We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely friendly place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Water Meadows

Water Meadows Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Water Meadows Cottage
Private secure gardens (WM) Spacious lounge diner (WM)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Water Meadows Cottage
Private secure gardens (WM)
Spacious lounge diner (WM)
Spacious lounge diner (WM)
LCD TV (WM)
Well equipped kitchen (WM)
Double bedroom  (WM)
Double bedroom  (WM)
Double or twin room (WM)
Double or twin room (WM)
En suite shower rooms (WM)
Ample off road parking
Dogs and bikers welcome
All dogs welcome little or large
Beautilful countryside
Picturesque villages
Durdle Door
West Bay (Broadchurch in the TV series)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Maiden Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely weekend away at this cottage, which was perfectly located for our needs...however, since the photos were taken there have been some refurbs to the cottage and garden. The pics here need to be updated, the garden ones especially as it appears to have a large garden with a lot of outside space. In reality the garden is tiny and was only accessible via one of the bedrooms. Tiny one man kitchen...well equipped but tiny!!! Very comfy beds and great showers...was fine for a weekend but in my opinion too small for four adults (2 couples) and three large dogs for any longer!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Hi Sharon, Glad you had a lovely weekend. The refurbishments are now complete and we will be updating the photos this week. The garden is now accessible from the lounge via a new porch. We feel the garden is a good size for most peoples needs, we have simply fenced off the guest area to provide better privacy and security for dogs since the original photos were taken. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A lovely friendly place to stay.”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have had a superb stay at Water Meadows Cottage, the cottage has everything you need and the hot tub is very welcome after long walks. Dog friendly which is important to us and Digby was made very welcome. We shall return in the future. The birdsong early morning was amazing. Thankyou both for a really great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A peaceful place to stay, and everything you needed.
Liked least: Everything, the village had a good friendly pub and local shops.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments Pam, we look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
St Osyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a pretty village.”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Very clean & tidy cottage. Pet friendly they leave lots of things out for your pet.
Small but well stocked kitchin all the items you would require.
Knives need a good sharpen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm & comfortable
Liked least: Small kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll get the knives sharpened and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
363ivan
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable accommodation in a very beautiful part of Dorset”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage had everything we needed for a relaxing break and it was clear that great attention had been paid to the overall décor and maintenance of the property.
The location was wonderful being in easy reach of the coast, the countryside and Dorchester.
It is a pity that the local pub no longer serves food but there are 2 good food shops in the village, a fish and chip shop and a smart French restaurant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The excellent location
Liked least: The lighting for readers could have been better.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and just to let you know the local pub is now serving food again, the menu is better than ever.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda R
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful southern England experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

House with all you could need. Very comfortable and perfect location for us to explore the south of England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spaciousness and location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely welcoming and relaxing for all”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed with my wife, young son, inlaws and their dog. Mark and Karen were very welcoming nothing was too much trouble and passed on a number of tips where dogs were welcome and surrounding areas.

It is not very often you find a place where you can stay comfortably with a young child and dog but Watermeadows very much falls under this category! My wife and mother in-law spent many a relaxing evening in the hot tub and we all had a very relaxing week. Highlights for us were Weymouth and Burton Bradstock beaches with Abbotsbury farm a real highlight if you have any young ones.

Thank you Karen and Mark for a very nice relaxing holiday from us all. We just wish we could have stayed longer than the week we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captnemo1...
Berkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exactly as described, a fantastic cottage”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very modern and clean with great facilities. Loved the hot tub and relaxing in the garden. Maiden Newton is a pretty, friendly little village with lots of walks, a couple of shops which sold everything you needed. Mark and Allison were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. They even looked after our dog so we could spend the day at Weymouth. We were very lucky with the weather, so all in all a fantastic holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing