We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing!!!

It was gorgeous!! The beach was beautiful And raked daily! Very private! The sand was like being... read more

Reviewed September 1, 2020
silvergypsey
,
Fredericton, Canada
via mobile
Great hospitality

We visited Escuminac beach on a day trip. The treatment we received from the family that runs the... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2020
Asha9NB
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
10
0
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
0
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach campground monica location water site fishing point sand sun lighthouse office stories
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2019 via mobile

This campground used to be my absolute favourite but has really gone downhill the last couple years. It should be noted that the beach is absolutely beautiful but this review is specific to the facilities and service on location.
They have stopped maintaining the shaded areas on the beach, they are now immersed in tall grass and full of sand from the dunes. This makes it impossible to escape the direct sun.
There are two change rooms at the beginning of the boardwalk and one is missing a door and the adjacent outdoor shower area has rotten deck boards.
The shower/ washroom building for campers has an extremely boggy floor, it feels as if you could fall right through it.
On our last two visits we asked for wood for a fire and were told someone would be around to drop some off to us. No one ever came. It’s not particularly enjoyable to be at an unserviced site without being able to have a fire; that kind of makes the whole camping experience.
While it is not the fault of the campground, it is noteworthy that the mosquitoes were absolutely horrific to the point that we could not even sit outside.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank vegan_voyager87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica M, Manager at Escuminac Beach and Family Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2020

Thank you for your comments and for once being your favourite spot to visit.

I agree we with you, we do have some up keep to do on the property. As you know from living in Miramichi, our winters can be quite rough at times. Last winter was not an exception. We are a small family owned and operated establishment and do what we can to prioritize our jobs accordingly. Sometimes certain things have to wait.

Having pointed that out, here are a few things you might not realize about our area:

Dunes are highly protected not for only the ecosystem but also for land-loss. The shaded areas you are referring to were once built on the beach itself. Due to Mother Nature (with a little hand from us) we have been fortunate enough over the years to built/gain a growth of 25ft + of dune within that time (bonus considering the amount of erosion that has chewed our coastline within the past few years). For example, Within one storm the following August of your visit, the dunes were completely torn down as well as a few of the gazebos you were speaking of. It is that quick! My one recommendation to all our visitors is if knowing you are heading to the beach for the day; water, sunscreen and a hat are a necessity.

Every structure on the property is built on sand. Once the ground below is frozen, it shifts. Causing all types of issues. Hence the need for us to have to prioritize. Including the soft floor. I understand your point of view. Unfortunately, we could not close the building off during the busy part of our season to rebuild a new floor. This was an inconvenience however it might have been more drastic if I had.

It really does put a damper on things, camping without a fire. If it was an oversight, I apologize but it does happen. Something to note: We are monitored and must watch the fire ban order each day. If a ban is issued for our area we must follow it. On those days, we do not deliver wood.

Mosquitoes ~ Nature's way of making you dance to a bad song! ;)

All visitors are important to us and we do our best to accommodate, it is unfortunate you had a bad experience.






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2019

We were on an RV trip and made a last minute reservation while en route through NB - we were really pleasantly surprised by how pretty the site is and how nice the older couple who own the property were! The RV park itself is basic but its location on the water and the fantastic way you can experience it made us want to stay longer.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Domenic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017

Love this place and the people who operate it We can't say enough about the friendly,hospitable owner/operators. Joe, Mary & Monica can't do enough to accomodate you. Even took the time to assist us in changing a flat tire.The campground and faciities are clean & well maintained.The sandy beach is a marvel. Not far away(within walking distance for some) is a fish plant with a retail store where you can buy your favorite seafood guaranteed fresh! The perfect place to unwind. If you bring children there are the playgrounds and as always, the beach for them to amuse themselves. Definitely will return.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank diandjack2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

We intended to stay one night but after looking around at the campground and sandy beach (miles of it), we were there 5 nights!! What a thoroughly enjoyable rest stop it was for us. The McIntyre family are excellent hosts, dedicated to making your stay comfortable and pleasant. This is camping before 'resort-style' camping popped up. We are seniors and it was perfect for us. The facilities are clean, it's quiet, the beach is exceptional and we continued our trip feeling refreshed. Another big plus...there's a fish plant almost next door with a large variety of seafood available.
Nancy & Ron

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank deerflyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016

We arrived 2 motor homes and trailers (total length 65 feet) late at night. We were welcomed by the owners and the guided us towards our sites. The next day we walked the beach, it was nice and quiet. Monica the daughter of the owners was hand raking the beach she came by and introduce herself. We walked to a fish store that was a 10 minutes walk from the campground, we got to see all the fishing boats. Mary and Jo, the owners are really really nice, everyday we would go up to the office and we would get our story of the day. Jo had all kinds of interesting local stories to tell us. On our last day, Monica made us care packages filled with souvenirs that I could share with my students back home. It was a really nice maritime holiday that we will remember for a long time and we hope to go back.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews