We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extremely comfortable little house by the sea”
other travellers have booked this property
The high quality of this cottage is reflected in the crisp white bed linen and soft fluffy towels.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The high quality of this cottage is reflected in the crisp white bed linen and soft fluffy towels.
Rock Lobster holiday cottage, just a few minutes' walk from the miles of sandy beach at Camber Sands There is space for 4 to dine comfortably at the dining table.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
The high quality of this cottage is reflected in the crisp white bed linen and soft fluffy towels.
Rock Lobster holiday cottage, just a few minutes' walk from the miles of sandy beach at Camber Sands
There is space for 4 to dine comfortably at the dining table.
High quality toiletries are provided for guests use.
The cosy lounge opens onto the garden, idea for families and guests with dogs.
The enclosed private garden has plenty of space for al fresco dining and BBQs as well as playing.
The modern kitchen is well equipped.
You will be welcomed by our concierge service with fresh scones and homemade jam.
The seaside theme is carried thought the cottage with taste and sophistication.
The star fish bedroom can be made as a kingsize or two singles. There is also room for a cot or two.
We provide stair gates, cots, highchairs and loads more for little ones ... just ask!
We are proud of our 4* Gold Award from Enjoy England.
Rock Lobster has parking for two cars right outside the front door.
Dogs are always welcome at Rock Lobster. We have our own springer Chloe who loves the beach.
Rock Lobster is located on the award winning Whitesand development close to the beach.
Church Square in Rye, a picture perfect ancient town just 3 miles away.
Ypres Castle in Rye, one of many attractions within a few miles of Rock Lobster.
Mermaid Street in Rye (3 miles away) is one of the prettiest cobbled streets in the UK.
Exploring the narrow streets and alleyways of Rye is one of life's pleasures.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness.
Dungeness a baron landscape but a great place to explore - much loved by photographers and artists.
The 'little train' - The Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway - a great family day out.
Bodiam Castle, one of many National Trust properties within a short drive of Camber Sands.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Julie W
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable little house by the sea”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed at Rock lobster with my teenage daughters and three dogs for a week. Normally when you go away with dogs you end up staying in an old play with mismatched furniture which always seems to have a slight smell so this new modern house made a great change!
Clean, comfortable and well equipped it was the perfect setting for a get away by the sea.
Just a short walk from a lovely long sandy beach which the dogs were allowed on.
Would recommend this cottage to anyone (even has high chairs/steamers etc. for the little ones) would look at staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, modern, well equipped
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2014
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take special care to ensure that our cottages are kept in tip top condition and take extra time to clean after dogs have stayed (that is why we charge an extra £20 for a booking with dogs). We think everyone appreciates staying in a beautiful and clean cottage whether with dogs or without. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelQ1
2 reviews
“Gorgeous Cottage in Great Location!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My partner & I stayed at Rock Lobster for two nights to celebrate my birthday, we were greeted by John who was incredibly friendly/helpful and made us feel welcome!
The cottage was beautifully kept, clean and in such a fantastic location, just a stones throw from the beach.
We bought our dog along and we're so pleased to see that the garden was dog friendly and had no place for her to escape (she has a habit of going out to explore!)
We were even left a welcome gift of scones & homemade jam, a lovely extra! Would recommend to all, a lovely stay, thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2014
It is always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay and I'm pleased your dog enjoyed exploring the garden and the beach too. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy L
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend & perfect holiday home ...........”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just spent the weekend at Rock Lobster with my man & 2 french bulldogs & we all had the best time ..... Carol the owner was so helpful prior to the stay , the met by John who told us of local dog friendly places, short routes to the beach & was generally great ! We were lucky enough to have a cold but sunny weekend on the beautiful beach & antique shops of Rye. Couldnt recommend this cottage enough, perfect home from home with beach on the doorstep . xx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect break with our toddler son”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A real home away from home - I have fond memories of whole summers spent at Camber Sands as a child and couldnt wait to give our small son similar memories. Rock Lobster was perfect - we felt instantly at home. The decor was similar to our own home infact and my son was very happy climbing into the ercol chair to cuddle the resident snuggly owl!

Well thought out child-friendly features - there were top and bottom stair gates and even sippy cups and plastic bowls ready in the cupboards and a comfy high chair in the under stairs cupboard.

Lovely comfy beds, a brilliant outdoor area and barbecue which we made use of. Was really impressed that there was a cupboard with toddler toys in the living room and even a shed in the outdoor area with buckets and spades for our use. The arrival crusty bread, milk and delicious home made marmalade was a lovely touch - Alovely idea that you could take it home although we actually ate the whole jar during our stay it was so popular!

Really friendly chap who gave us the key and showed us around. Sorry I have forgotten your name!

Will hope to return next year with my own Mum and Dad in tow so we can relive some family memories whilst making new ones.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having so much toddler friendly items supplied
Liked least: going home at the end of our stay!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Our "friendly chap" who meets and greets all our guests is called John. He does a fantastic job, welcoming everybody and being on hand throughout their stay to help out with any problems or give advice. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnyW
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed at the Rock Lobster with my partner and our dog - we hadn't really taken in how close the beach was, how gorgeous it was (beautiful sand, gentle pools formed by tides for safe dog/child swimming), amazing sand dunes to stare at the sea from with a picnic, dog friendly beach one side (and non dog side the other), and a number of great eating places nearby that - you guessed it - allow dogs (for 'allow' read 'spoil') in certain areas. Sorry and then there is the accommodation itself - first the friendliest concierge in the world (John), then a super clean, well-equipped house, with lots of lovely touches and info to help you make the most of your time. Had a fantastic time here, would definitely come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful, tasteful house
Liked least: umm the postcode didn't show up in my satnav - though maybe i needed to update my maps??
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trudysbea...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, lovely, lovely.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The Rock Lobster was beautifully presented, comfortable and wonderfully clean. I would recommend a stay here to anyone. The beaches are fab, wide and perfect for dog walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia A
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great week away”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We've just returned from a week away at Rock Lobster and had a great time. Our 5 year old was sent some goodies beforehand by 'Oscar the Owl' which built his excitement, and he was overjoyed to 'meet him' upon our arrival (Oscar ended up on every outing with us for the rest of the week!). We were met at the house by John from the concierge service who was very friendly and helpful. The house was super clean. Great location, 5 min walk to the beach. Dogs are welcome on a large part of the beach, which was clean and tidy when we visited most evenings. A short drive to some lovely shops and pubs in Rye. We also spent a few days in Hastings, where there is plenty to do and see for young children. Carol the owner has been really efficient and helpful, responding to any queries promptly. Our son received a postcard from Oscar the day after we returned home thanking him for taking care of him which was a really sweet idea, and so he is already nagging us to return soon! Little touches such as this make it an ideal UK holiday for families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your holiday. It is so nice to hear that our guests have had such a super time and the the effort our cleaners, our concierge service and we put in has helped to make your holiday so special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$202
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing