy and the garden perfect for sitting out in the evening. The location was also ideal with nice restaurants close by if we didnt want to venture out and the beach only a few minutes away. We were given great advice and had a great day catching the steam train from Tenterden to Bodiam Castle. All in all a great holiday and we could not recommend it more. We will be back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, shower, location, cleanliness
Liked least: Its was all fine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing