We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Jim and Lorraine were great hosts, the breakfast was beautiful, the room was clean and well furnished, the guest lounge has a great seaview. I cannot think of anything that could be improved - this place is perfect as is.

Room Tip: I saw two of the three rooms - the Rimu was a little bigger but the queen size room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

We had never stayed at a B&B before, so we weren't sure what to expect, but Jim & Lorraine were fantastic hosts. Their motto is "enter as guests, leave as friends" and they certainly lived up to that! They upgraded our room for no extra charge, everything was perfectly clean, and the breakfast was wonderfully delicious & made to order. Their recommendation for a dinner restaurant was excellent too, and they offered us good advice on our next day's travels. Definitely the best night stay of our whole trip! Thanks again Jim & Lorraine!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Jim and Lorriane's B&B was fantastic. My only regret is that I was only with them a night. I enjoyed a warm welcome. The room was spotless and very comfortable. I was served a very generous breakfast (spoilt with juice, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, a latte, bacon, eggs and hash browns etc. Had to turn down toast, extra coffee, and other cooked options as simply couldn't fit it.) The guest area upstairs has an unbeatable seaview. Fantastic value for money. Really couldn't fault it! Thanks Jim and Lorraine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy_P_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Accomodation (Rimu room) and service/welcome were excellent.

Jim & Lorraine are very pleasnt and friendly, it was a pleasure to meet and stay with them.

Would definitely stay again...

Room Tip: The larger 'Rium' room is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveHealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

The view from the top floor lounge is such a treat for guests. The ocean/beach stretches as far as the eye can see and is virtually people free. Access is easy from the garden. Jim and Lorraine are great hosts. Breakfast is good and tea and biscuits are always available in the lounge; there is also a microwave and TV there. The rooms are comfortable and clean. One room, the Rimu room on the ground floor, is considerably larger than the others. We met other guests who did not want to leave! Quite a recommendation. Jim collected us from the bus station and duly returned us. It is a leisurely 45-60 minute walk along the beach to the Mount. This is a nice area with plenty of restaurants and clothes shops in the town.

Room Tip: Look at their website for details of Rimu room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venetianintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Jim and Lorraine are exceptional hosts being aware of your every need. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We stayed for 6 days and due to a prior booking from another guest we spent 3 days in the larger room and 3 in the smaller room, both on the ground floor. You won't be spending much time in your room so the smaller room is not a problem particularly as there is a top floor guest lounge with views of the ocean and where the delicious breakfast is served .We walked to the Mount / town each day; about 45mins. along the surf beach. There are a couple of eating places about 15 minutes walk away, otherwise you would need to walk/drive/bus/taxi into town at night to choose from the many good reataurants.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed here towards the end of 4 weeks in NZ and were getting just a little weary of travelling, packing, unpacking and so on. Fortunately Jim & Lorraine are great hosts and looked after us and left us feeling sorry we'd only stayed one night. Other people have commented on the great views from the top floor guest lounge (I think if I lived there I'd keep it for myself!). Bedrooms are on the ground floor and we stayed in the Rimu room which is the largest room. It has a large comfortable big bed and it was a pleasure to go to sleep with the windows open listening to the sounds of the sea. The room is spacious and also has a settee. I believe the other two rooms are smaller. Breakfast was plentiful and overall it was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.9 km away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
199 reviews
3.9 km away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
184 reviews
2.4 km away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Seascape Villa B&B
Seascape Villa B&B
#2 of 29 in Tauranga
183 reviews
5.1 km away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
1 km away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 21b Oceanbeach Road | Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $90 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location. Our modern sunny well appointed home has great sea views and is only 30 second’s from the beach. We are close to the action yet far enough away to be quiet. Our superb location makes a great start to a memorable holiday. We are here to help you to enjoy your stay and our locality. All 3 bedrooms have their own bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing