We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornwall at its very best”
Review of Downs Barn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Buryan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Downs Barn Farm
Ranked #2 of 8 St Buryan B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cornwall at its very best”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is certainly the best B&B we have stayed at. The room was spotless, very well furnished and the bed was ever so comfortable. The welcome from Carolyn and her dogs really made our stay perfect. Carolyn was always attentive and able to help us with any questions we had on the local area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Do yourself two favors: (1) Take a bit of a trek off the beaten path and explore Cornwall, and (2) stay at Downs Barn Farm. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We are getting to be fairly veteran travellers and our experience at Downs Farm ranks among the best. Carolyn is a warm, lovely hostess and we enjoyed meeting the rest of her beautiful family. To give you an idea of their service to their patrons, when my GPS would not work properly, they lent me their own one. Staying with them was like visiting extended family. Our room (St. Loy) was soooo comfortable and inviting. Breakfasts were substantial and delicious. The setting - close to Penzance, but in a beautiful, rural location - made for a very restful stay. We are dog lovers and Carolyn encouraged us to take their dogs for as walk - we had a memorable stroll with Rolo as it started to shower. Lands End, Minack Theater, Mousehole, St. Michael's Mt. - it's all close by. With only two rooms, be sure to book early - you'll really enjoy yourselves!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

What a treat to find such a welcoming and luxurious B&B so close to the Minack Theatre. Carolyn and her 3 adorable dogs made us feel at home immediately. On arrival, we were served a delicious home made cream tea in the cosy separate lounge. We stayed in the lovely St Loy room, with crisp white bed linen, a heavenly comfortable bed and lots of stylish finishing touches. Our en-suite bathroom was fabulous with a large claw-footed double-ended bath and separate shower cubicle. The locally sourced breakfast was superb. We enjoyed chatting to the other guests around the large dining table and were spoiled for choice with the menu. A very comfortable and immaculately clean home, providing first class service in a lovely relaxed atmosphere...thank you Carolyn, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jungley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Downs Barn Farm is easy to find, but is away from the main road, making it very peaceful. It is close to some stunning coastal scenery, with or without a car. Nanjizal Room has an extremely comfortable bed and the room is large, bright, fresh, airy, clean and is thoroughly wholesome. The view from the window looks to the sea and the Wolf Rock Lighthouse, quite a treat if you live inland. The accompanying ensuite has a tingling-fresh shower and abundant toiletries. It is all such a pleasure to use and enjoy, either to go downstairs and tuck into a feast of a breakfast that will sustain you for most of the day - all beautifully presented by Carolyn, or to retire to bed at the end of the day and feel safe and secure. Feeling safe and secure is important to me, being a solo traveller. Carolyn and the family's pooches are what make Downs Barn so extra special - the friendliest and most endearing dogs you will ever meet and the kindest and most hospitable hostess you will ever meet. The welcome is very genuine and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Downs Barn Farm to others. It is my only choice in West Cornwall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trumpton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

from the moment you arrive to the moment that you leave you could not wish for more.
Carolyn and the labs are there to greet and to offer tea and scones.We stayed in the St Loy room.This has an en-suite bathroom complete with roll top bath (keeps the ladies happy)The room was spotless and had eveything that you needed for your stay.Help and information was there you only have to ask.I could write a couple of hundred words on the breakfast.But it is enough to say that there is something to cover anyones taste.(Lunch was not required after the breakfast)
In short we look forward to going again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dikymint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Returned home yesterday from a 3 night stay at Downs Barn Farm and can't wait to go back again. On arrival we received the most friendly greeting ever received at a B&B or hotel accommodation from Carolyn and her 3 gorgeous dogs. Our room, which overlooked the garden and farm with a view to the sea, was fabulous. Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and with everything in it you could possibly need for a 2 week stay let alone a short break ! I never sleep well in a strange bed but I certainly did in this one - the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. In the morning we shared a large table for breakfast with two other lovely guests. There was a Gold Certificate for the breakfasts on display - this was more than deserved. Huge choice, fruits, cereals, juices and cooked breakfast locally sourced. We even had potatoes straight out of the farm soil. Really filling and delicious !
We are now searching our diaries to pick a date when we can go back again. Carolyn, you really deserve every award and certificate that you have been given. Wonderful host and home, beautiful dogs and amusing husband ! ! ! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyinKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Downs Barn Farm. We chose to stay at Downs Barn as we were attending a concert close by at the Minack Theatre on the Friday night. We arrived at the B&B to be greeted by Carolyn and 3 very friendly dogs. Very quickly Carolyn had us settled in and refreshed with a pot of tea and home baked scones with jam and Cornish Clotted Cream. Delicious!
Everything about our stay was excellent. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We stayed in the St Loy room which had a huge bathroom with a roll top bath. The bedroom had views across the countryside, right out to the coast. Carolyn had provided just about everything you could possibly want in a room, along with lots of very thoughtful extras. Our bed was so comfortable I slept better than I do at home in my own bed. We did wonder if we would be woken early, given that the farm is a working farm - but it was beautifully peaceful both nights of our stay.
On top of the high quality accommodation, Carolyn provided us with fantastic breakfasts, including fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals and our choice of a range of cooked breakfasts. Both mornings we had the traditional cooked breakfast which consisted of lovely locally sourced ingredients - all of which were wonderful. We also shared breakfast with the other (very pleasant) guests , as we were fed at the large family dining table. This made for a nice sociable experience, as we shared our experiences of our days out and about in Cornwall.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Downs Barn Farm, and can't recommend it highly enough. Carolyn is a naturally gracious hostess, who made our stay as good as it could possibly be. Just one tip, if you are booking at Downs Barn Farm, either give Carolyn a call, or email her directly - rather than using an online booking service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank generalinternetstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Buryan
6.8 km away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
488 reviews
4.0 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
51 reviews
5.6 km away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
5.0 km away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#22 of 83 in Penzance
127 reviews
5.6 km away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 83 in Penzance
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downs Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downs Barn Farm

Property: Downs Barn Farm
Address: St Buryan | Penzance, St Buryan TR19 6DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Buryan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Buryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Downs Barn Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to relax and unwind. Our five star gold award winning bed and breakfast and luxury self–catering cottages have lots of thoughtful touches that will make your stay something special. Our beautifully presented accommodation, attention to detail and our wish for you to have a memorable holiday are of the utmost importance to us.Our cottage style farmhouse with two 5 star Gold Award en–suite bedrooms are the height of comfort. Many of our guests come back time and time again to enjoy the surroundings and to indulge themselves with our delicious award winning breakfasts.If you would like the freedom of self–catering then our two newly converted holiday cottages are a delightful addition to what we can offer you, being spacious and light with lots of glass and contemporary interiors. Add to this the glorious views across fields to the sea sparkling in the distance and you have the perfect holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing