We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique and special experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Treehouse entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Treehouse entrance
Master bedroom Cosy logburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Treehouse entrance
Master bedroom
Cosy logburner
Outdoor dining deck
View from treehouse south
Treehouse
Sleeping house
Red squirrels abound here
Fresh eggs on site
Balcony
Paddock area
Woodland path leading to Treehouse
Aerial view - treehouse & path in red
Floorplan
Cosy winter breaks
Perfect for Christmas ! Together with our other accom sleeps 15
Open all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tree house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whippingham, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola P
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A unique and special experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A beautiful spot hand built by the owners and perfectly set out with everything one could need with small children. Our 2 year old loved sleeping in her first bed and the owner's daughter who was babysitting diligently kept checking to make sure she had not fallen out. The grounds provide ample room for safe pottering about and table tennis kept the grown ups entertained. The log stove provided a super cosy atmosphere in the evenings and despite having booked a fabulous local pub it was very tempting not to leave at all. Fiona and Will are total super stars and were on hand to help us with the bits and pieces needed with small children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality ... we weren't expecting it to be so good! Amazing.
Liked least: Nothing - it was an all round success.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
annamhome...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Into the Woods exceeded all hopes & expectations”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I can only imagine how excited small children would be to stay here - the secret bedroom, the cosy bunks and the fantastic views of the woods from each window. But this ticks all the boxes for these grown ups too! The stresses & strains of work just disappeared as we enjoyed a pair of jays and and a pair of red squirrels give us a live floor show every breakfast; one squirrel became so tame it knocked on the french windows as if to say 'hurry up with the food!' We found our holiday here brought out the inner child & restored the balance as to what is important in life.
The pods are constructed to a very high standard and beautifully fitted out - the bed is so comfortable and the view is magical from up in the trees. Don't be put off by any negative thoughts about compost loos - this is a state of the art Swedish model and it's completely odourless. What's more we were so taken by the eco toiletries that we are going to use them from now on.
I'm sure it's lovely in the summer but we holidayed in October when the leaves were turning and everything looked so pretty. One evening we heard the fog horn booming in Cowes but we were so cosy, the wood burner was incredibly efficient so that we had to open the doors in order to cool down. Each morning the room would still be warm as we ate our breakfast - fresh eggs supplied by Fiona & Will's hens & ducks.
It was great to be free from tv, radio & any clocks - but wi-fi was there when wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of workmanship
Liked least: Bumping my head on the low door frame - but you do it only once!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
321GT
Berkshire uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and private”
Reviewed 16 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first stay in both the treehouse and the Isle of Wight. The treehouse itself is reached via a winding stone path, enclosed by beautiful growing bamboo. The treehouse is probably best described as two separate wooden lodges, built up on stilts into the surrounding mature trees.
The house overlooks a private open space, which is very peaceful and private and gives space for the children to run around. There is a lovely grove of living bamboo and rope swings in the trees.
The living area is well equipped and lots of children's games provided - Isle of Wight monopoly, perudo, head-bandz, trivial pursuit, yes/no game, cards etc.
There is also a wood burner, which we didn't get to use - mainly as the oven heated up the living area so much and the weather itself was warm. Outside there is a bbq and also a chimera so you can enjoy nights around a fire outside and watch the stars.
The sleeping pod was also very comfortable and space for a travel cot in the main bedroom. The other bedroom is best for children, with bunk beds and a secret sleeping area reached by some steep stairs - probably best for over 5s.
On arrival Fiona had left a lovely lemon drizzle cake and milk in the fridge and there are some good books about things to do in the area.
Probably the loo takes a little getting used to as it is a composting toilet - so what you do stays there and is heated up and mixed up by arms which rotate in the bowl itself.
The only other thing which you quickly get used to is the movement of the treehouse itself -which sways slightly in the wind.
The wifi access, which was a good connection, meant we could watch some of the Olympics on our laptop - although there are so many other things to do you won't miss TV.
All in all a lovely stay which went far too quickly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and privacy of the place - and the bamboo!
Liked least: The loo
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11978LM
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An absolutely delightful, unique place to stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I was taken to Into the Woods as a surprise so when we arrived at a little car park where I could see no buildings I was mystified - how delightful to then trundle through the trees along the path (with the luggage rack that is waiting at the car park) and see a pretty tree house in a secluded paddock!
It's actually pretty luxurious inside, sort of like the best camping experience ever! Everything is beautifully made and hand finished by the owners themselves who could not be more helpful - they even left a delicious birthday cake which was a lovely surprise.
There is tonnes to do on the island but you'll need to drive in order to stay here so bear that in mind when it comes to going out, although I'm, sure there are taxi's available.
I'll definitely be coming back and have already recommended it. It would be a great trip for those who have kids as it's such an adventure, and there is so much to entertain them you're bound to manage to get some peace & quiet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy - beautifully built
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, New York
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Such an exciting and different place to stay.
Liked least: A few teething problems, but we were the first guests and the hosts went out of their way to resolve everything asap
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$209
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing