We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
156
11
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
156
11
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower each meal fish cooking class paddle boarding a special place robinson crusoe beach chairs outstanding service fellow guests standing fan beach casitas am writing this review incredible resort room rate travel experience resort pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 169 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2018 via mobile

Visited for our anniversary. What an absolutely relaxing & magical place this is. From the moment we stepped off the boat, we felt like family. It’s wonderful to visit a place where the people aren’t too pretentious in their professionalism. The staff here is warm, down to earth, & know how to make you feel at completely at home & cared for.
The arranged driver from the airport was kind & knowledgeable. He pointed out the most beautiful waterfall on our drive. The boat ride to the island was educational as our guide pointed out various islands & gave us a background on each. The van ride through the jungle from the boat to the main resort area set the scene for a secluded yet adventures stay.
The island is absolutely beautiful. We love feeling like we have an island all to ourselves yet knowing there’s always someone ready & waiting if we need for anything. We loved the black sand. Night walks on the beach revealed diamond like sparkles from the beautiful rocks. We especially loved going for morning hikes down the beach when the tide was far out & looking at the beautiful designs left in the sand by crabs & other creatures.
The casitas are beautifully designed & of course very well-maintained. My favorite was the completely outdoor bathroom. I loved watching through the beautiful foliage for howler monkeys as I got dressed every morning & every evening. Daily cleanings & nightly turn down service was always reliable & thorough.
The food was very good. The chef was very adventurous, & we very much appreciated the variety & risks he took with the menu. We absolutely ADORED our server & new friend Edgar. He was the kindest young man, always so polite, & ever so accommodating throughout our stay. Benny & Eduardo made me the most unique drinks for us throughout our stay. I’d often tell them to suggest something or surprised me. Not one drink disappointed. My husband was even able to enjoy nonalcoholic versions of the same drinks without a beat missed. Outstanding service. Thank you so much guys!
Our guides for snorkeling and island hikes, Enrique & Aristotle, were amazing. Aristotle was one of the kindest men that I have ever met. He went out of his way to show us the first villa that was ever built on the island & give us a background on its architecture & construction. His excitement & enthusiasm for the island really added to our experience.
We’ve made new friends for life & found a place that we truly can’t wait to return to. We’ll be seeing you guys again!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ezellam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2018

We just spent 5 days at this incredible resort, & I cannot say enough good things about our stay there.

The rooms are wonderful, but the bathrooms are off the charts! Located on a huge, outdoor covered back deck, with stylish double sinks, & a lot of space, showers both on the deck & in the sand outside the deck - PLUS - an outdoor bathtub. All surrounded by jungle, plus a high, solid fence for privacy. They are the most beautiful bathrooms I've ever experienced! You have to love the outdoors to appreciate them, though.

You can lay in bed & look at the ocean & listen to the waves. The rooms are made up twice daily. The front deck is comfortably outfitted with a swinging daybed, foot bath, & even yoga mats.

But - THE FOOD!!!! We have traveled extensively, & I have never - NEVER - had food this good, anywhere. The chef is a young Peruvian man, & prepares some unusual dishes that were all excellent & interesting. Even more impressive: 2 of us in our group have extremely limited diets, & the chef - & the entire staff - accommodated us every single meal. We all over-ate, every meal. We couldn't help ourselves. Even the scrambled eggs were unusual & delicious. They even brought snacks & refreshments out to us by the pool.

If you require a bug-free, paved & sanitized environment, Isla Palenque may not be right for you. Though I got only 1 bug-bite, others did complain a bit. Jungle hikes were buggy, but OK with repellent. You walk down a lovely lane through the jungle for meals, or walk on the beach - some people may not like this, though that's unimaginable to me.

The staff went above & beyond to make sure all of our needs were met. They are all well-trained, helpful, & friendly. An amazing team, in every aspect.

At least 2 of the days we had the resort to ourselves, & even when there were others, it felt very private.

We all had in-room (or, on-deck) massages by Iris, who does an exceptional job. She does deep-tissue massage, which is very effective. One of the best massages I've ever had.

Isla Palenque is very romantic - it would be great for any couple looking for a place to be outdoors without a lot of people around. There are lots of activities offered, at no additional charge & there are kayaks & paddle boards for your use, as well. AND - we saw monkeys, twice! What could be better?

Room tip: They're all good, & all are very quiet & private. We never closed our drapes!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandrastrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Thanks for your great review, chandrastrips. Lots of helpful tips for future guests too! We’re happy to hear that you found your “paradise” at Isla Palenque and felt like you had the whole island to yourself – there’s nowhere quite comparable for lovers of the outdoors! Sounds like you were able to really enjoy the full Palenque experience including plenty of beach time, island activities, wildlife and a massage to top it off. Now that’s how your do private island vacations! Please come back soon for more rainforest adventures and delicious food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Great chic eco lodge !!
Food was superb! The hikes in the property very interesting ! Most of all I enjoyed the location of the bungalows !

You fly from Panama to David followed by a 45 minute car drive to Boca Chica . The boat ride to the hotel is very short ,vía very pretty islands . Great to do snorkeling, paddle , hikes , and very romantic !

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alexandralB4810XL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018

Group of 5 stayed here for 3 nights in October. Rainy season but only 1 rain soaked day. Small fantastic eco-resort with excellent service, food, and cocktails. I have been to multiple eco-resorts and so far this has been the best in terms of food, but the cocktails by Benny and Alex are absurdly good. We just told them to make us something great and they delivered. You are in an island jungle so expect some nature visiting you. I am looking forward to visiting some of the other Cayugu collection resorts after being here...Enrique our guide was excellent as was the manager and everyone else.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank J4921SVandrewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018

We’re delighted with your feedback, Andrew, thank you! Our chefs will be over the moon to hear that we’ve topped your list of gourmet eco-resorts! We’re glad that you managed to experience plenty of nature and wildlife at Isla Palenque with very little rain, and are inspired to visit some of our sister Cayuga Collection properties in Costa Rica and Nicaragua – they won’t disappoint, we promise! May we suggest Jicaro Island Lodge in Lake Nicaragua for your next group getaway, or perhaps Senda Monteverde in the Costa Rican cloud forest? If you're after some beach time, Latitude 10 Resort in surf-town Santa Teresa would also be a great option. Hope to welcome you back to Isla Palenque in the future too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018

There are NO words to express how fantastic, peaceful, amazing Isla Palenque is. Not only the natural beauty is simply unbelievable, but the staff is beyond AMAZING! Thanks everyone for a fantastic week! We already miss you all. I recommend this place to everyone who is looking to "unplug" from their routines. I am planning on going back, if possible, once a year! It is just a heavenly place!!

Room tip: The "casitas" are adorable. Comfortable, big enough, and you listen to the ocean 24/7!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fabiana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018

Thanks for your wonderful comments, Fabiana! So great to hear that you could truly “unplug” at Isla Palenque and tune into the natural beauty of our island. We’d love to have you back once a year – let’s make it a tradition! When you’re ready to start organizing your next escape from civilization, just drop us a note. You know where to find your Isla Palenque family! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews