We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
73
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
15
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big space excellent place thank you so much walking distance cape town maurizio supermarket tv airport beach host
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 88 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2015

I stayed here in Jan 2015 with my 19 yr old son. It was fantastic!!

Fabrizio [italian born] has been doing this a long time so knows what works for guests. We stayed in a stunning modern 2 bed both had en suites. We had an awesome lounge/tv area flat screen tv dining table and kitchen with everything we need microwave dishwasher appliances olive oil of course! Not that we needed the dishwasher the daily maid service is excellent and such a relief, we did not get disturbed at all they all came and went when we werent here. The free wifi was amazing of course as I cant do without that.

I am South African from Joburg and we were told by Fabrizio not to worry can even leave doors locked. Skeptical at first I it was freeing and very safe. There was a safe inside but I didnt even bother. Security is modern and u cannot get into the complex. The pool is warm. Fabrizio is wonderful, helpful and the perfect host.

The studio flat where we stayed the first night was also absolutely lovely too - Fabrizio did say he is putting in a flat screen tv as opposed to the small one there, which is needed, and a proper separator thingy betw the beds and the lounge - this can improve it but these are very minor things as it dies not affect the stay at all. But I would stay again in the 2 bed 2 ensuite corner one I simply loved it and my son loved having his own en suite. The italian family before me had 2 kids so that worked well for them too. The suites are all arranged around the pool so its a very small intimate compound.

Its close to cpt about 15min drive. Dont listen to the local capetonians they have no concept of time and think milnerton is further than other suburbs the other side of town. But I stayed in rondebosch in nov 2014 for wedding and it was further to get to central cpt - if not the same time!!The area is know to be windy but it we didnt find it to be that windy and the wind that was there didnt bother us unless we went to the beach [literally around the corner from Fabrizios house] and this is known to be surfers beach. I will definitely come again without a doubt. You will not go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: As I said above I loved the 2 bed 2 ensuite one better than the studio one. I couldnt see the others but they all modern lovely comfy white linen soft beds. So it will depend on yr budget and needs but overall you wont go wrong.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SandiaSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Superfriendly atmosphere, great service, 5 min walk to the beach with great views of the city (including Table Mountain) and also very close to an excellent MyCiti bus connection to Cape Town and neighbouring suburbs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RoselindeAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here for a few days and it was great. The location is right near the beach, accommodation is luxurious and great value for money. But what makes this place stand above all others is the outstanding customer service I received. We had an issue with our car rental (flat battery) and were due to pick up a different car the next day. After a busy day we arrived at Sunset Residence in a taxi having decided to deal with our car situation the following day. When we told Fabrizio our situation he took it upon himself to call the rental companies to sort it for us. He ended up giving me a lift to the airport to pick up our new car which he'd arranged for us to get early. He waited about an hour with me so I didn't get lost on the way back. This allowed us to make the most of the next day in Cape Town. I have never experienced such amazing customer service and thank Fabrizio and heartily recommend anyone to stay at Sunset Residence.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicky7989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed 10 nights at Sunset Residence early December 2013. I was very happy with the quality of the room. Housekeeping was perfect, and everything was just as agreed via emails before my arrival.
My host Fabrizio was extremely helpful and really made me feel like home. Since we share the same hobby (windsurfing) he was able to help me find the right locations to sail. Keeping my gear in a spacious garage was easy.
Neighbourhood is safe and quiet. The beach is within walking distance.
Markus Huhtinen
FIN-10
Joensuu, FINLAND

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Sunset Residence is a great place. It's close by the beach, perfect for surfers and excellent for discovering Cape Town with a simultaneous peaceful accommodation just a bit outside of the city.
It's very clean and the rooms are large with everything you need. Instead of the sea, you can also take a swim in the clean pool.
The owner is a very kind and helpful Italian guy, who you can ask for useful recommendations for SA and Cape Town. I would always love to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews