We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Belle Motel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Great location for going to the beach as well as the climb of Mount Maunganui. The shops are also very close by (5 minutes) to walk to as well. The apartments are very well appointed and very clean. The staff is very friendly too. Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vineet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017

This hotel was perfectly located for exploring around the area and walking to the beach, restaurants, or the Mount. It was clean and the staff friendly. There was plenty of space, but the rooms weren't overly large. It was nice to have a dedicated parking spot as well.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

I really enjoyed the one night I stayed at the Mission Belle. The reception person was friendly and helpful. The studio was more than I expected . a lovely living room and kitchen and well appointed bedroom and spotless bathroom. The location was amazing ... just steps away from the mount, beaches, good restaurants, the main shopping street, and the InterCity bus stop. I really wished I had had more time in Mount Maunganui and at the motel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiCDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

The Mission Belle is centrally located and very clean. That’s the good news. Bad news is the rooms are tiny, even the Queen Suite Upgrade wasn’t big enough for my husband and myself. There was no soap in my room. Not hand soap, not shower soap, not dish soap. I complained when I checked out and the owner shrugged and said that his staff was at fault. Really pissed me off. Dude, you are the owner. It’s YOUR fault.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank CeeBeeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Motel relatively clean - but compact rooms. Friendly staff. The complimentary beverages were a bit sparse - we were there for two days. We had a room adjacent to restaruants so was a bit noisy at night. Biggest problem for us was the soft bed and pillows.

Room Tip: Rooms by the restaruants noisy - ask for a room on the righthand side of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MB16216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Really great reception. We just needed a mid-trip break before heading home after three weeks overseas and this motel was exactly the ticket! The room was very clean and efficiently laid out. The location is fantastic - just a minute walk to the main road with a great choice of eateries. The local fish & chip shop was brilliant after all the exotic food we've got through.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathieoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed with my teenage son for a nights stay in school holidays. Nate was her welcoming. Family room wonderful and so clean and tidy. Wished we had stayed another night. Handy walking distance to shops and beach. Will stay again definitely!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Larelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
0.4 km away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#9 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
4.5 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,171 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
142 reviews
0.6 km away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
11 reviews
1.8 km away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Belle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Belle Motel

Address: Corner Victoria Road and Pacific Avenue | Mount Manuganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $155 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mission Belle Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mission Belle is a family run motel in Mount Maunganui (Mauao). The Belle's hosts are Cathy and Ray who came over from England in 2008 and fell in love with the place as soon as they saw it. One of their favourite countries in the world is Spain and because it reminded them so much of the spanish buildings they were used on the coast it seemed to be the perfect scenario - a little piece of Spain in New Zealand - what more could they want??!! Unfortunately it wasn't available for them to own at that time but as soon as it came on the market, they snapped it up! They've been in the motel since December 2011 and have so far loved every minute of it. There is a sizable barbeque area and various seating areas dotted around the property, with or without shade and they have improved on the landscaping. The rooms were originally decorated with a "spanish' feel about them (hence the name) and now Cathy and Ray feel that updating the rooms is high on the agenda of plans that they have for the place. It is ideally located, close to all amenities that the Mount has to offer - fantastic cafes, amazing restaurants, and the beautiful stores that are all very appealing. With only a couple of minutes walk to the quiet Pilot Bay beach and a five minute walk to the main beach, there really is no need of a pool! Having said that, the Hot Pools are at the base of Mauao and are easily accessible with a ten to fifteen minute walk from the Belle. A beautiful walk around Mauao where you can take in some fantastic sights, or a more energetic or if preferred, a slow climb up to the summit will be an effort well rewarded with the magnificent views over the town and the sights of Tauranga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mission Belle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing