We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nostalgic trip”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tolpedn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gulval, Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter D
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“nostalgic trip”
Reviewed September 18, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The 4th time we have stayed here in the last 3 years. Great value for money and the owner Karen is the hostess with the mostess - her welcome pack great as long as you ignore the calories in the clotted cream etc. !! I think there may be dampness issues but nothing too serious in September. The on site Kenegie Manor has definitely gone downhill since last year. The meals used to be good value. This year they were less than average and the staff did not seem able to cope. Still a handy on site bar and the swimming pool is fine. The cottage is great for visiting the area but the roads in Gulval are narrow and dangerous (I had a lady run into my back on a blind bend). Just drive with caution. It is too far from Penzance to walk in and it would be dangerous to do so. Despite all that, if you want value for money this is the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2018
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to welcome you back again.
Tolpedn is not directly part of Kenegie Manor however i will pass on your comments to the management team regarding the meals, thank you for your opinion, it is appreciated especially with regular visitors to the park and Tolpedn cottage.
The dampness issue has already been spotted and is being sorted as we speak,any problem normally shows itself at this time of year, and i fully agree with you as regards driving with caution along many of the small Cornish roads, including the one through Gulval.
It was lovely to meet you, and I do hope to welcome you again in the near future, thank you once more for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roysiddle
Newlyn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tolpedn Heaven”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My daughter son and grandchildren were staying here whilst down in Cornwall for our wedding day. I booked 4 different premises for family on kenegie manor so that they could all be together which worked very well.
The cottage is very well equipped and in Karen has the perfect host, great communication and a welcome pack over and above expectation.
There were chocolates, flowers, a cream tea, tea coffee and biscuits, milk and also strawberries and cream in the fridge.. Wow!
They had a wonderful stay and we won't have any qualms about booking again in the future.
Wonderful, thanks Karen

Regards Roy and Tracy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, it was lovely to meet your family and would love to welcome you all again on your next trip down to Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulms123
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would recommend this Cottage.”
Reviewed May 30, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Both my wife and myself have just spent a week in the cottage. On arrival we were greeted with a lovely plate of fresh scones, jam,clotted cream and milk in the fridge. You just know that you are going to enjoy your holiday. The condition of the cottage and all that you would require was outstanding. You can see that the lady who owns the cottage takes pride in it and this is obvious to all who have stayed there.
Overall it was a week we both thoroughly enjoyed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay. im glad you enjoyed the cottage and looking forward to hopefully meeting you again on your next trip down to Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 19, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 May 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bruce P
1 review
“Great stay, clean and well maintained”
Reviewed May 17, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

As perfect as usual, excellent quality for price and you are made to feel very welcome.

We used the accommodation as a base whilst we visited a recording studio in st just

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2018
Thank you for your review, was good to have you return to Tolpedn. Hope to hear from you again soon on your next trip down this way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Reviewed December 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review, lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and I would love to welcome you again on your next visit to Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara F
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

It was very good. I enjoyed myself and so did my family. It was very homely and we felt like we could relax. Also the location was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review, would love to welcome you again when your next in Cornwall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing