We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - stop looking and book here”
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Notchland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Notchland Inn was the perfect weekend getaway in the heart of the White Mountains. We arrived in the middle of a snow storm, but that just meant that we were greeted by a winter wonderland the next morning. The house is historic and beautiful. Our room, with fireplace and jacuzzi, could not have been more comfortable. The food was delicious (definitely opt for dinner). And, above all, Ed and Les could not have been more helpful and hospitable. Save yourself some time and just book here now.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JW5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Notchland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

The inn was not too busy when we arrived, so one of the hosts showed us the rooms which were available at the time and let us select the room to our liking. Our room was large and airy with all modern amenities, including a free Wi-Fi.

The location is very scenic; buildings are well preserved and maintained. Furthermore, for added charm, it is the only B&B I’ve ever heard of that has its own train station (but I would not recommend travelling there by train).

The hosts were attentive but discreet. They gladly provided us with local sightseeing information which was very useful. The home-cooked breakfast was simply fantastic. One evening we had dinner in-house which was also very good.

It was an enjoyable stay and I would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincePolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Notchland Inn is by far the most relaxing and enjoyable stay I have ever experienced. This was my second visit to the Inn and it surpassed the first - exactly a year ago. Staying in the [Crawford] Notch area in March is a peaceful experience - and this location offers quiet, tree-filled, serene views and exceptionally personal attention to every detail of one's wishes and needs! The rooms all have working WOOD fireplaces and very comfortable beds and usually sitting areas. The innkeepers and their staff all convey that being your hosts is easy and most enjoyable - while being aware of every guest's needs and wishes. We ate dinner 2 nights at the inn (next to the wood-burning fireplace in the dining room), and both times every bite was heavenly, and the service impeccable. The menu changes each evening that they serve dinner, and there are quite a few choices for each course - and, of course, "seconds on dessert until they run out or you give up!" The grounds and nearby walking areas are lovely, even (especially?) when covered with snow. The rest of the Inn offers 2 cozy "common" sitting rooms (with working fireplaces) and puzzles, a piano, welcoming seating and 2 daily papers (and, I believe, the Sunday NY Times). We also enjoyed an HD broadcast nearby (in Freyburg, ME) of "She Stoops to Conquer" performed by the National Theatre of London - how's that for sophisticated culture while enjoying a peaceful sojourn?There are many excellent restaurants fairly close, and charming towns to visit with great LOCAL shops, bookstores, and other ways to support local, independent businesses.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have stayed at the Notchland Inn on two incredibly fortunate occasions. The first was in late November 2011. I stayed with my husband in the crawford room while two other members of my family stayed in the lower level of the school house. The rooms and space overall were so incredibly well-appointed, cozy and warm - all the rooms feature wood-burning fireplaces - that we decided to rent the entire inn for a three-day-long celebration in February 2012. I had the great luck of getting to see each and every room in February when I left flower arrangements and gifts for my guests in the rooms. I can attest that each room is a work of art - completely unique from all the others and entirely beautiful. The beds are amazingly comfortable and the feel of the place overall is precisely what one would hope for in a romantic getaway. The Notchland Dining Room is a wonderful place to eat - in fact we had our big celebratory dinner there. All the food was prepared to perfection. Most importantly, the inn keepers, Ed and Les, are just about the kindest, most welcoming, sweet, professional, and intelligent men you could dream up. And their two dogs, who live in the house, are fantastically charming. Needless to say, I will always go back to Notchland to make great memories. It's a gem.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I couldn't have ask for a better experience. The Notchland Inn was perfect. We stayed in one of the less expensive rooms and we still had a wonderfully comfy bed and a fireplace in our room that we used every night. I only downside for some is it is an old house and some things are warn, but I think that adds to the charm and experience. There were games around the house to use and the benise mountain dogs were very sweet. Breakfast every morning was made to order and part of the cost, we ordered off a menu with many options while the sun bathed us and we looked at the weather report the innkeepers provided us. The property is beautiful and close to many outdoor activities. We also enjoyed sitting in the sun room in the morning. Normally it would be too pricey for us but we used a living social coupon. I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skichels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

A beautiful setting, a quaint inn, charming hosts, delicious food and lovely dogs equals an exquisite experience. I stayed in the Kinsman suite and found it to be a delightful mix of old and new. The room was spacious and spotless, the bed comfortable and the lack of TV and other background noise meant a most comfortable evening was in store for me. I want to return. Now. If you are seeking a peaceful, secluded (but not isolated) and comfortable place to stay th Notchland is not to be missed.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Plmjmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had previously stayed at Notchland five years ago and had been longing to go back ever since. We finally made it a few weeks ago. We hoped that it would not spoil our happy memories and thankfully it did not. In fact it surpassed them.

Ed, Les and their team, together with their dogs make a stay at Notchland seem like a holiday with extended family.

It’s difficult to beat a well prepared, very relaxed five course dinner followed by some time playing with the dogs then heading upstairs to read by a crackling log fire in your room. Add in some magnificent scenery, some walking, snow shoeing or in our case snowmobiling and it makes for the perfect place for a long weekend.

We loved the arts and crafts furniture and decoration, making the most of the period features of the house. The collection of games, books and a part-finished jigsaw for guest’s entertainment and the ‘lived-in’ furniture all add to the beautiful atmosphere of the place.

We can’t wait for our next visit. Having been in the fall and now in the winter we need to return in the summer to try out the swimming hole in the nearby river.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creamegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart's Location
14.3 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
6.6 km away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#2 of 12 in Bartlett
296 reviews
14.2 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
310 reviews
17.2 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,612 reviews
29.5 km away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Address: 2 Morey Rd, Hart's Location, NH 03812-4105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range: $265 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Notchland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing