We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool 4 with seperate infant pool, sunbeds, showers and toilets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool 4 with seperate infant pool, sunbeds, showers and toilets
Part of view from very large south facing terrace with sun all day! Part of the very large south facing terrace with sun all day!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Pool 4 with seperate infant pool, sunbeds, showers and toilets
Part of view from very large south facing terrace with sun all day!
Part of the very large south facing terrace with sun all day!
Spacious lounge area with lovely sea view and access to the terrace area
Dining area for 6 set under a feature dome and access to the terrace and BBQ area
Dining area with view through to lounge area
Lounge area looking towards dining area and dome
View from the lounge area
Al fresco dining with a gorgeous panoramic view!
Lovely evenings out!
Fully equipped kitchen with small terrace area, ideal for drying your washing!
Master bedroom with lovely sea view and access to the terrace area
Master bedroom en-suite bathroom, twin sinks, full bath with shower over, wc and bidet
Part of the view outside the master bedroom
Second bedroom with fitted wardrobes and sea view!
Second bedroom with sea view!
Third bedroom with fitted wardrobes
Bathroom 2 - full bath with shower over, wc and bidet
Pool 1 with a separate childrens pool, showers, toilets and sun beds
Pool 2 with showers, toilets and sun beds
Pool 3 with a separate childrens pool, showers, toilets and sun beds
Front entrance to the complex
Royal Beach and Chiringuito in Calahonda
Las Lunas beach and Chiringuito in Calahonda showing part of the new Costa del Sol boardwalk
Local La Cala beach, Chiringuitos, sunbeds and watersports
One of the quaint, traditional backstreets in La Cala
La Cala Plaza by night
Local Cabopino beach, Chiringuitos, sunbeds and watersports
Andy's Chiringuito beach bar Capobino beach
Sun setting at Andy's Chiringuito beach bar Capobino
Local Cabopino Marina next to Cabopino beach with bars and restaurants
Local 'El Zoco' centre with pedestrianised bars and restaurants
Local 'El Zoco' centre with pedestrianised bars and restaurants
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy2390
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

we have just spent a week at La Vista. The apartment has everything that you will need. It is a peaceful location but very close to lots of things to do. The furnishings are very good quality and the beds were especially comfortable. The shower was more powerful than our shower at home which was lovely after the initial surprise.
Secure underground parking keeps your car cool and the lift takes you right to the front door.
The icing on the cake is the fabulous terrace where we spent a lot of our time basking in the sunshine, eating al fresco and watching the sun go down with a glass of wine...or 2.
We played golf and tennis both very close to the apartment. There are also numerous supermarkets, bars and restaurants all within a few minutes.
If you eat at miel y nata which is walking distance probably best not to have a starter. The portions are huge!
We would recommend a visit to Mijas where the views are stunning and there are some really quaint streets and interesting shops. You can even trot round the town in a horse and carriage for 20 euros (4 people) or ride a donkey... If you're feeling brave!
We loved the beach at La Cala de Mijas where there are sun beds and water activities if you're feeling energetic .
All in all a wonderful week with special thanks to Sharon the owner who made the booking process so easy and clear from start to finish.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Hi Tracy – Thank you for your lovely review, which I am sure potential guests will find very useful, especially around the locality of our apartment and the immediate vicinity, my apologies though, for despite recommending the Miel y Nata to you, I totally forgot to warn you of their ‘huge’ portion sizes, never mind though as you are definitely allowed to indulge on holiday!! We were very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay in our apartment and that once again, the terrace area did not fail to please! We had quite a few giggles between ourselves pre and post your stay but what will always put a smile on my face is the thought of your husband with his kitchen ‘bowel’, our attempts to ‘pull a Sheik’ and my last two words to you have to be ‘Marco – Polo’!! All the best and look forward to see you return – Kind regards, Sharon & Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek L
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous terrace and view”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The wrap around terrace was fabulous, great views down to the coast. The apartment was within a gated community and so nice and quiet. The area shared 4 pools, unfortunately when we were there only one was open but we had that to ourselves.
There was a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance.

The area is very picturesque and I would recommend hiring a car to get the best out of it.

Ronda is well worth a visit as is Nerja caves and town.

We had a great time and the apartment was fab.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrace
Liked least: Distance from nearest shops
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
Hi Derek - Thank you for also submitting a review! For anyone reading this review, it has been submitted by another member of the same party to the previous review. As you will have read, all the pools are now open again following the necessary maintenance encountered during your stay (sorry!). Glad you liked the local restaurants we told you about and also agree that Ronda and Nerja are well worth a visit too. As I have said to Mari - we would be delighted to see you return in the near future! All the best for now. Kind regards Sharon & Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariram24...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and relaxing with stunning views”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were greeted and taken to the apartment which was lovely and clean. It is very well equipped for a family holiday. The terrace is fantastic, as said by everyone before. The pools look great, there was only one open when we were there as it was early in the season but the kids braved the cold to swim a couple of days. We would definitely recommend a hire car to enjoy this holiday, as it slightly too far to walk into the main shopping area but there are a couple of restaurants and a bar within walking distance. The Calahonda walk is worth doing as the views at the top of the hill are superb. Sharon was a pleasure to deal with and we had no problems at all. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
Hi Mari - Thank you for your review and once again we are happy to hear that the terrace was a hit! and following our chat on your return, we were equally happy to hear that you had been very happy with the apartment too. It was really unfortunate that during your stay, 3 of the pools were closed for necessary maintenance (they are now open again!), also as the pools are not heated, the water temperatures will be lower during the lower season periods, heating up naturally as the seasons progress. I totally agree that as a self catering holiday the nearest large supermarket would test anyone having to carry large amounts of shopping and litres of water (not forgetting the alcohol!!)and why we do always recommend car hire but not just for shopping but for making the most of getting about and seeing all that is on offer along this wonderful coast. Also agree that the walk up to the 'fire house', that we recommend, is well worth doing for the views all along the coast in front of you and the mountains behind! Hoping to see you return some time in the future, all the best for now. Kind regards Sharon & Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Hello David & Judy - Thank you for submitting a review following your recent stay. We did discuss the TV reception following your return and agreed that it must have been a 'blip' as no other problems reported by other guests throughout the previous year and we ourselves had just spent 2 weeks in the apartment previous to yourselves and experienced no problems. For people viewing this and to be fully aware, UK satellite TV was switched off in Spain in February 2014 and the only way now to receive TV channels other than the local Spanish stations is by subscribing to local providers who then stream in selected channels via the internet. When streamed wirelessly, atmospheric changes can 'at times' buffer programmes as well as having other wireless connections i.e. laptops running at the same time as the TV. As much as this is a common problem throughout all of Spain since the satellite switch off, it does not happen that frequently! However going back to your review and as you pointed out when we had a chat following your return, the TV was not the main focus of your holiday, it did not spoil your holiday and you found all other aspects of our accommodation and its standard, to be very much to your liking and as your review states, you have already booked with us to return in November this year, which is always the best compliment we can get!! - thank you. We look forward to your return and will be in touch again in due course. Kind regards Sharon & Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Hi Brendan - Thank you for your review! It reconfirms what previous guests have commented upon about the quality and spaciousness of the apartment with its 'home from home' comforts and especially the lovely large terrace area which is enjoyed by all both day and night! Yes the pools are quiet and relaxing, yes the restaurants within walking distance are very good and yes, Calahonda itself has many other excellent and child friendly restaurants as you have now experienced! The fact that you have already booked another fortnight stay with us next summer, is the biggest compliment we can get (thank you!) and we do look forward to accommodating you and your family next year as one of our many returning guests! We will be in touch again in due course. Best wishes & kind regards, Sharon & Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mika L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in La Vista with family for two weeks in the end of August. The apartment is really nice and was perfect for us (3 adults and 2 kids). The area is in general really nice with some nice pools and clean surroundings.

I would say that a car is a must in this location, even though you can walk to the closest restaurants for example, you wont be walking to the grocery store, it´s basically a steep uphill road all the way from everywhere to the apartment, especially if you are staying with little kids. But having a car makes everything much easier, and the parking space is well located just a couple of steps from the elevator which then again goes right up front to the apartment door, so having a car makes everything much easier.

The apartment is nice with three bedrooms and a small kitchen, nice living room and a really great terrace. If you got really small kids the terrace might become a concern, but ones the kids are at sleep its great for the adults to sit and relax at the terrace. Since the terrace is so big you can easily hang clothes and towels to dry and they wont be in the way for using the terrace for relaxing at the same time. Only downside of having the sun shining to the terrace all day is that the floor gets so hot you can´t walk on it without slippers :)

Calahonda is a nice little town, but if you want to go to the beach we would recommend the Mijas beach rather than Calahondas own beach abt. 10 min. drive from the apartment, same goes for nightlife, most of the restaurants in Calahonda close quite "early" if you want to have a night out so you´ll be better of by taking a taxi to Mijas or Puerto Banus for example. But since Calahonda is pretty close to both you have many options for night life..

For places to visit in the nearby area I would recommend Mijas village up on the hills (abt. 20min drive from the apartment) really nice little village with donkey and horse rides, nice restaurants and cafes, souvenir shopping etc. Also the Biopark Zoo in Fuengirola is really nice, the Aquarium in Benalmadena on the other hand is a waste of time and money, not recommended, but the Cable Car ride up to Mount Calamorro in Benalmadena is great and a lot of fun ! Remeber to check the timetable for falcon shows etc. before going up though !

All and all a great vacation, and the La Vista apartment was really nice and perfect for our needs. I would recommend the place for anyone who doesn´t need hotel services such as cleaning, laundry etc. done for them, if you like to handle everything yourselves on a holiday, then this is truly a great place to stay in this area. :)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Hi Mika & family - Thank you for your review and your tips to readers are much appreciated! You are correct that Calahonda is more of a family resort with the focus being on family friendly restaurants and small bars as opposed to the busy resorts of Marbella, Banus, Fuengirola etc where bars and nightclubs can be open all night long! but for those seeking such entertainment, luckily Calahonda is only a very short distance away, so yes a great choice of night life available! We have always and continue to advice car hire to guests, not just to make the very most of their stay on the Costa del Sol with so many lovely places to visit, for those days to the beach with so much 'paraphernalia' to carry! and as you have pointed out, for the sheer convenience and ease of self catering purposes which a holiday in our apartment is all about! As with all previous guests I know you enjoyed the terrace space both day and night time and as parents with very young children, you were quite right to correctly supervise your children whilst out on the terrace just as you would on any balcony/terrace area! Your comment about how hot the terrace floor gets made me smile but reinforces that when we say it gets sun all day, we mean sun all day :-). I have really enjoyed all our communication together both pre and post your stay and we would be delighted to see you return again in the future! Best wishes and kind regards Sharon & Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Hi Karen & family - Thank you for submitting a review for us but mostly for the potential guests considering our apartment and who are reading these reviews, as comments, tips and advice from guests who have actually stayed with us, are very important in their final decision making! We did have e-mail communication between ourselves early on during your stay and you commented immediately on much you were "absolutely loving the apartment" and the review you have submitted, reconfirms this! As always, the terrace never fails to please and yes the pools don't get overcrowded even in August! It was a pleasure speaking with you on your return and the personal feedback you gave me and we look forward to seeing you return again in the future! Best wishes & kind regards, Sharon & Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing