We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base for exploring the Island”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Barton Lodge

1 Barton Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1 Barton Lodge
Kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
1 Barton Lodge
Kitchen
Living room
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whippingham, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JohnLiz20...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal base for exploring the Island”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Barton Lodge proved to be an ideal base for a a short visit to the Island. As regular visitors for many years (my wife is from the IoW) this time was for a family funeral and our choice of accommodation made a sad occasion much easier.

Within minutes of arriving on the ferry into East Cowes we were welcomed by the owners and shown round the property. A short while later it just felt like 'home from home' - it's that sort of property - comfortable and well equipped.

Worthy of special note were the beds which were (for our taste) a cut above anything else we've come across when staying in rented accommodation. Although located close by one of the busier roads on the island we didn't get disturbed by any noise, no doubt helped by the traditional thick stone walls.

Unless you're intent on a sand-and-spade holiday Barton Lodge will provide an ideal base to explore the Island and its increasingly varied selection of eating places supplying locally sourced food.

We intend to return and enjoy Barton Lodge and Island again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: Not having time to light the wood burning stoves!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thanks John for your kind review. Please come and see us again in happier circumstances.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserAnd...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to sample Isle of Wight”
Reviewed January 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Barton Cottage is a very handsome former lodge house. It was very clean and well appointed. The wood burning stoves were useful, as the cottage had not been occupied for some time when we arrived on admittedly a very December cold day and it took a couple of days for the central heating to warm the whole house. As mentioned by other reviewers the beds were very comfortable. The house is quite close to the main road but noise was not a problem inside, as the walls are thick and there is secondary double-glazing. It was too cold to spend much in the extensive garden. Osbourne House is about 2-3 mins drive away and well worth a visit.
Amber was very help during the booking process and when we arrived. Would recommend the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Was cold despite heating & fires
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your review which we appreciate and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent in every way. We enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Exceptional service and comfort. Barton Lodge is comfortable and a beautiful property in a wonderful part of the island. The garden is huge and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. Amber was extremely helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself
Liked least: Nothing - it was great
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Thanks Kate for your lovely review - and so glad that you had a good New Year's Eve!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
skip27
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Victoriana meets 21st Century in this wonderful cottage!”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at 1 Barton Lodge for 3 nights in October. Travelling with my partner and 3 teenagers we knew we would have to have wifi as the modern teenager goes no where these days without it and it would make evenings a little more relaxing. We had a wonderful stay here and the accommodation was so flexible with single beds and king size beds being split to accommodate all our needs. If my daughter could of done she would have put her bed in the car to bring it home. It started a whole new conversation about her mattress at home. We all slept so well.
Do not be put off by the cottage being by a road, the garden is beautiful and goes on and on - even beyond the hedge. My dog loved it for exploring. This cottage although having a wonderful Victorian exterior has all the mod cons and has been sympathetically put together keeping it's character on the way.
This cottage is not far from anywhere and it was so lovely to get off the ferry at East Cowes and only travel 10 minutes up the road. We came back to the cottage one day via the chain ferry at Cowes which was a bit of an adventure for those who hadn't done it before.
We were a party of 5 and everyone had enough space. I might of missed reading it in the description but this cottage has 2 toilets, one downstairs and one in the main bathroom, thought I would point this out as it is always nice to have more than 1 toilet in a larger group. My partner loved the fact he could make a fire in the wood burner, within minutes of unpacking the car he was outside getting some wood. The best part for me has to be the bath!!! Make sure you pack the bubble bath!
There are lots of tourist attractions to see on the Island but one hidden gem has to be St Mildred's Church in Whippingham itself. It is a wonderful Victorian church with lots of Royal connections.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything we needed
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review which we really appreciate! Please come and see us again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bert W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We absolutely loved this place. It is very pretty on the outside and very nicely done inside, with classic but clean design. The bed was very comfortable which is sometimes not the case with cottage rentals. Also a powerful shower with lots of hot water. It was so cosy that we spent our three nights cooking at home and curling up on the sofa in front of the fire. Perfect for a serious de-stress session away from the city. Just the two of us stayed but there are two good sized double rooms and a slightly smaller twin. There is a good-sized garden outside which must be nice in the summer. One of us left a jumper behind and the owner very kindly posted it back to us. Good Waitrose 5 mins drive away. Very close to Osborne House. Really excellent, we would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very cosy and comfortable
Liked least: Cooker is not bang up to date, but really not a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
Thanks for your review which we really appreciate and we hope to welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol g
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived early and appreciated the keys being available early, the lodge is easy to find, very conveniently situated for attending the festival. We were welcomed by the owner, after a long hot journey, we immediately felt at home.

We were blessed with hot and sunny weather and used the BBQ several times, enjoying the large garden and countryside views, we even spotted a green woodpecker on the lawn. The house is lovely and cool in the summer, but I imagine very cosy in cooler weather with 2 woodburners, logs and kindling provided.

The beds are huge! The bedding and towels plentiful and good quality. The kitchen is well equipped for a holiday cottage. The bath is also huge and shower is powerful. The only thing missing (and this is really picky) is a washing line - a dryer was provided but I would have preferred to hang out washing on hot days. Teenagers loved the Wi-Fi and also hairdryer.

Being close (but not too close) for the festival was ideal, although the bus service back was expensive and we had problems with it - on the third night of the festival we caught a taxi it was much quicker and less expensive. The festival is walking distance tho as it was hot and we were weary we only walked back once.

The house is close to the road and there was a lot of festival traffic which was to be expected - however being near the main road meant it was very convenient and near to East Cowes.

We visited the Folly for drinks and breakfast a couple of times - lovely walk from the Lodge and well worth the views and the excellent service.

This Lodge would suit families of any kind and I would not hesitate to recommend it, we had a fun time at the festival and then a lovely relaxing break. The owners, Clive and Amber, did everything possible to make our stay comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That everything we needed was provided, including linen
Liked least: liked it all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for the review - we really appreciate it! Washing line under review!! Amber
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing