We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It gets no better than this.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dalegarth, Buckden

'Dalegarth', Buckden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Dalegarth', Buckden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
'Dalegarth', Buckden
'Dalegarth' kitchen
'Dalegarth' house bathroom (incl. sauna room)
'Dalegarth' view of Upper Wharfedale from balcony
'Dalegarth' up-Dale balcony view in winter
'Buckden', Upper Wharfedale, below Buckden Pike
Wharfedale Hay Meadows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Buckden, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Mal Odoro...
northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“It gets no better than this.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Stayed at The Ghyll which is one of the cottages owned by David and Susan. It is about 40 yards from The Buck Inn up the lane. The view from the back is stunning-looking up a the surround hills. The cottage itself has been designed for people with disabilities and is just perfect. It is beautifully maintained and very comfortable and having sky it is no problem if the weather is not great.Luckily we had great days. The bathroom is also a wetroom and has all facilities to make it perfect for anyone with difficulties(and anyone else). The bed is big enough for 4 people!! Though in my opinion no changes are needed Susan says she is renewing the kitchen soon so no doubt will be even better-if possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2013
You were most generous in your comments and we are very grateful. We know that holidays are precious - and accommodation can make or mar them - and we're delighted that you clearly felt 'at home' and able to enjoy the Dales experience.

Warm regards,

Susan & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Reviewed November 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walks in the countryside and the country pubs
Liked least: the rainy days!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Dec 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Whenever a guest 'repeats' their visit it is taken as a great compliment by ourselves and, hopefully, offers confidence to others.

Warm regards

David & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable accomadation,and wonderful views.
Liked least: There was nothing that we didn't like about it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
It's so rewarding to receive reviews from Guests who have stayed at, and appreciated, our cottages - all the more so when they intend to return. Thank you so much for showing confidence in us and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards

David and Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lewis g
sutton coldfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a holiday the whole family looks forward too every year”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

a great holiday, with the cottages situated in a perfect location to explore the dales. lovely overall atmosphere and would recommend to all, and the family have been back 6 times now, and look forward to our return each year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a home from home, perfect location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Thank you for submitting a review; we do appreciate all your comments. There are many locations to choose from in the Dales and when guests return to us so frequently, we take it as a great compliment - "thank you".

Warm regards

David and Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W
Mount Vernon, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location and cottages for groups who love history and walking”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is our fourth trip to the Dales when we have used the cottages owned and superbly managed by David and Susan. From the moment you book a cottage to the time you leave they are perfect hosts who can't do enough to make your holiday a success. our group of 12 walkers have used all of their cottages. All of them have been spotless with very comfortable beds, well equipped kitchens, good heating systems, great showers and even a sauna in 2 of the cottages. The setting is perfect overlooking the River Wharf with sheep in the streamside meadows and wide open moorland right above. It is wonderful to go to living area each morning and see the scenery and what type of weather the day will bring.
As a walking group this location is ideal. walks abound directly from Buckden, but Malham, Littondale, Arnscliffe, Hawes are a short drive away as are Bolton Castle, Bolton Abbey and Middleham. fabulous walks with historical overtones. Then at lunch time and in the evenings there is an abundance of good and inexpensive local pubs to enjoy.
We have been twice when the weather was less than perfect and it really doesn't matter that much. There are walks for all weathers and it is easy to dry your wet weather gear in the cottages. We sincerely hope to come again next September

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2012
Susan and I are most grateful that you have taken the time and interest to submit a Review. Similarly, we are delighted to know that your stay proved a success. Please accept our sincere "Thank you". We can only hope that your kind words - and wonderful descriptions of features in this beautiful Yorkshire Dales location - might lead you to return one day. Warm regards to you all - and 'Au revoir' - from David and Susan Lusted; Dalegarth & The Ghyll Holiday Cottages, Buckden, North Yorkshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazza_11
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our little slice of the dales & a beautiful cottage to boot!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at No 4 Dalegarth in July for 1 week, and despite the weather we had a fantastic time, the cleanliness of the cottage was spot on, as there was only two of us, we had the upstairs bedroom with the en-suite, and the double bed is so comfy, This was our second visit to the cottages, (we stayed at no 10 in February) There is a steam room downstairs and a further bathroom should you need it. Love the fireplaces too. The birds and wildlife are a must, and are right on your doorstep, hooded crows, , gold finches, green finches, linnets dippers ( yes dippers) and the red woodpecker, we even had a cheeky little rabbit having a nosey at what used to be the swimming pool, this is no longer in use, but nevertheless these cottages are superb. We were hoping to go back in September but unfortunately our little dog is not well, and we dont think he would be able to do the walks that he has done in the past. We walked up Buckden Pike, Fabulous views from the top. We also walked over to Starbotton and Kettlewell, (no the rain did not put us off) The Buck Inn has now re-opened and serves some fabulous meals ( although they are a bit pricey but worth it) We also drove to Hawes, Leyburn and Masham. David and Susan are the perfect host and hostess, and nothing is too much trouble for them, thank you to both of you for a fabulous stay, and we will certainly be back next year.( hopefully in feb. - can't wait ) (pics of some of our stay have been attached)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2012
Thank you so much for sending a Review; we regard holidays as precious times and so, when a Guest chooses to return to us it shows more than mere trust, but is taken as a sincerely appreciated compliment. Please know that we are most grateful for your kind words - and we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future. Our warm regards. David and Susan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wharfedal...
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Exceptional cottages and what a location!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Have lost count of the number of times we have stayed at The Ghyll & Dalegarth, the cottages are exceptional- very comfortable, spotlessly clean, with high quality decor and furnishings; they all have stunning views of this beautiful Dale. The owners- David & Susan are so friendly, helpful and kind,they are remarkable people and the facilties for the disabled at The Ghyll are first-class.

Wonderful walking country, great pubs and places to eat locally, (including Yorkshire afternoon and high teas) There's an amazing variety of places to visit in all seasons and for all ages.
The village of Buckden is idyllic; the villagers are very welcoming and we love it there!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2012
Thank you for taking so much time to submit a Review; we are delighted that the cottages have 'worked' for you. We have lived at Dalegarth for 32 years and built The Ghyll 26 years ago - yet never have we taken the beauty of Buckden and its surroundings, or Upper Wharfedale in general, for granted. It is a real pleasure and privilege for us to be able to share it with our Guests - and all the more so when someone with a mobility difficulty can enjoy their holiday with confidence. " Thank you". Our warm regards. Susan and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing