We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
View out over decking and garden from Family room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View out over decking and garden from Family room.
Main Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
View out over decking and garden from Family room.
Main Entrance
external view of master wing
Plan, who sleeps where?....before you arrive!
Beautiful Aga
Huge farmhouse kettle lives on the hot AGA meaning tea or coffee is always at hand!
A warm welcome (milk in the fridge too!)
Cosy spacious, sociable kitchen, table seats 12 .
Luxury shower room with twin sinks and large rainfall shower.
Modern clean family bathroom, with double shower.....better picture to come!
large formal lounge , with over sized furniture to sink into infront of the huge wood burning stove
Gorgeous large log burner, recently upgraded to a super efficient mega heat producing gorgeous beast
Family room/ 5th bedroom with very comfy king size sofa bed.  Complete with panoramic country views.
Laze on the sofa and lose your self on a stunning evening gazing out at the sun setting over fields.
Beautiful solid oak superking size bed with Luxury high quality mattress (new summer 2015)
Master room
Luxury super king / Twin rooms , high quality mattresses (new summer2015)
Super king/twin rooms , Luxury mattresses and hotel quality bedding.
Real wood cot with high quality mattress (new 2015)(2nd new travel cot also available)
Family bedroom sleeps 4, either Super king or twin beds plus bunk beds, high quality luxury all roun
view over garden from family bedroom
Books, toys, games aplenty
1 of three highchairs (2 for babies 1 for toddlers)
the decking with new  highquality furniture, BBQ also available.
Large private garden with play area behind the trees **due to be uprgraded 2016**
view of family wing from top of the garden
Another stunning evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Houston, Renfrewshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
331debsm
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My extended family of 12 + a baby stayed in this beautiful home while attending a family wedding. It is set in a very quiet location even though the major roads to Glasgow are nearby. Lovely horse paddock at the front of house and room for 3+ cars. Shops and restaurants near by but great kitchen with AGA onsite. Kids loved the game and toy cupboard but only 1 TV/DVD unit in the house. Real log burner in the lounge with comfy leather sofa's surrounding it ... we used this room the most. Lovely hot showers in beautiful bathrooms. Large bedrooms with super-king beds. Pets are allowed and a welcome pack was there on our arrival. Want to go back in the summer months to explore a bit more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you for the lovely review ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DJJ29
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I stayed at Locherside Farm Friday 24th June until today Monday 27th June as part of a family group for a 30th birthday. We all live locally but have discovered this wonderful place which we will use again. We could all be together and friends and family popped in over the weekend.
The facilities are exceptional and the layout lends itself to accommodating a large group with a central living area and bedrooms off corridors at each side of the building. Beautiful gardens including an enclosed garden suitable for dogs.
Great family kitchen with an aga which meant cooking for a large group was very easy and could accommodate 10 people seated at the table with ease.
No detail was overlooked, toy cupboard with books, DVDs etc and French doors out to a decked area and large garden. We had a toddler and a young child with us who had so much freedom and fun navigating the layout of the house.
From booking to arriving and during our stay the help and advice given to us by the lovely neighbour and by the owner were second to none.
I really cannot praise this house enough. It's situated close to all amenities but at the end of a long drive which made you feel as if you were miles away from everything.
Currently thinking of occasions we could use it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much looking forward to welcoming you back! Thank you also for being considerate guests and leaving the house in good order, it's very much appreciated!
Megan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain34hd
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in an ideal location”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A group of 7 guys on a golf trip stayed for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable time. The accommodation was idealy situated close to several excellent golf couses and superb pubs and restaurants. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and fitted out to an extremely high standard. We would have no hesitation in recommending Locherside farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable living room
Liked least: The large table in the kitchen made the room a little cramped
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thank you Iain for your lovely review. I am glad you had an enjoyable golfing trip and the weather treated you well, as it has done for many of our guests so far this summer. Thank you also for looking after our home well during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L6896BQda...
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very very comfortable and well appointed.”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This house is conveniently situated in the country side near airport/motorway, quiet and safe location.
Would accommodate 4x2 adults and 2/3 children easily.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you for your reply, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the time spent in Scotland was very useful for you.
Wish you all the best for your future!
Megan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley...
Falkirk
1 review
“Dads 60th weekend ”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Myself and my family rented the farmhouse for the long weekend last week for my dad's 60th birthday. There were 10 of us all together including 2 teens and a toddler, along with our 2 collies and the house did not feel cramped or crowded at any point due to the fantastic layout. The kids ran about in the big garden with a ball when weather was dry, my mum and dad went exploring the local roads and walked the legs off the dogs and I, being a keen cook and baker, totally fell in love with the kitchen and played mother hen all weekend. It was very easy to get in contact with Megan and no questions or concerns were an issue or not answered. The welcome of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits was much appreciated after the trip to the house and I also met the next door neighbours who were very welcoming and friendly. This was the first time we had all been away as a family and plan to return next year in the summer for a week, the house is perfect for all your needs for a family get away and wether staying in and entertaining or heading to the local pubs its the ideal house in the ideal location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review Kimberley, i'm really pleased you enjoyed the house and the local area. We would love to welcome you back, the house was left in great condition. Thank you again for your card and goodies! Very much appreciated by the wee sprites behind the scenes of Locherside!.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mod M
1 review
“Super for a mixed age group”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

One minute you are driving along an inner city motorway - then the next you are in the midst of the countryside and there, surrounded by farmland is Locherside Farm. Apart from the two adjacent properties at the end of the long drive there are no near neighbours and the only noise is cows and the odd tractor in the field.
We were a group of two grandparents, two of their children and their wives and three grandchildren aged five and under. The daughters in law fell in love with the place at first sight (as did we all, kids included). We put the parents and kids in the bedrooms in the "playroom" wing and let them enjoy their 6am start to the day of which the rest of us were blissfully unaware thanks to massively thick walls. The kids loved their room with padded window seat, bunk beds plus two single beds and their own well stocked playroom complete with carpet so plush that there is probably a lost tribe in there somewhere. The "children", given the two **huge** bedrooms with very large comfy beds... Well, thick walls work in both directions, rumour has it.

The kitchen, with a table large enough to sit a small army has relatively low work-tops etc - ideal for those that find higher ones difficult. Then there is a massive all-oven AGA, with all the goodies. I put on 3kg in a week. Oops. Everyone from "Can't cook, won't cook" to "Masterchef" *needs* an AGA. Idiot proof and perfect cooking in one - able to cook for a table of one or twenty with equal ease. The ovens are *really* deep - so you can put in two roasts *and* two trays of roast veg into one oven - and still have three ovens left. Then there is the mega-hot hotplate that does fantastic stir fry. Oh, the owners have left excellent guides for using an AGA - with super recipes (see 3kg, above).

The downside? There are always some. The internal steps (see the lounge photo as an example) would be a problem for some. We wouldn't particularly recommend the local chinese takeaway, although others may disagree. That long driveway may be a problem if a lot of snow descends. There is a HV transformer on a pole, Id' guess 20m from the house - for those who live in dread of electromagnetic fields.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet (see thick walls, above). Oh and meringues...lots of meringues
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thankyou for the fabulous review, I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hearing from you in the future.
With regards to your comment about the HV transformer it,s closer to 50m from the house and we are waiting for Scottish Power to upgrade and move it, I fully agree to it being a bit ugly however it poses no threat to inhabitants of the farm, it's just a small blemish on the otherwise beautiful view we have. The driveway is flat and has never caused any issues to date (yes I know , never say never, but it hasn't.....yet).
Thanks again for your custom and your review and comments, all very helpful.
Megan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing