We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pastoral Paradise”

Review of 1 Kings Cottage

Welcome to One King's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to One King's Cottage
View From The Garden The Conservatory at Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Welcome to One King's Cottage
View From The Garden
The Conservatory at Night
Lounge with Comfortable Settee & Woodburner
Kitchen
Kitchen Looking through to conservatory
Main Bedroom
Kitchen Woodburner
View from Parking Area
As You Arrive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whippingham, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leigh D
1 review
“Pastoral Paradise”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I have stayed here before but as I re-booked it seems fairly obvious I like the place.
Off the beaten route, surrounded by fields and woodland its simply stunning.
If you want to go off the grid (but not too far) its ideal.
A short drive from East Cowes it was clean and tidy everything worked. All being well I will hopefully book it again for next year's festival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank you Leigh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparky_bo...
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Purely delightful”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

From the time we arrived until the departure on our final day we were captivated by the sheer tranquility of the surroundings. 1 Kings Cottage surely is a gem of a place to stay. I would like to thank Iris and David for providing such a clean and well equipped home from home.
We recommend a walk down to the local beach when it is at low tide. We look forward to our next visit to the island and hope we get the chance to stay at kings cottage when we do. Bravo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeckieER
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic, well-equipped, peaceful little haven.”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful time here - it's a great spot for getting around the island. But more than that, it's a lovely property. It's so peaceful - no traffic noise at all and the only neighbours nearby were not heard. My youngster loved the garden, complete with space hoppers and trampoline, and we would heartily recommend this house to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire2...
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely country escape close to Osborne house”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Myself, my mum and my two children (13 and 5 years old) stayed here in May. We found it difficult to find the property (I thought it would be easy and mislaid the sent directions plus there was a digger parked on one of the paths leading up!) however, once we found it with help from iris, we fell in love with the house and the surroundings. The house (apart from its very non existent neighbour who we never seen or heard) was on its own surrounded by fields and had a huge garden surrounding it. It was so peaceful with lots of room for both of the kids who love the trampoline, swings and space hoppers, the owner had thoughtfully left a swing all set for us, we didn't end up using it but it was new still in packaging, I thought this was thoughtful. We also had milk and tea in the cupboards. The house itself is decorated how you'd imagine, very clean, neutral and cosy although a little cold later on at night, the bedrooms were usually very warm though. The owners were helpful if a little brisk, there was a slight confusion about linen money and the owner turned up unexpectedly to collect, a text would have been appreciated but it was fine.

There are shops all within a short driving distance and we felt the cottage to be good value, it does feel like your in the middle of nowhere which is lovely but at night felt a little lonely, we feel some bolts would have been good on the door leading from the kitchen to the conservatory just to make us feel a bit more secure during night times.

If you want to escape from it all in a clean, comfortable and lovely cottage with easy access to visit other attractions we would recommend coming here as we thought it was a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still The Best!”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A quick review update following our second visit and stay at Kings Cottage. Aug 2015.
The house and facilities are still in great condition and everything is well maintained.
The location really is special and it feels peaceful and private which helps you to unwind from a normally busy life.
The owners are really nice, helpful and approachable should you need anything.

We look forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Me12015
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

1 Kings Cottage was a very clean, well maintained, well equipped holiday cottage. It is ideally situated being well off the beaten track but only a few minutes from East Cowes town centre, the Red Funnel ferry port and of course very close to Osborne House. We spent many of our evenings relaxing in the comfortable conservatory either reading or watching the wildlife in the garden. All in all a lovely cottage in a perfect location. I would definitely recommend this cottage to all my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No central heating although there was a wood burner if required.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvermis...
United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely peaceful cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We rented Kings Cottage for two weeks in May. The cottage is bigger than it appears in the photos. Easily accomadates four adults our kids are 18 ,15, and it was fine. The owner has really thought about your holiday needs. We had no need to buy anything extra such as cups cutlery etc even hand soap was provided.
We will return to this cottage as we loved the quiet peaceful area.The cottage was very clean. If we had to come up with a negative, it would be that the cottage has no heating other than electric radiators. But these do work fine and we were warm enough. The main living room has a wood burning fire. This took us ages to get to grips with, the trick is that some of the logs provided are quite big. You need to start with kindling ,then medium logs then,later the larger ones if the fire is burning well enough. You will need to buy some medium logs to bridge the gap between kindling and the larger logs. We loved this cottage and would recommend it to our friends with out hesitation.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing