We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, friendly service but meal was disappointing and not good value.”

Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Mapua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed September 16, 2017

We recently went to the Jellyfish restaurant for an evening meal with friends. It is in a lovely location on the Mapua wharf. We have been there several times before for lunch and have enjoyed sitting outside taking in the beautiful view.
On our most recent visit, the service was again friendly and attentive. I had the market fish of the day, John Dory. When my main arrived, i was disappointed to see just two very small pieces of fish along with some cherry tomatoes and a couple of sliced mushrooms. I don't feel that this is good value for a main priced at around $30. If you want vegetables or potatoes with your main, you must order them for $7.50 a side. Pretty pricey in my opinion. In the past the meals we have had at the Jellyfish have been much better value. The desserts are the standard ones...tiramisu, fondant etc. I decided to try the pear tart. The pastry was thick and the tart was dry and overly sweet. For our next meal out, we will try another local restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarbaraB8285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

HI Barbara

thanks for your feedback. We always review our feedback in meetings with our Head Chef and staff. We pride ourselves on our quality of food and we try to price our meals to fit with the increasing costs of preparing them.

We have had some amazing feedback recently, so we were disappointed to read your review. I do hope you will visit again, and if you do please don't hesitate to let us know your feedback while you are here so we can discuss further in person.

thanks for taking the time to review.

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 615 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2017

I ordered one of the salads--Pork Thai, or something like that. While it was nice it was not to my taste. My husband had the blue cod, chips and salad, which he did enjoy, but it was overpriced compared to other similar meals he had eaten.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alys847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Thanks for your review - we hope to see you again in paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Called for morning coffee and snack. Greeted the moment we entered premises. Prompt service, good coffee. Premises are immaculate.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Hi Doug, thanks for calling in - we look forward to hosting you again soon

Debs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

Jellyfish Cafe and Bar is my favourite Mapua eating place - always a great lunch destination. Excellent service, a variety of craft beers and wonderful food.

Thank Curiosity59572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Thanks for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.

we look forward to seeing you again.

Debs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile

Service was great and so was the food. Nice size portions and good wine selection. The menu is vegetarian friendly.

Thank ManhattanVasya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L8163DFdebbiel, Owner at Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Thanks for Visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing