We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,744)
Filter reviews
1,744 results
Traveller rating
1,074
434
143
63
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,074
434
143
63
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room shakespeare suite haunted hotel afternoon tea old church beautiful hotel executive room grounds are stunning country house steeped in history scones wedding party handpicked hotels stratford upon avon evening meal the main house steam room
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 1,744 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I came here for his birthday and we certainty were not disappointed. We were blown away upon entering the hotel and we were speechless when we entered our room for the night..... The Shakespeare Suite!
We took a lovely walk around the grounds and hotel, all the staff were friendly and couldn’t be more helpful!
We will be returning in a couple of months.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

For my husbands birthday I booked the Romantic Getaway offer and it was superb. The offer was for 3pm checkin with a glass of champagne on arrival and a small box of chocolates. Three course evening meal in the drawing room and the option of breakfast in bed, in the drawing room or the library the following morning with a late checkout of 12 noon.
Not being keen on champagne we changed this for a bottle of red wine (for a small supplement) which was brought to us on the terrace as we had arrived early. The building is magnificent and the terrace overlooks the grounds where the only sounds you will hear are the birds singing and the sheep baaing in the field. During our stay we had a leisurely walk around the grounds and enjoyed a relaxing swim in the glass top pool. There is also a steam room, sauna and juccuzi with chairs and sun beds to relax on afterwards. We stayed on the ground floor in a garden room. The room was tastefully decorated, a good size and had a large bathroom. Everything you could want for your stay was in the room. We found the staff are all very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend at stay there as it was a lovely experience and would make a beautiful gift or treat for that special someone.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SATrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

Booked as a birthday treat for my wife and wasn't let down . Beautiful building in a great setting , a lovely spacious room with all the mod cons . Staff attentive , professional and a credit to the hotel , food also great as I expected . Used the swimming pool too which was a great addition and worth a visit and just 6 miles away from Stratford upon Avon . Highly recommended especially the romantic package .

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Y3839KTpauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018

One of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. The building is magnificent and grounds quite extensive. Beautiful surrounding country side. Only a 15 minute drive from Stratford-Upon-Avon. Thank you to the staff.

Room tip: Spoil yourselves, just a little.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights en route from Manchester to Southampton. First impressions were the hotel was slightly run down and a bit tired in appearance. Check-in was efficient and smooth and as a bonus our room was ready early and available when we arrived.

Our room was clean and well presented on the ground floor with a pleasant view of the chapel in the grounds. Our bathroom sink had a very slow drain and was almost unusable; reported to reception and it was fixed shortly thereafter. Very impressive response.

High points of the stay were the exceptionally comfortable bed, dinner in the main restaurant, and the delightful grounds for long walks in nature.

There is a swimming pool on site which is adequate but no gym or work out facilities, although there’s enough outdoor space for exercise if the weather cooperates.

On balance we had a lovely time, really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to all.

Tip: book a 2 night country house break on the hotel website. It includes breakfast and dinner one evening all at a good price.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephenwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews