We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rhod and Deb T
Folkestone, United Kingdom

Another perfect weekend!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 11, 2022
We have just enjoyed our third visit to this lovely place! Peaceful relaxation at its best! Comfortable accommodation with a welcome box of treats, fresh flowers on the table and a friendly greeting from the hosts. Just love our stays here, highly recommended, and we will certainly return! 😊
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Humphries Cross Apartments, responded to this review
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Thank you so much. Your positive comments and review really mean a lot to us. We would love to welcome you both back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.5 km from Humphries Cross Apartments
Free parking
C$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Humphries Cross Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$175
2.2 km from Humphries Cross Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$190
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Humphries Cross Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Nine rooms available to book
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$225
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Humphries Cross Apartments
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
C$271
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Humphries Cross Apartments
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$226
  • Expedia.com
    C$229
2.8 km from Humphries Cross Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$190
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Humphries Cross Apartments
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.9 km from Humphries Cross Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.9 km from Humphries Cross Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Iden
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
35
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
35
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome basket great location explore rye camber sands lucy retreat loft dog pub amenities hastings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2022

The Retreat was very nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable and beautiful grounds with fabulous views, in a quiet setting and great location. A lovely welcome basket was a very nice touch. Very friendly welcoming hosts Stuart and Lucy. We highly recommend staying at Humphries Cross it won’t disappoint. Look forward to visiting again.

Room tip: Stairs to first floor apartments quite narrow, some infirm people may struggle, wasn’t a problem for us (61 years young).
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank WPL02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Humphries Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2022

Thank you for leaving such lovely review on trip advisor. We really appreciate it. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2022

Warm, clean & comfortable home from home, short 2 night stay with our dog. We found everything we needed was there including drink & basic essentials, even a treat for the dog. Would recommend staying here, as close to the quaint Village of Rye which is worth a visit, plus Winchelsea beach & Camber sands.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Humphries Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2022

So glad you all enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for all your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2021

Had a wonderful 3 day stay at Humphries Cross with our little dog. The apartment was delightful and had everything that we needed. The welcome basket was a lovely touch. Ideal location for visiting Rye and the surrounding area. We would highly recommend and would most certainly stay again.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rgp12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Humphries Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2021

Thank you very much for leaving us a review on trip advisor. We truly appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you all back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2021

The downstairs apartment is fine with a recently refurbished living area, but the bedroom and bathroom especially could do with further work as they are dated, albeit could not fault the cleanliness. The hallway/entrance was also quite dingy and in need of modernisation. There was a major issue with our stay which happened on the last night just before checkout. All water, cold and hot, stopped working in the apartment whilst I was in the shower covered in soap with no way to rinse. We could not clean our teeth or make a cup of tea before checkout either. I spent a very uncomfortable day soapily dried off. I reported the issue to the owner immediately who said the event was beyond his control, he simply offered to take my keys (it was just before checkout). I later complained to the owners again by email - they repeated that events were beyond their control and that I had denied access to the apartment diagnose the fault (I had not). I understand sometimes issues happen but looking back on the reviews on our return I found several others talking about issues with the plumbing so clearly the owners do know there is a problem with the water supply and took literally zero responsibility for the problem. This attitude is what I take major exception with. They were unwilling to offer any kind of refund at all (I asked for half the last nights' stay back, but would have settled even for a token amount). Rye has plenty of places much nicer to stay at the rate we paid, and combined with the disingenuous service we received I recommend you don't stay here.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Humphries Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2021

Thank you for your review. Our recollection of the issue you had, in your bathroom just before check out, is quite different from how you have described it here. Reviews are very important to any business and honest and well intended feedback is something we value highly. I hope others see through this and read our previous glowing reviews. Sorry that you were not satisfied. We are a small family run business and we sincerely hope you find accommodation which meets your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2020

Excellent accommodation, comfortable, clean, and each room has been well thought out. We stayed for three nights and have already booked a return visit. The welcome try of goodies for us and the dog was was most welcome and there was ample dog walking opportunities in the grounds. We were only a short car ride from Rye and Camber Sands and other local locations worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank ruthstewart54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Edwards, Owner at Humphries Cross Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2020

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review and all your lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you all back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews