We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Build on a small cliff
With great view on the valley
Really nice rooms
Very polite staff although they don't speak good English not even in the reception
They have small cars like took took that Cary you from the parking to your room
You definitely need to have a car to stay in that hotel cause it Is 45 mins drive from chiang Mai !!!
On the way to the hotel you ll see all the chiang Mai attractions
Tiger kingdom
Monkeys
Elephant camp
Orchid farm
Botanic garden
Even...
Tribe village

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theodossis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    153
    48
    22
    18
See reviews for
127
249
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Here's a proper mountain getaway from the hustle and bustle of urban living. Sure they have amazing facilities, impeccable service, and quality dining, but what really stands out, is looking out over the misty mountains from your bed with nothing but the sounds of birds and crickets and the wind sweeping through the trees. Well designed jacuzzi villas offer splendid views and plenty of privacy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irvworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We recently visited Panviman and our daughter and grand-daughter joined us. It was 3 days of pure enchantment. Our grand-daughter lovedthe "secret passageways" throughout the resort. These little walkways were spread around, taking you from your room to the pool or spa or meditation caves. Our grand-daughter takes yoga and could not wait to have our picture taken while meditating. Her grandfather accomodated her with the picture. There was little else for children to do besides the cave, walking and the pool, That was one of our few disappointments. The bed was more than a bit hard and the floors were squeeky, but everything else was fantastic. The pool was beautiful with many fountains and rock work. Both the adult pool, children's pool and spa. The views from every angle were amazing. The morning mist floating through the valley was enchanting as we sat and had our breakfast in the open air restaurant. A few more choices on the menu would be nice, because it was the only restaurant available, unless you took transportation outside the resort. The rooms were beautiful with flat screen TV and comfortable furnishings. The bathroom was beautiful with a vessel sink, large soaking tub and separate rain shower. The patio had relaxing furniture with views of the hillsides and valley and included the sounds of the tinkling bells of water buffalo grazing on the hillside. The staff was outstanding...always pleasant and helpful. A waiter went out of his way to take away the tears of our grand-daughter who had lost her "swizzle sticks" that she had been collecting from the many yummy watermelon shakes we had all been enjoying...he quickly found more for her. The charming little tuk tuks were always waiting to take us back to our room or if we needed one from our room, just a phone call away and a few mintures to wait. These little tuk tuks were hand painted and so sweet. Drivers were available for hire to take us on a variety of tours available. All in all..Panviman was a perfect get-away. Our only complaints would be the hard bed and squeeky floors and that there was not more for young children.

5 stars to Panviman...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popogonggong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

out of all hotels i have stayed at, this would have to be the best hotel ive stayed at. the views are magnificent. the staff are friendly and food at the restaurant was great and fairly well priced. they room we stayed in was the private pool villa which was fantastic and very secluded. this hotel is a must if you want someplace quiet but i close enough to all tour attraction like elephant show, monkey, tiger and extreme sport stuff. will stay again for sure

Room Tip: villa room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa n hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is located at the top of the mountain and the view is breathtaking. however, this hotel is only four years old and it is poorly maintained. you can see the furniture in the room are pretty old and first of all, we got blood stain on our bed sheet and it is disgusting!!! the english standard of the staff is generally bad. when we first arrived the staff explained the hotel to us but when i asked her about the shuttle bus, she can't explain, either my boyfriend and i don't understand what she was talking about. also when we checked out at 12pm, we told the front desk that our driver will come to pick us up at 3 and we may have lunch later,so we will settle the bill before we leave. an hour later, when we wandered around in the hotel and wanted to have a drink by the swimming pool. only 2 minutes after we sat down, the phone of the poolside restaurant rang and the staff said to us," the front desk asked you to pay now." i was fumed. what kind of service was that? no hotel rushed their customers to pay again and again when your suitcases were still in the lobby. i will not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel, i think going there for a drink and to enjoy the view is good enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Wow..... This place is so peaceful.... the grounds are beautiful and the whole setting is serene and magnificently beautiful. Our rooms (hotel - the cheapest) were wonderful, especially the deep bath. We spent most time in and by the Gardens and wondering around.... bliss. The spa was magnificent, too. Sometimes hard to find staff by the pool - but who cares? They arrived after a phone call. This resort is really beautiful! The meditation cave, botanic garden, and an excellent lobby. The room is so nice and cute with perfect facility. Staff is so friendly and helpful and excellent service minded. The breakfast is good; don’t forget to try jackfruit homemade jam.
You can see the gorgeous views of the swimming pool and the terraces of the hills from the lobby area. It was low peak season so it seemed that only few people were at the resort at times which was nice. We only discover during breakfast time that more people were staying in the resort. The rooms were clean and adequate but a smell of dump took some time to go away and only after opening the balcony doors.. We enjoyed the pool very much. We stayed in valleys view room. It was quite pricey but the experience was lovely. It was really peaceful and soothing. The resort had lots of steep slopes so they had cute little buggy vans which you can call whenever you needed to leave your room! The staff was all really friendly like most of the Hotels in Thailand.
A pity it rained quite a bit during our visit but nevertheless it was a wonderful end to our time in Chiang Mai!
Hotel Feature Tip:
- Make sure that room Wi-Fi is included in the price unless if you want to spend most time in the Lobby.
- If it happens to choose the promotion offer including free massage, lunch and dinner let people know in the restaurant that you want the fixed menu (Very Good), otherwise they will charge extra.
- Must make an effort to walk all over the resort once and not depend overly on the service van. You get the view of various exciting features in the resort. A good workout too.

“A must for people looking for a romantic and peaceful weekend”

Room Tip: The rooms were clean and adequate but a smell of dump, took some time to go away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APAPAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I got a 4-day stay for my birthday, and I had an amazing time.

Go to Panviman to RELAX, not to explore Chiang Mai or doing some tours.
* The rooms are absolutely stunning, with a shower and bath, beautiful furniture and perfect cleanliness. Balcony as big as a living room, and also furnished.
* Massages are a bit expensive, but truly relaxing. However, DO NOT TAKE THE SLIMMING MASSAGE. I had an allergical reaction on the chili cream, and my skin burnt like they had thrown boiling water on me. It was pure agony and I had to sit in the bath tube for 2 hours to cool down in cold water. Please protect yourself from that. I have to say that the manager came to our room to apoligize and offered free massages to make it up.
* The staff is so friendly, they even sang birthday songs to me and brought me a birthday cake. Here they know what true customer service is.
* Big swimming pool, felt like paradise.
* Food is delicious and pretty cheap. Finally my stomach calmed down after the average Thai food I ate before.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
23.9 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
18.7 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
485 reviews
16.0 km away
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
0.3 km away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 19 in Mae Rim
120 reviews
10.1 km away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort

Property: Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Address: 197/2 Moo 1 Tambol Pongyeang, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#2 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort is a secluded mountain resort set on 70 rai of pristine terrain in the Mae Rim valley, 30 km. from downtown Chiang Mai. While at the resort, guests will feel as though they have entered into a higher place of existence, The Thai word "Panviman" means, in fact," as if you are in heaven" The environs at Panviman are utterlly natural and you will find yourself surrounded by evergreen and teak trees, flower and vegetables grown in the area, a farming community, and hill tribe villagers. What's more, the resort is endowed with cool weather, a remote location and a relaxing atmosphere. Panviman s devided into two distinct areas- a Lanna style spa and an Ayudhaya-style resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing