We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Official Hotel Site
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
159
11
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
11
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower each meal fish cooking class paddle boarding a special place robinson crusoe beach chairs outstanding service fellow guests standing fan beach casitas am writing this review incredible resort room rate travel experience resort pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 172 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2021

You don't have to scroll far to read all about the beauty that is Isla Palenque. The luxurious rooms, the fantastic outdoor bathroom, picturesque beaches, abundant outdoor activities, delicious food - it is all true. Believe every word you read!

We know that this exceptional service also extends beyond the island.

Having managed to miss our flight from Panama City to David, we reached out to Patricia + Carla to inform them that we would not be there for our airport transfer. They immediately took over, relieving us of much stress, and helped coordinate another flight on a different airline so that we would still arrive to the island by late afternoon.

We learned that level of personal service and attention to detail extends to the entire staff: from the grounds, to housekeeping, the kitchen, front of staff, everyone. They arranged for guests to have their Covid test done on the island - which made things easy for our travels home.

In short, this experience was absolutely EPIC. After a hectic year, we were looking for a place that was romantic, adventurous, comfortable, and secluded - Isla Palenque satisfied all of those desires.

But the best part of Isla Palenque is truly their people.

Time spent with Chava + Francis snorkeling, learning about the wildlife and history of the island was informative and fun. Edgar makes great cocktails and will always make you laugh. The special service from Eliocer, David, and Xavier made every meal and interaction fun, lively, and memorable. We truly felt like we were part of the family.

Many thanks for sharing your beautiful part of the world with us. We look forward to coming back :)

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnT714
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Pfister, Marketing at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2021

Dear Molly,
thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. The reviews mentioning our staff members by name mean a lot to us. It shows that you were able to truly connect. We agree that Isla Palenque is the best place to recharge batteries after a year or more of Covid stress. Please come back soon and let everybody know that Panama and Isla Palenque is open and ready to receive guests again. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2021

This trip to Palenque was supposed to be an anniversary gift in 2020, but turn out to be a family trip with our 3 month old child. It was perfect, the trip with the baby was safe all along, the boat ride, the room and service. The staff was very accommodating with us and our schedules with the baby (for meals), we felt safe as for all the higiene protocols they follow. The casitas are very comfortable, and homey, you don’t want to leave except for the few steps to go to the beach. Overall, a great place to be and enjoy a different and luxurious isolation

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2021 via mobile

The beauty of the place , the simplicity to arrive on the island , the incredible food and fabulous detailed oriented rooms , it really felt like a slice of paradise . The staff is super friendly and they remember your name after the very first meal !! I can’t wait to go back !!!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sararossi2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Pfister, Owner at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2021

Thanks for this great review, Sara. We love to get raving reviews about the island, the rooms, and the food. But what makes Isla Palenque special is the staff and the service. We are so happy that you were able to experience this. See you soon in Panama or at one of Isla Palenque's sister properties of the Cayuga Collection in Costa Rica and Nicaragua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2021

This resort has everything one could want -- seclusion, relaxation, luxury, activities, and incredible food. Whether your idea of a get-away is simply lazing on a chaise and reading a book with an ocassional massage thrown in, or filling your days with ocean kayaking, hiking and snorkeling, this is the place to do it.

You know how sometimes a place looks great in the pictures but when you arrive it’s actually a little faded? Like it needs a fresh coat of paint and some new bed linens? This is *not* that place. The huts are exactly what is advertised, and more. It has everything you could want - a very comfortable bed, a couch, a full fridge and snack tray, a hammock, a chaise swing, lounge chairs, an outdoor shower and sink. And all absolutely private - hidden from the beach and the other huts by bushes yet the beach is steps away. A beach that faces west, btw, for perfect sunsets.

Not a beach person? No worries - there’s a cute little pool, surrounded by every different type of seating you could desire, right next to the bar and dining area. And I say “dining area” because at every meal, the tables are arranged differently so you have different views each time you eat.

And speaking of eating ... the food is really fantastic. Each meal has several options, including vegan and gluten-free. Cervice, curries, pasta, grilled chicken - all were have been fantastic.

And I would of course be remiss if I didn’t mention the staff. Everyone very friendly, very solicitous and eager to get you whatever you want. But not at all intrusive. Really wonderful.

There are a variety of activities offered and all of the ones on the island are included with the room rate - hiking, kayaking, paddle boarding, etc. Off-island excursions run about $85 and include snorkeling, coffee plantation visit, hanging bridges through the rainforest, etc. There are more than enough planned activities to keep yourself busy if you want. And since there are so few people here, you may be getting a 1-on-1 session that you can customize. One of the things I appreciated the most is that each of these activities are offered at different fitness levels - I’ve got to be honest here, I did not start the pandemic in great shape and I did not use my pandemic time to improve that situation. And I still had no problem filling my time.

So, A+ rating all around.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoshTrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans Pfister, Owner at Isla Palenque Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2021

Thank you for this amazing review. A must-read for everybody that is considering visiting Isla Palenque and just needs that last confirmation that it is the right place. Noting more to say. You said it all so well. Saludos from the Island,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2021 via mobile

It’s hard to review this place. There are moments you think you are on the set of Survivor, the beach is empty- no chairs, no umbrellas, just a pristine Panamanian beach. There are thatched beach huts off to the side that Jeff Probst’s crew could have built.....but the moment you sit down a server appears (genie in a bottle moment) asking you what would like or need. He quietly retreats and returns with a cool towel and an impressive Pina Colada. There are very few people around and the service is exceptionally good. You really feel like you are alone on this island. The beach casitas are not visible from the beach and are set back just enough to keep the Robinson Crusoe vibe going. You follow a slight opening in the foliage to your casita and amazingly enough it is air conditioned and quite luxurious. The king side bed has high thread count sheets and is very comfortable. There are two armoires in the room, large enough for all your clothing. A small couch completes the room with a mini bar that is stocked daily. However, it’s the bathroom that is so amazing. It’s all outside. It was really fun and so exotic and jungle-ish without losing function and privacy. How great is it that while you are brushing your teeth you have the view of a gorgeous banana palm and the buzz of the jungle around you? Shower is completely open and there is a tub set out in the sand for those that want to still take a bath.
However, mostly it is the service here that makes this resort stand out. They are well trained and eager to bring you whatever you wish for. The food was excellent and my husband and I especially enjoyed the fresh ceviche every day. I ate more coconut flan than one person should in a lifetime, and I even have a crush on Elias who served us almost every day. Patricia is a capable manager and inquired every day about what events we wished to participate in. Monkey hike? Snorkel tour? Secluded beaches? Cooking class? There was zero pressure to participate but when we did we had a great time. Francis is personable and knowledgeable about the island was fun to be with. This is really a special place and I feel fortunate to have spent our holiday here.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maui-no-Kai-oi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews