We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed in Feb at this hotel, hoping for a 5* experience. In honesty, I felt the overall feel was top 4* for the following reasons:
Furniture in the room was tired, needed updating.
Room was no way near as large as the other water villa we had on a different island.
The air con constantly leaked water which dripped down the slanted celing and dribbled down onto a single chair which seemed to have been strategically placed there - the system itself was so noisy it kept me awake.
Little touches that you expect in 5* - the guest comment form from the last guest was still in the room, despite me placing in out on the bed and in view, it was never taken/replaced.
Dirty plate from villa next to ours was left outside the door (and right next to our door) for over 24 hours.
Water villa (second to top category) were only semi detached so felt much less private than other resorts where they are totally separate.
Service in the pizza bar was very very slow!

Good points - bathroom was lovely, fantastic, huge bath and separate shower with great views. lots of lovely towels, regularly changed. Nice shampoo/conditioner- very big range!
Bed was very large comfortable, nicely made up and overall room looked very attractive.
Food was great, really good quality, beautifully presented. Staff in Latitude (especailly Hussein) were lovely and very kind/helpful/polite.
Island was very small, private, you didn't see people all the time so it felt peaceful.
Laundry service was excellent, super quick and very cheap compared to other places.
ideal if you can't walk far, as the island is very small and easy to get around.
Lovely clear sea and snorkelling right off the villas.

The hotel was expensive, and to be honest, I would not come back at that price. I stayed at another resort in the same 2 weeks which was also 5* (similar price) and the other one was better. If the hotel had a refresh and reworked the pricing, it would be much more appealing. I would say it's a very good 4*.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    178
    46
    13
    9
See reviews for
204
647
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

It was our honeymoon! I cannot think of a better resort to have spent my honeymoon in.
Very comfortable, cosy, cleaned twice a day, elegant rooms, wonderful and spacious bathroom and a lovely deck, as we were in a Premium Indulgence Water Villa, and the photos in the website are true. It's marvellous. The resort is small, completely adequate for those who value peace in one of the most beautiful place in the world. The SPA is great, excellent massages and treatments, lovely pool, a lot of water sports and the snorkelling is fantastic, as the colourful fishes are astonishing and the stingrays that come to the beach everyday by 5:00.
The food is the best, I could eat a different dish everyday and still haven’t had the opportunity to try them all. We went with the All Inclusive package, and for us it was the way to go, if you go only with the full board you’ll have to pay for the drinks and I believe it will cost you. Besides if you go All Inclusive, they offer you a Sunset Trip, and some other perks.
But what makes the major difference is that the people are fantastic, the service is exquisite, and they go out of their way to keep you happy. Just an example, the barman in our first night there asked us what us our favourite song, which he didn’t have, so he got it and everyday he would asks us to give him another song that was important for us and played it, every time we went in the bar. These people made our honey moon, the best holiday ever!
GO and you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Lia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

For frequent travellers to the Maldives, this is a relatively small but very well-run & friendly island. Outside of all inclusive, feels pricey, but the standard of cusine was always excellent (Thanks, Chef - Richard) and the dive school (Hello Marcus, Scott, Jennifer & Kanae!) welcoming for all standards of competence.
Very cosmopolitan, no 'Brits abroad' mentality but as the majority of guests come to be married / are on honeymoon, it can be quiet.
Hand feeding the Sting Rays at 5pm daily is a must, as is the night dive on the house wreck, where you 'hand' feed the large Groupers!
Taj hotels are really trying hard to make your stay trouble free & as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms 201 - 204 Deluxe Beach Villas are nearest to the generator. Water Villas 130-131 and the Nirv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

It's been a 6 months since our honeymoon but after reading some of the not so good reviews we felt we wanted to write this one. The island itself was stunning and the perfect place for our honeymoon. The staff were amazing and could not do enough for you . The food was first class so was the rooms.Every single member of staff spoke even if was just good morning etc on passing. It was worth every single penny but go all inclusive as the food is expensive but worth it.all in all there nothing bad we could say about it or the staff. We think it was better than 5 star.it was sad to leave the island as it was so perfect.

Room Tip: Loved our deluxe beach villa at the side of the ocean.but go all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rose1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Most important, EXCELLENT service. Managers, waiters, bartenders all of them were extremely helpful and friendly. We had a comfortable boat waiting for us at the airport to take us back to our hotel. Took about 45mins i think.
The room was comfortably sized (very spacious bathroom) with the most stunning view. Also, since the hotel is on the smaller side we loved the privateness it offered.
One of the few hotels that sits on a coral reef so we had abundance of sea life right outside our room. If you are as lucky as we are you will get to swim with some baby sharks! But dont be scared they are just reef sharks and not dangerous for the most part! Or so we heard and hoped!
Must get the water villa's if you choose this hotel.
The poolside pizzeria had really good food, as did most of the hotel. Even though you are stranded on this island and only have two places to eat at, the wide variety and different cuisines offered keeps you happy. We only repeated the pizza at two meals, and that was only because we loved it so much! Plus we are vegetarian! So most of you will have more options on the menu than we did!
We also used their romantic shack for a romantic moon-lit dinner one night, yummy food, complete privacy and perfect weather (a little too windy actually)
It was my first time diving and i couldnt have asked for a better place. The diving instructor was so friendly and nice and his great sense of humor only added to the experience. If you choose Vivanta, you will be able to enjoy the hotels very own shipwreck that houses one of the most magical underwater fishlife. People from other hotels take special boats to come and dive here!
The Jiva Spa was one of the best spa's ive been too, the massuese were experts (my husband and me are massage fiends and ensure we get one WHEREVER we travel) and this was still up there as one of the better massages we've had.
Jellyfish feeding - i hear alot of hotels have this, everyday at 5pm about 25-30 Jellyfish visit the hotel (ON THE DOT!) to get fed. Its an amazing experience.

Downside:
-wished it had an outdoor pool on our personal deck.
-wished the water villa's had a little bit more privacy because once you jump out into the water its very easy to look into other peoples rooms, everyone respected eachothers privacy so it wasnt an issue but something i had to note here.

Room Tip: Pick the water villa for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This island is not as great as it is made out to be. Accomodation is distinctly 4 Star although pricing is 5 star. Food, wine and all activities are expensive and the staff are mostly Indian, although very friendly and efficient. If you want a 5 Star Island then try somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaunCollinsEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon. The service, accommodation, scenery and food were terrific. Management and staff went the extra mile to accommodate all of our requests and made a very special holiday perfect! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For privacy chose the deluxe water villas. We were very happy with this choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hembadhu
30.8 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,719 reviews
5.9 km away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,080 reviews
25.3 km away
OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli
OBLU by Atmosphere at Helengeli
#1 of 1 in Helengeli Island
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,509 reviews
28.0 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,455 reviews
36.0 km away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Property: Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Address: Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hembadhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIVANTA BY TAJ. A FRESH NEW WAY TO HOLIDAY.Vivanta By Taj - Coral Reef, Maldives has all the exotic ocean views and dramatic sunsets that are de rigueur for any tropical holiday. The twist comes when you step into your villa and instead of the usual beach dcor, find a streamlined, sophisticated take on resort accommodations. Vivanta by Taj has revamped the resort experience from stem to stern and offers the ideal escape at a stunning value proposition. Divers, beach bunnies, and honeymooners - we welcome you. After you descend into Male airport, a luxury speedboat spirits you and your luggage away to Hembadhu Island, where you arrive at Vivanta by Taj - Coral Reef. The resort is a diver's dream destination with numerous diving sites and it's very own 1000 year old coral-reef and shipwreck to explore. For those that prefer to stay on land, the view of the lagoon dotted with water villas is hypnotic. No matter where you travelled from, your world is about to become filled with white sand and magnificent coconut palms. Let Vivanta by Taj introduce you to bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hotel Hembadhu
Taj Coral Reef Hotel
Hotel Taj Coral Reef
Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Taj Coral Reef Resort Maldives
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hembadhu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing