We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic location, friendly hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Notchland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Scenic location, friendly hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The inn was not too busy when we arrived, so one of the hosts showed us the rooms which were available at the time and let us select the room to our liking. Our room was large and airy with all modern amenities, including a free Wi-Fi.

The location is very scenic; buildings are well preserved and maintained. Furthermore, for added charm, it is the only B&B I’ve ever heard of that has its own train station (but I would not recommend travelling there by train).

The hosts were attentive but discreet. They gladly provided us with local sightseeing information which was very useful. The home-cooked breakfast was simply fantastic. One evening we had dinner in-house which was also very good.

It was an enjoyable stay and I would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincePolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    35
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
179
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Notchland Inn is by far the most relaxing and enjoyable stay I have ever experienced. This was my second visit to the Inn and it surpassed the first - exactly a year ago. Staying in the [Crawford] Notch area in March is a peaceful experience - and this location offers quiet, tree-filled, serene views and exceptionally personal attention to every detail of one's wishes and needs! The rooms all have working WOOD fireplaces and very comfortable beds and usually sitting areas. The innkeepers and their staff all convey that being your hosts is easy and most enjoyable - while being aware of every guest's needs and wishes. We ate dinner 2 nights at the inn (next to the wood-burning fireplace in the dining room), and both times every bite was heavenly, and the service impeccable. The menu changes each evening that they serve dinner, and there are quite a few choices for each course - and, of course, "seconds on dessert until they run out or you give up!" The grounds and nearby walking areas are lovely, even (especially?) when covered with snow. The rest of the Inn offers 2 cozy "common" sitting rooms (with working fireplaces) and puzzles, a piano, welcoming seating and 2 daily papers (and, I believe, the Sunday NY Times). We also enjoyed an HD broadcast nearby (in Freyburg, ME) of "She Stoops to Conquer" performed by the National Theatre of London - how's that for sophisticated culture while enjoying a peaceful sojourn?There are many excellent restaurants fairly close, and charming towns to visit with great LOCAL shops, bookstores, and other ways to support local, independent businesses.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have stayed at the Notchland Inn on two incredibly fortunate occasions. The first was in late November 2011. I stayed with my husband in the crawford room while two other members of my family stayed in the lower level of the school house. The rooms and space overall were so incredibly well-appointed, cozy and warm - all the rooms feature wood-burning fireplaces - that we decided to rent the entire inn for a three-day-long celebration in February 2012. I had the great luck of getting to see each and every room in February when I left flower arrangements and gifts for my guests in the rooms. I can attest that each room is a work of art - completely unique from all the others and entirely beautiful. The beds are amazingly comfortable and the feel of the place overall is precisely what one would hope for in a romantic getaway. The Notchland Dining Room is a wonderful place to eat - in fact we had our big celebratory dinner there. All the food was prepared to perfection. Most importantly, the inn keepers, Ed and Les, are just about the kindest, most welcoming, sweet, professional, and intelligent men you could dream up. And their two dogs, who live in the house, are fantastically charming. Needless to say, I will always go back to Notchland to make great memories. It's a gem.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I couldn't have ask for a better experience. The Notchland Inn was perfect. We stayed in one of the less expensive rooms and we still had a wonderfully comfy bed and a fireplace in our room that we used every night. I only downside for some is it is an old house and some things are warn, but I think that adds to the charm and experience. There were games around the house to use and the benise mountain dogs were very sweet. Breakfast every morning was made to order and part of the cost, we ordered off a menu with many options while the sun bathed us and we looked at the weather report the innkeepers provided us. The property is beautiful and close to many outdoor activities. We also enjoyed sitting in the sun room in the morning. Normally it would be too pricey for us but we used a living social coupon. I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skichels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012 via mobile

A beautiful setting, a quaint inn, charming hosts, delicious food and lovely dogs equals an exquisite experience. I stayed in the Kinsman suite and found it to be a delightful mix of old and new. The room was spacious and spotless, the bed comfortable and the lack of TV and other background noise meant a most comfortable evening was in store for me. I want to return. Now. If you are seeking a peaceful, secluded (but not isolated) and comfortable place to stay th Notchland is not to be missed.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Plmjmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had previously stayed at Notchland five years ago and had been longing to go back ever since. We finally made it a few weeks ago. We hoped that it would not spoil our happy memories and thankfully it did not. In fact it surpassed them.

Ed, Les and their team, together with their dogs make a stay at Notchland seem like a holiday with extended family.

It’s difficult to beat a well prepared, very relaxed five course dinner followed by some time playing with the dogs then heading upstairs to read by a crackling log fire in your room. Add in some magnificent scenery, some walking, snow shoeing or in our case snowmobiling and it makes for the perfect place for a long weekend.

We loved the arts and crafts furniture and decoration, making the most of the period features of the house. The collection of games, books and a part-finished jigsaw for guest’s entertainment and the ‘lived-in’ furniture all add to the beautiful atmosphere of the place.

We can’t wait for our next visit. Having been in the fall and now in the winter we need to return in the summer to try out the swimming hole in the nearby river.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creamegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I went with another couple over President's Day Weekend, 2012. I thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, the rooms, the staff, the service and the food. The inn has a real historic feel. Our rooms were very big and included a sitting area with a working fireplace. There were also 2 parlors with fireplaces downstairs where we could hang out as well. There were many choices for breakfast. We opted for the 5-course dinner both nights. The food was delicious and well worth the price. The owners and staff were very friendly and witty. They have 2 Burmese Mountain dogs who were very friendly and mellow and cuddly. I highly recommend the Notchland Inn & can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart's Location
6.6 km away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
14.3 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
14.2 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,280 reviews
13.4 km away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
36.5 km away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Property: The Notchland Inn
Address: 2 Morey Rd, Hart's Location, NH 03812-4105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Notchland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing