We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Limited Menu - No Vegetarian Options”
Review of The Old Victoria

The Old Victoria
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 6, 2018

The establishment sounds delightful - and has lots of potental - but I think it has gone through another revamp - we saw no evidence of anything that appeared to be a special Whisky Room or Champagne Room.
The great thing though - you can book on line !! The online booking form is quick and easy and has links to a menu (which is not on the main webpage). Checking that there were Veggie options available (one), we booked, sharing plates also looked interesting and had been reviewed favourably by others.
When we arrived we found only four items on the menu - no sharing plates - no vegetarian. Pasta with bacon, Salmon, Chicken Schnitzel and Pork Belly. Two desserts.
When we arrived we were the only diners but it took 45min for the meals to arrive.
The food was quite nice, though the salmon was quite small and not just pink but still completely raw in the middle.
Service was adequate and the prices reasonable though I think $24 for schintzel is a bit high.
The downsides the wooden chairs are really uncomfortable for old bums and the drinking crowd that had gathered at the tables and chairs out the front blocked all pathway access to the door. The smoke from their cigarettes was blowing into the dining room. We shut the door and told the staff why, but within 10min the doors was opened again.
Maybe once it settles down and there is evidence (hopefully on the website) of a more extensive menu we might give it another go - we'll take our own cushions :-)

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful old coach house carefully kept to retain times gone by. Treasures in every nook. Sensational accommodation for extremely unbelievable prices. Fantastic food. The charm of this place is worth a frequent visit. It was so nice to be able to sit and talk without screaming and competing against hard surfaces. Eileene is a wonderful hostess.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Debsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

Was staying in house and organised for the family to meet here for dinner.
The whole meal was faultless with Chef Aaron checking on us when time permitted.
Great bottle of wine and a couple of good single malts towards the end of the night.
All in all a very delightful evening.
Looking forward to my next visit.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank YambaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018

Autumn 2018 menu different to what was advertised online. No olives available when ordered a martini. Olives? I would think every restaurant would at least have a jar of olives. They offered a oyster shot (bloody Mary) with their oysters but could not accommodate the shot as they had no tomato juice??
The starter - beetroot dip was so spicy hot it was inedible. There was no mention of spice when advertised.
Entree - Pork Belly - very ordinary and no crackle.
Main - main thing on the plate was the bed of sweet potato - steak ok but certainly not top notch for fine dining.
Dessert - chocolate brownie - was floating in what looked like purchased custard.
Coconut Creme - looked and tasted like a breakfast cereal.
Wine was great and the only saving grace.
Very disappointed. Was looking forward to a night of fine dining which did not result.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

Housesitting for 4 months in Lorn, we wanted our Sydney visitors to have a great dining experience in the local area so first looked up our trusty Trip Advisor.

We chose The Old Victorian, a great regeneration of an original old Coach House by the delightful Eileen and her business partner James.

Upstairs renovations have brought five guest rooms to glory for parties of friends to stay and enjoy.

The four separate dining areas downstairs inside make a lovely option for family gatherings, or
friends to share an intimate dining experience with a small but varied menu to cater to all.

The accent on food is locally produced, organic where possible and healthy options. All meals chosen by our group were considered excellent.

We were blessed to enjoy the company of the owner Eileen at our table for a while while she happily talked of the plans and dreams to revive this lovely old space and provide excellent eating options in this area.

We will definitely be back to enjoy more of this great venue.

The small, intimate bar boasts many good craft beers plus a well run and fully stocked bar in the very capable hands of the cheerful barman, Dan.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank marilynp124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Victoria also viewed

 
Maitland, Greater Newcastle
 
East Maitland, Maitland
Maitland, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Old Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing