We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
156
11
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
156
11
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower each meal fish cooking class paddle boarding a special place robinson crusoe beach chairs outstanding service fellow guests standing fan beach casitas am writing this review incredible resort room rate travel experience resort pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 169 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Staying at Isla Palenque exceeded all my expectations. The unique setting of the private island, to the amazing staff - I hope that this is the first of many visits to Palenque! I really enjoyed waking up each morning with such close proximity to the beach. The beachfront bungalows were also extremely well thought out when it comes to design and completely comfortable! I slept incredibly well and woke up refreshed each day.. The food and activities were also amazing and did not disappoint. I highlight recommend this property to the groups looking for a unique experience, couples that want to truly disconnect or even individuals. LOVED IT! Can't wait to go back.

Room tip: the main house is great for groups or families and the beachfront casitas are ideal for couples!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018

We cannot find enough superlatives to convey our experience at Isla Palenque. From beginning to end our stay was great in every way. The resort is small and intimate and all your needs are well catered for in an unobtrusive, efficient and well managed way.

From arrival to departure you are made to feel welcome and valued and there is a genuine concern that you are having a great stay from every member of the well trained team of staff that you encounter. It would be unfair to single any particular people out as everyone goes the extra mile to accommodate you in every way

The casitas are fantastic and very private. They are in the jungle and only meters from the beach. They are extremely clean, comfortable and well equipped.

The food was delicious (even catering for a fussy vegetarian). For the week that we stayed all the meals were fresh, varied and well prepared.

All activities are well organised and professionally run with friendly, informative and knowledgeable guides

It is good to see that sustainability and the environment is taken into consideration where ever possible, e.g. no plastic drinking straws (use papaya leaf stems instead), no plastic water bottles (reusable flasks instead), solar hot water, etc.

There is an abundance of wildlife in and around the resort e.g. raccoons, squirrels, howler monkeys, many different bugs, birds and reptiles (we even saw Jaguar tracks on the beach on 2 consecutive mornings. The sea was safe for swimming with fantastic variety of fish and other marine life (saw both dolphins and whales). Don't expect "white" beaches as the archipelago is volcanic so the the sand is therefore grey

I would like to thank everyone on the Isla Palenque team for making our holiday absolutely fantastic and in fact the best that we have ever had (we have been lucky enough to travel extensively around the world and to date this is our best experience)

We will definitely return

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mietek771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Wow, Mietek771, what a review! Thank you! We’re over the moon to be your best ever travel experience! It’s very motivating to know that we exceeded all of your expectations, especially as you’re so well-travelled. At Isla Palenque we really do care about our guests – we’ll do almost anything to make sure they have the trip of a lifetime with us! Of course adventurous and cultured guests like you who appreciate our sustainable philosophies and our wilderness setting make our lives a lot easier :) We hope to welcome you back soon – try not to miss the private island life too much meanwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful resort. The beachfront villas are magical. Just 100 feet from the Pacific Ocean hidden in a dense forest. The rooms are amazing and the clubhouse and staff are truly wonderful. Take advantage of the daily island excursions and if you can swing it take a boat tour of the surrounding waters.

The staff was truly professional and they exceeded our expectations in every way. Every meal was so delicious and if you want a great drink Benny is your man! From booking the trip till the end of our stay isla palenque was able to make our trip a memorable one. I highly recommend staying here, we had a great time. Cheers!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank countclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

The three of us stayed in one of the 8 newly opened casita’s in front of the beach. They are spacious and well equiped. What this place really stands out for is the exceptional level of personal service. Patricia and her staff will do their utmost to give you the feeling your the only and most important guest in the world. What about delivering a rare usb type c charging cable to a very remote island when you’ve broken your own. The staff also guide you at activities and is very knowlegdable about the island’s flora and fauna which is also nice for children who can ask them about tracks and animals. Special thanks to Beni and Enrique. We did several tours: whale watching, snorkling, hiking, kayaking and a cooking class. Cooking is also at a high level with 3 courses at lunch and dinner. During our stay, the kitchen managed to serve us something different every day. Isla Palenque is in my top 3 of places I’ve visited in the world, possibly the #1!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IvoS030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Great to hear you loved our brand new Beachfront Casitas, Ivo! And of course the service too – our team will be so happy with the feedback :) It really sounds like you and your family made the most of your time at Isla Palenque by trying out so many tours. Our nature hikes especially always inspire a sense of imagination in our guests, no matter their ages. We’re so delighted to know that Isla Palenque is possibly your #1 favorite destination – come back soon and we’ll definitely secure the top spot! Thanks again for choosing us for your Panama vacation :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

The facilities and staff are wonderful. They made sure we had everything we wanted or needed. They went out of their way to cater to us. Benny is awesome, great bartender, friendly and great personality!! Enrique came with us on all of our excursions and was a great escort, friendly and very knowledgeable about the island and area. The chef is phenomenal! Fantastic food and great selections!!! And we got to see humpback whales!!

Room tip: The accommodations and staff at Isla Palenque were wonderful. I would recommend them to everyone!
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank spugh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews