We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
87
74
34
31
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
74
34
31
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip cliff side degrees view wooden bungalows honeymoon suite menu items plastic bottles priced food beautiful place to stay plastic waste restaurant food is hotel location your luggage beautiful sunset nearby islands remote area steep hill
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 269 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Arrived at the gate after being driven up a long non-paved road. Only to find i had to hike my luggage down a steep windy dirt path followed by a crap load of stairs. Got to the reception area in the restaurant after 10mins to find you can only use wifi from 6-9pm and only from the restaurant.
Another good walk up to my room. No drinking water. Bathroom handles broke off instantly. Mosquito nets had holes. And decor was minimal and 'rustic' I suppose. The door could only be locked/unlocked with the key and it took a bit of fiddling, so if the cabin caught on fire... yeh you get the idea. No aircon, only an electric desk fan.
Food was nothing special, and took a VERY long time to come out, even though there was only 1 other table when we ordered. Ended up spending the night on the toilet afterwards anyway.
Had a tour early the next day, so I had prearranged for us to leave our baggage there and for someone to carry it up to the gate when we came back in the afternoon. Got back only to find they didn't answer their phones. Walked down (no lighting on the dirt path at night). Pretty pissed off at this stage. Asked to speak to the manager. They had no manager and none of them spoke much English. Eventually they found our luggage but they had to wait for their friends to come carry them? And we had to pay them 50,000IDR. I asked if this was total cost. They said yes. Walked back up to the top. A while later 2 guys came up with the luggages. Paid them 50,000IDR. Nope, wasn't enough. Had to pay them each.

Terrible service. Very dodgy. Terrible rooms. A lot of hassle for nothing. Paid $86AUD for 1 night. Biggest waste of money. Ive stayed at far better places for a lot less. Avoid this place at all costs.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

This is definitely a beautiful, getaway bungalow complex away from the chaos and dirt of Labuan Bajo. It has been brilliantly created to blend into the forest hillside and has its own gorgeous stretch of beach. Our bungalow (honeymoon suite - Teratai) was gorgeous and had a lovely comfy bed and great outside terrace / lounge area facing the sea and a fantastic outside shower area.

The food there is ok and reasonably priced food, but as there is only one other place in walking distance to eat that is expensive, this could be a problem for fussy diners. Included in the price though is a lovely breakfast such as eggs of your choice / toasted bread or banana pancakes / freshly cut fruit / juice / coffee.

The restaurant and hotel lobby is a giant beautiful wooden structure, with a big lounge area and a great place to hang out in. Yes there are lots of steps down from the terrible road above, but they can be avoided - if you don’t hire a vehicle (the hotel staff collect your bags anyway). We organized an airport pick up that finished off by boat (for 200,000), which is the best way there. Transport back into town one way costs 150,000 (or 250,00 return) that can be split between travelers, which could end up being costly if you decide to go back into town often. There is no free shuttle service!

My only real issue though is that in Indonesia, £80/night is high end and there are touches here and there where it just doesn’t meet that standard, nor to justify this high price, which is why I wouldn’t rate it higher. A little of the high cost needs to be fed back into the place. I also don’t think it is entirely fair that the very young staff there are left to run it (as well as they can I might add) - they were a massive plus point. It would be nice to have seen the owners, but I guess they can’t be there all the time. I would definitely come back if the price was lower.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Monkeyboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

Nice interior decor in a beautiful setting.

The restaurant food was so bad we did not finish half the dishes. The rice was overcooked and old. We got our food 50 minutes too late.

No water in our room. They said they would fix it. They have not done anything to fix it. Its now 9pm 3 people are in my room working on it.

I have asked for a discount. They say no discount. I ask to speak to the manager. They say no manager. Manager is in France.

My advice is avoid this place.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank 256contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

If you want to just stay at the hotel and not go on any day trips, then this is the hotel for you.

I however, would still NOT recommend this hotel regardless of what you want to do (or not do). I should have listened to the advice of other travellers who had also posted, such as Kunal M. Most tour companies will not pick you up here and taxis won't take you here as there is no paved road to get to the hotel...not sure if they're in the process of paving it or not, looked like that might be the case.

I rented a motorbike/scooter and it was treacherous due to the rocky conditions of the dirt roads (see pictures). It is also a ten minute hike up to the dirt road from the hotel. Takes about 20-30 minutes from hotel on scooter. You have to drive slow due to the huge rocks and potholes.

Hotel offers a "free shuttle boat" but only to drop you at the resort next door so you can take a 100,000 IDR taxi to the city and only until 17:00. Please note, hotel staff told me the taxi was 100,000 IDR however, I was charged by the hotel's driver, Alex, 150,000 IDR.

For my return shuttle to the airport, I specifically requested, in writing, not to be taken by Alex, but they sent him to take me anyway. The guy has two cellphones that he is constantly answering and calling people, while driving. I did not feel safe, not to mention, he had overcharged me before.

The hotel grounds are nice but the rooms are rustic, at best. Not worth $64 USD/night AT ALL! I was eaten alive by the mosquitos even while under the mosquito net. The sheets had stains on them and you could see through the wooden floors, not very eco friendly with an AC.

Hotel staff are nice, however communication is limited and this causes many misunderstandings. It was very difficult to deal with the manager as a result. I tried to communicate my misgivings about this place and even sent emails instead, in hopes we could communicate via writing and google translate.

I was really disappointed and let down at all the money I wasted.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BKloandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018

We stayed here for two days. The hotel is short boat ride from the city in a bay with a quiet beach in front. While the rooms are nice, you have to climb several steps. But the view from the room and cozy terrace is just perfect. We also did a boat trip with the hotels boat and it was also good. The staff was always super friendly and very helpful with all the questions we had.

Room tip: Take on of the higher rooms for a better view into the bay
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebkuchen_CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews